Could someone explain RBC's new fees?

Postby pioneer » May 26th, 2013, 2:37 pm

Banking sector ppl...RBC gonna implement some kinda revised fees for transactions but I'm pretty confused here

WRT to savings acccounts...from what I understand "in bank" debit/withdrawals will now carry a fee of $4.00, one free debit transaction per month, am I right?

What is this monthly service charge about for "current accounts"?

Re: Could someone explain RBC's new fees?

Postby maj. tom » May 26th, 2013, 2:44 pm

RBC Canada wants customers to do more online banking so they can launch apps and enter the realm of 1st world banking. Like Wells Fargo and Bank of America.

Is this relevant to RBTT?
Last edited by maj. tom on May 26th, 2013, 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » May 26th, 2013, 2:45 pm

Means you gotta pay the $25 each and every month, and I'm guessing whatever is the rate for any transactions over this amount.

speedist

Postby speedist » May 26th, 2013, 2:51 pm

wut? does this not defeat the purpose of a savings account or multiplier?

Postby De Dragon » May 26th, 2013, 2:52 pm

speedist wrote:wut? does this not defeat the purpose of a savings account or multiplier?

If'n yuh money small, it sure does

Postby pioneer » May 26th, 2013, 3:00 pm

Look like we're screwed

speedist

Postby speedist » May 26th, 2013, 3:06 pm

very. Roytrin units affected? was going to withdraw all monies anyway.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 26th, 2013, 3:32 pm

doh bank wid dem #notaffected

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » May 26th, 2013, 3:37 pm

future fortune ftw

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 26th, 2013, 4:32 pm

They just putting fees equal to Scotia. Scotia online banking is also second to none!

Postby UML » May 26th, 2013, 4:38 pm

I closed off my account.

speedist

Postby speedist » May 26th, 2013, 5:53 pm

will have to jump to a next bank...

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » May 26th, 2013, 6:00 pm

I have a savings account with rbc.

Does the $4 charge apply to ATM withdrawals?

If so, I wont be sticking with rbc anymore..

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 26th, 2013, 6:16 pm

my interpretation of the information posted.

if yuh have money we ent gonna firetruck with u.

if yuh poor we gonna firetruck with yuh cuz yuh too poor to take we to court anyway muhahahahah.

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2013, 8:02 pm

go to court over what exactly

to those that feel unaffected, think again

all banks will go this way

Postby pioneer » May 26th, 2013, 8:05 pm

For what I gather, ATM withdrawals not affected and would carry usual charges.

If you go into the bank to do a withdrawal more than once, every transaction after the first one will cost you $4.00

I do not know what the monthly service charge on "current accounts" mean. Will try to call RBC tomorrow to find out, although I'm not looking forward to a clear response.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 26th, 2013, 8:12 pm

tr1ad wrote:go to court over what exactly

to those that feel unaffected, think again

all banks will go this way

this was done in america, everyone protested and the fees were removed. that is $300 plus to store your money in their bank which they using to lend and make money. but trinidad laws so backward theyll probably win in court here.

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2013, 8:14 pm

again, court for what?
service fees?

you saying you able to justify what their service fees should be?
trinidad laws do not cover a private institution fees, backward or not

you always pay a fee in the bank, but maybe you need to actually look at your statements to see it

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » May 26th, 2013, 8:16 pm

Postby pioneer » May 26th, 2013, 8:52 pm

Yes Yorkshirelass that's where I got it from.

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » May 26th, 2013, 9:07 pm

under d mattress fuh it yes !

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 26th, 2013, 9:25 pm

Is current accounts and Personal savings Accounts the same thing?

Postby pioneer » May 26th, 2013, 9:36 pm

This is what I wanna know?...wtf is that?

I showed two attorneys it and they are mindfuct as to its meaning

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 26th, 2013, 10:19 pm

tr1ad wrote:again, court for what?
service fees?

you saying you able to justify what their service fees should be?
trinidad laws do not cover a private institution fees, backward or not

you always pay a fee in the bank, but maybe you need to actually look at your statements to see it

no but it could justify changing banks to one that doesnt require the fee or many ppl with large savings pulling their money out the bank.. but look what it say..

if ur savings balance is 15000 and up they wont charge any fee.. LOL that is so they can retain their customers with large deposits in savings while making a money on the poor man head.

scotiabank charges $15 per month for their new savings account which they told everyone theyd be upgrading to, but they have an alternative savings account service where you pay nothing. but they dont tell u about it you have to read it and ask about it urself. they try to push the account type with the service fee as if it's the only available option tho.. lol.

if u aint smart and watching them and asking plenty question ull get skull. that is always how the banks have been and always will be.

sometimes, if u lucky, when u go to withdraw all ur money and close the account and they ask u y.. say it's because of the service fee and they MIGHT offer to waive it for u dont know their policies.

Postby javishm » May 26th, 2013, 10:43 pm

good thing i broke :?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » May 26th, 2013, 10:47 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Is current accounts and Personal savings Accounts the same thing?

In simple terms, what they refer to as a "current account", is what we know as a "chequing account".

Postby pioneer » May 26th, 2013, 10:53 pm

Ohhh...well let's hope that is correct...I will try to verify tomorrow

How about we all bomb them with calls

Postby pioneer » May 26th, 2013, 10:57 pm

From all definitions, it seems TAM is right...it means chequing account

Postby javishm » May 26th, 2013, 11:05 pm

Postby pioneer » May 26th, 2013, 11:07 pm

That's great, but it only got 7 posts.

Thread with more posts wins.