Importing a car older than 6 years

ModMania

Importing a car older than 6 years

Postby ModMania » June 10th, 2013, 8:40 pm

Guys,
I dont know if its a repost, have seen many posts about the import duties on cars.

However i was wondering if, i wanted to import a car older than six years for parts..are the duties the same?

Will it be confiscated?

Do i have to hack the car in two before its shipped?

What if i want the engine alone....do i still have to pay the taxes on the size of the engine?

Re: Importing a car older than 6 years

Postby black start » June 10th, 2013, 9:25 pm

Might be easiest be to chop it up or to remove engine and suspension from it and then send it

ModMania

Postby ModMania » June 10th, 2013, 9:41 pm

cool no problem if that is the case...but do i have to pay the duties on the engine still? i want to bring in a 2.0L engine and i wanna know if i still pay the 18.XX per cc on the engine if i bring it in alone

realinstinct

Postby realinstinct » June 10th, 2013, 10:06 pm

actually its $3.50 for 1600cc and under, $11 for 1600cc to 2000cc and $22.50 for 2000cc to 3000cc...and etc...but bring it as a knockdown vehicle and no worries....

ModMania

Postby ModMania » June 10th, 2013, 10:29 pm

interesting.... but what u mean knock down, in parts?

I just wah ah new engine to do a conversion its a 2.0L turbo and i getting everything i need for 1200 USD..

but i doh wah pay the ppl taxes

Postby janfar » June 10th, 2013, 10:53 pm

You will have to pay duty (35%) and the vat on the total inclusive of shipping.

Sent using a banana while driving.

Gool

Postby Gool » June 11th, 2013, 6:57 am

Just bring the car knock down. remove engine and remove front and rear suspension and you pay flat rate used car parts duties.

Postby brams112 » June 11th, 2013, 7:05 am

Put it in a crate,get paperwork to prove value,pay customs duties on car parts when ur collecting and ur on.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 11th, 2013, 7:18 am

What 'Gool' said

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 11th, 2013, 9:46 am

chop car in half ....thats all

Postby sliderz1 » June 11th, 2013, 10:11 am

if OP just wants engine, chop the front and leave the rest foreign. It'll save you on shipping