West Mall Glass Cleaners

silas

West Mall Glass Cleaners

Postby silas » June 9th, 2013, 9:09 pm

Had a bad experience today. Pulled up to the lights exiting West mall, wife and two daughters in the car - rain fallin.
The glass cleaner came up to the car, didn't ask and started 'cleaning'. I gestured 'no thanks'. He didn't stop. I put down the glass and offered a five to stop wiping my windscreen with the brown squeegee with almost no sponge. (My car new and I a little ancy about them thing)
The man start cuss me and said that if he pulled out a gun from his waist and push it in my face I would let him do it.
I backed off, and he walked away cussin. I not taking any chances with my family for ego sake.
Tuners be careful.

Re: West Mall Glass Cleaners

Postby pioneer » June 9th, 2013, 9:10 pm

urban youths again

Postby r3iXmann » June 9th, 2013, 9:14 pm

Just put on ur wipers next time and leave the glass up

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 9th, 2013, 9:16 pm

They need to get all those windshield washers and road vendors off the blasted road "respect their hustle" my foot, they are a damn nuisance

Postby pioneer » June 9th, 2013, 9:17 pm

That or if you see them coming, leave at least two car lengths between you and the other car...when they approach your car jus drive off

works everytime

Postby pioneer » June 9th, 2013, 9:17 pm

Also did you report it to the police?

silas

Postby silas » June 9th, 2013, 9:19 pm

I didn't report it. And I will. I was actually at the front of the line and had nowhere to go,
Thanks for the advice fellas.

S

Postby Trini Hookah » June 9th, 2013, 9:32 pm

OP you cuda rise de K

Postby pioneer » June 9th, 2013, 9:34 pm

If you first, still leave a space.

Let whoever blowin dey horn behind you get dey windshield washed

Postby eliteauto » June 9th, 2013, 9:53 pm

shouldn't wind down your window, supposed he had used that ploy to get you to do that and did push a gun in your face?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 9th, 2013, 9:55 pm

To avoid them sometimes I head west to the next lights and make a u-turn, real sad yes but they just don't understand what NO means.

Postby pioneer » June 9th, 2013, 10:05 pm

How come people in de west eh beatin up over this?

Postby rspann » June 9th, 2013, 10:14 pm

If they beat up everybody will say they don't want the lil black boys to make a living,so they not takin chances.

Postby X2 » June 9th, 2013, 10:15 pm

pioneer wrote:How come people in de west eh beatin up over this?

People from the west could not be bothered with this as they already have clean windshields when they arrive.

The yardman have responsibilities yunno...

Postby javishm » June 9th, 2013, 10:57 pm

dey hada eat ah food uno....

but on a serious note always wonder how 'those' people never complained or made a fuss about it

Postby X2 » June 9th, 2013, 11:10 pm

'those' people ?

Like you mean Silas... or other people who drive cars and stop at traffic lights ?

Postby pioneer » June 9th, 2013, 11:12 pm

Or is it people from west ha gun too?

dem know who to come rong

Postby rfari » June 9th, 2013, 11:34 pm

Dem yutes knw who to go roung wid tht chit

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » June 9th, 2013, 11:37 pm

next time wait for him, pull out your licensed firearm and threathen to splatter he muma kant, watch him run dong the road with he pants falling dong and sun burnt raisin arse exposed

OR
maybe the man was appreciative yes of the $5. but felt as if he didnt get to do the full service for it. you know he takes pride.
Last edited by bluestarz9 on June 9th, 2013, 11:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby javishm » June 9th, 2013, 11:37 pm

X2 wrote:'those' people ?

Like you mean Silas... or other people who drive cars and stop at traffic lights ?

nahhh the westarians......

thats it self they know who to play up wid

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » June 10th, 2013, 12:04 am

u rarely hear ppl in d west beating up about anything..its only poor ppl and well tuners :D

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » June 10th, 2013, 12:09 am

Do what I do. From a distance I start to drive slow approaching the lights. Once you rolling they don't bother you. Then as soon as the lights change just drive off.

aidan

Postby aidan » June 10th, 2013, 12:13 am

TriniGT wrote:To avoid them sometimes I head west to the next lights and make a u-turn, real sad yes but they just don't understand what NO means.

Me too. :(

Postby DVSTT » June 10th, 2013, 12:23 am

Steups, them feel once they "wash" your windshield, you obligated to pay them. Should have driven off on him, if you had gotten the chance OP.

Postby rollingstock » June 10th, 2013, 12:29 am

All I ever get from dem is an "Aye de boss"

Can't believe persons change their commute drive to avoid them.

Postby shogun » June 10th, 2013, 12:38 am

whyteliver wrote:u rarely hear ppl in d west beating up about anything..its only poor ppl and well tuners :D

Some do complain about it. But what can they do about it, really?

toyota2nr wrote:Do what I do. From a distance I start to drive slow approaching the lights. Once you rolling they don't bother you. Then as soon as the lights change just drive off.

I've tried this...doesn't always work though.

Postby maj. tom » June 10th, 2013, 3:12 am

Next time you see a squeegee man just roll up your windows, put on your wipers and let it run until he passes. Don't want your windshield getting a pee rubdown now, do you?

The correct fix is for the police to regularly patrol these areas and to arrest such hustlers for jaywalking. This came up in a thread some time ago relating to the "cooler men" at the lights, but not all people on the forum had agreed with the law.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » June 10th, 2013, 7:23 am

Reminds me of a time a guy tried that crap by the lights by Tru Valu (Diamond Vale, Diego Martin). I was on red at Garnet Rd.

Voice and gestured "no" to him but the fool still went and start to wipe my glass.

He got the point when I threw in reverse and jerked car backwards (thankfully in my vexation, I was the only car at the lights...)

He remained a good 3 car lengths from me after that until my lights turned green....

rollingstock wrote:All I ever get from dem is an "Aye de boss"

Can't believe persons change their commute drive to avoid them.

So are you usually on duty in a marked vehicle or in uniform in your own car when you at West Mall lights? Cause is either that or you does give them one hell of an intimidating stare...

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 10th, 2013, 7:54 am

when you jiving towards dem, just aim for their legs, they will get the point, if they dont- who gives a sh1t.........

those youths there are a PITA and the people who patronise them are not helping the youth our this nation.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 10th, 2013, 8:59 am

silas wrote:Had a bad experience today. Pulled up to the lights exiting West mall, wife and two daughters in the car - rain fallin.
The glass cleaner came up to the car, didn't ask and started 'cleaning'. I gestured 'no thanks'. He didn't stop. I put down the glass and offered a five to stop wiping my windscreen with the brown squeegee with almost no sponge. (My car new and I a little ancy about them thing)
The man start cuss me and said that if he pulled out a gun from his waist and push it in my face I would let him do it.
I backed off, and he walked away cussin. I not taking any chances with my family for ego sake.
Tuners be careful.

couldnt it just as easily all been avoided by letting them go ahead and do it?