A ban on cars shows in the city.....................

Postby wagonrunner » June 11th, 2013, 1:02 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Nightclub-owner-We-cant--control-when-patrons-leave-210932071.html

By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jun 10, 2013 at 10:06 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jun 10, 2013 at 10:55 PM ECT

SAN FERNANDO Mayor Dr Navi Muradali is calling on the owners of bars and nightclubs within the city to be more responsible and ensure that patrons who are found to be intoxicated get assistance to go home.

His call comes after twin sisters Khadijah and Khertima Taylor, 18, and their friend Kafiya Gill, 19, died as a result of a vehicular accident at Cross Crossing, San Fernando around 4 a.m. Sunday.

The teenagers were returning from a night out at Metro Night Club in La Romaine.

There were six people in the Mazda 3, a vehicle registered to carry five persons.

The twins attended St Joseph’s Convent San Fernando and Gill was a past pupil.

However, part-owner of the club, Sheldon Stephen, said even though owners could put measures in place to increase patrons’ safety at the club, there was little they could do when those patrons left.

“There are a lot of people coming to our location to patronise. People can leave whenever they want to leave. We don’t have control to say sober up before you leave,” he said. “I can’t tell somebody don’t leave once they are walking out on their own. If somebody is so drunk where they cannot walk then we would try to give them something to sober them up and when they could walk, then they will be able to leave.

“We can try to do something to assist people and try to get them to reach home safely but again, when everybody leaves, we don’t know where they are going, if the person who is driving is responsible.”

He said any ideas to increase patrons’ safety on and off the club site will be appreciated and implemented.

Yesterday, Muradali expressed condolences to the families of the three crash victims and to St Joseph’s Convent principal Dinna Bainey.

He said the San Fernando City Corporation was attempting to reduce road tragedies by implementing certain measures.

These measures include “a ban on car shows in the city due to the noise and drag racing which accompanies these shows, a joint-partnership with the city and national police service and Licensing Division, to crack down on illegally-accessorised cars with greater night patrols along Cross Crossing vending areas and nightspots and increased road humps, signage, and road-crossing signs in conjunction with the Traffic Management Division”.

Muradali also urged drivers to be more responsible, for citizens to look out for each other and increase breathalyser tests on weekends and public holidays.

Muradali said the city council will meet today to address other measures to reduce road carnage, including more public and school education using groups such as Arrive Alive.

Any supporting study that associates car shows with DUI after clubbing, or just braying for the media?

Make allyuh voices heard before you lose the privilege of thinking for yourselves.

Re: A ban on cars shows in the city.....................

Postby Hook » June 11th, 2013, 1:08 am

So, by slap-a-ho's logic, we can't blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-alcohol.
Weird guy, that mayor.

Sent via paper plane on a unicorn fart.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 11th, 2013, 1:14 am

sigh this country is so screwed up to have a mayor whose thinking like this.. the bar owners definitely didnt suck them out of their houses to frolic at his place, why must he put measures in place to ensure their safety. parents need to be responsible for their kids and adults need to do so for themselves. if you cant control your social behaviour thats your loss.

its about time we realise that we are a very slack and irresponsible society in many many ways. there is NOTHING that can be done to prevent the effects of what we are causing on ourselves due to that bad nature.

parents nowadays need to realise that kids dont magically become adults when the reach 18. kids well they never learn anything until after....

pluggie

Postby pluggie » June 11th, 2013, 3:54 am

If the mayor is soo keen on putting measures in place, I would suggest a few that might work :

1) Have the police do random road blocks from 12am to 5am just outside every club...
2) Provide safe transport home for patrons of bars and nightclubs... Gonna be costly and hard to implement...
3) Pass laws to ensure that bars and night club or anywhere for that matter cannot sell alcohol after 12am , if they choose to open to 4 am and sell soft drinks its totally up to them... If you want to drink after 12am, buy your drinks and drink at home where you can get as drunk and disorderly as you want :) ....

One of the most sought after business in trinidad is a bar , every km in Trinidad you can find alcohol... If they want to limit drinking and driving, I would suggest they change the laws totally for making alcohol available ;stop selling alcohol at 24hr quickshops only allow a certain number of bars per area etc....
I haven't been in Trinidad some time now but hopefully the next time I come home I'd see some change for the better...
Last edited by pluggie on June 11th, 2013, 6:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 11th, 2013, 4:42 am

so lack of experience, alcohol and immaturity causes a loss of life on the road(in a stock car)...response, ban "illegally accessorized" cars and car shows? Real smart muradali...

Postby rollingstock » June 11th, 2013, 4:53 am

The guy actually makes a lot of sense, what he said is the truth. Also ban the showing of Fast and Furious, after people see that everyone becomes a racer.

Postby SR » June 11th, 2013, 5:57 am

so why not raise the age limit to selling alcohol to 21
set a restricted time for the sale of alcohol instead of that ancient license to sell anytime

oh wait...nope that can only happen in 1st world nations

instead ban the car show........was the driver of the mazda 3 coming from a car show?

Postby skylinechild » June 11th, 2013, 6:08 am

rollingstock wrote:The guy actually makes a lot of sense, what he said is the truth. Also ban the showing of Fast and Furious, after people see that everyone becomes a racer.

NO sir...after seeing fast and furious everyone becomes brian and Dominic torretto.... :lol: :lol:

link

Postby link » June 11th, 2013, 6:29 am

SR wrote:so why not raise the age limit to selling alcohol to 21
set a restricted time for the sale of alcohol instead of that ancient license to sell anytime

oh wait...nope that can only happen in 1st world nations

instead ban the car show........was the driver of the mazda 3 coming from a car show?

agree 1000%........
but what will u do about the club owners who casually tell u ''underage kids (under 18) can come inside, but they can't buy drinks...'
YOU EVER HEAR MORE BU!!$HEIT ???
underage persons should not be allowed into these places at all....and those so-called upstanding businessmen of the community should be prosecuted.
:x

Postby pioneer » June 11th, 2013, 6:47 am

What is de qualification to become ah mayor?

Postby brams112 » June 11th, 2013, 6:58 am

Stop selling alcohol to children,remember going to a club in Texas years ago,when was a certain time they rang a bell to announce to close out period,stopped selling at that time,closed on time,because Pasadena police outside monitoring ur ass. Do these clubs here ask for id ?Police need to do their jobs in terms of enforcing the laws.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 11th, 2013, 7:12 am

You would swear the legal drinking age down here is 15, the amount of teeny boppers in clubs and bars drinking normal. The thing is as long as the girls have a nice rack, no id required.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 11th, 2013, 7:17 am

Now why did we knew this would happen, govt is always quick to Blame, elderly, youth, alcohol, speeding on the crash statistics.
How about you Actually address the policing problem or LACK thereof?
How about raising the Penalties to extremely HIGH FINES?
How about actually ENFORCING them actively and continue doing so?

Trinidad gets all hot and sweaty and you will see police out over enforcing for a week and then they disappear, why not just police properly, learn to read the signs of how intoxicated drivers drive.
How about doing this EVERYday liek youre being PAID to do?

Geeze, whats next on our agenda to blame for road fatalities? ROads too smooth? hell lets get rid of the roads now!

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 11th, 2013, 7:28 am

Drag racing blamed again?

Gawddamn those blisteringly fast sub 10 second mazda 3's.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 11th, 2013, 7:33 am

SImply make the Charge for DUI- $ 100,000.00, payable in 2 days or JAIL for 1 year.

i Bet it will scurb DUI a wholeeee lot.........

Postby Ted_v2 » June 11th, 2013, 7:37 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:You would swear the legal drinking age down here is 15, the amount of teeny boppers in clubs and bars drinking normal. The thing is as long as the girls have a nice rack, no id required.

this

i see 15 year old girls in space wet and wild normal. Barely passing exams too .

parents are the cause.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 11th, 2013, 7:44 am

I don't expect the drag racing and car show ricer crowd here in tuner to find favour in the Mayor's comments. RASR is just another BS just like many of you in here. I therefore encourage you all to keep drinking, drag racing and gather all your Mazda 3's with built-in turbo boost function to hop over bridges. They should create a closed course for these idiots to take out each other. Less traffic jam FTW!

Postby UML » June 11th, 2013, 7:53 am

wagonrunner wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Nightclub-owner-We-cant--control-when-patrons-leave-210932071.html

By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jun 10, 2013 at 10:06 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jun 10, 2013 at 10:55 PM ECT

SAN FERNANDO Mayor Dr Navi Muradali is calling on the owners of bars and nightclubs within the city to be more responsible and ensure that patrons who are found to be intoxicated get assistance to go home.

His call comes after twin sisters Khadijah and Khertima Taylor, 18, and their friend Kafiya Gill, 19, died as a result of a vehicular accident at Cross Crossing, San Fernando around 4 a.m. Sunday.

The teenagers were returning from a night out at Metro Night Club in La Romaine.

There were six people in the Mazda 3, a vehicle registered to carry five persons.

The twins attended St Joseph’s Convent San Fernando and Gill was a past pupil.

However, part-owner of the club, Sheldon Stephen, said even though owners could put measures in place to increase patrons’ safety at the club, there was little they could do when those patrons left.

“There are a lot of people coming to our location to patronise. People can leave whenever they want to leave. We don’t have control to say sober up before you leave,” he said. “I can’t tell somebody don’t leave once they are walking out on their own. If somebody is so drunk where they cannot walk then we would try to give them something to sober them up and when they could walk, then they will be able to leave.

“We can try to do something to assist people and try to get them to reach home safely but again, when everybody leaves, we don’t know where they are going, if the person who is driving is responsible.”

He said any ideas to increase patrons’ safety on and off the club site will be appreciated and implemented.

Yesterday, Muradali expressed condolences to the families of the three crash victims and to St Joseph’s Convent principal Dinna Bainey.

He said the San Fernando City Corporation was attempting to reduce road tragedies by implementing certain measures.

These measures include “a ban on car shows in the city due to the noise and drag racing which accompanies these shows, a joint-partnership with the city and national police service and Licensing Division, to crack down on illegally-accessorised cars with greater night patrols along Cross Crossing vending areas and nightspots and increased road humps, signage, and road-crossing signs in conjunction with the Traffic Management Division”.

Muradali also urged drivers to be more responsible, for citizens to look out for each other and increase breathalyser tests on weekends and public holidays.

Muradali said the city council will meet today to address other measures to reduce road carnage, including more public and school education using groups such as Arrive Alive.

Any supporting study that associates car shows with DUI after clubbing, or just braying for the media?

Make allyuh voices heard before you lose the privilege of thinking for yourselves.

what even more sad d man is a DOCTOR :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: *tries not to make mention of COP*

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 11th, 2013, 8:03 am

pioneer wrote:What is de qualification to become ah mayor?

3 beers

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » June 11th, 2013, 8:35 am

done see everything going to get blamed on cars and get banned

banning car shows will send up or down the number of people with nothing to do on a weekend and in turn make them go to a club.

Postby j.o.e » June 11th, 2013, 8:39 am

The city of Gotham (Sando) is now safe...NO MORE CARSHOWS!!!

Postby pioneer » June 11th, 2013, 8:45 am

brams112 wrote:Stop selling alcohol to children,remember going to a club in Texas years ago,when was a certain time they rang a bell to announce to close out period,stopped selling at that time,closed on time,because Pasadena police outside monitoring ur ass. Do these clubs here ask for id ?Police need to do their jobs in terms of enforcing the laws.

Careful, men go say we tryna be like mericuh and mashin up de poor man livin

snypaz

Postby snypaz » June 11th, 2013, 8:55 am

Everybody know show cars leave on flatbeds.

Postby janfar » June 11th, 2013, 8:55 am

Now get ah call from Rajnath... he say he, kimraj, sunil and prakask going and placard in front nowseet bar... who going... we wahhh jostissd

Sent using a banana while driving.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » June 11th, 2013, 8:58 am

nah i hear they going to do burnout and donuts infront kyamla house as protest.

Postby j.o.e » June 11th, 2013, 9:00 am

ruff neck chicken wrote:nah i hear they going to do burnout and donuts infront kyamla house as protest.

I doh care about car shows,but this sounds like fun...I'm in!

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » June 11th, 2013, 9:01 am

I guess that Mazda3 was coming from a 'carshow' and was drag racing....Where these IDIOTS does come out from !!!!

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » June 11th, 2013, 9:08 am

what i saying is that if obviously the problem is the car why ban all car show cars, why not just ban mazda 3. that is so prejudice.

Postby nemisis » June 11th, 2013, 9:16 am

^^^Stephen is not amused

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 11th, 2013, 9:17 am

a mazda 3 is a 'souped up' car..... WOW!!!