Anyone here did the Petrotrin Evaluation exam?

nos_specialist

Anyone here did the Petrotrin Evaluation exam?

Postby nos_specialist » May 24th, 2013, 9:04 am

Aye tuners, anybody here did the Petrotrin Evaluation entrance exam for refinery operators?

nos_specialist

Re: Anyone here did the Petrotrin Evaluation exam?

Postby nos_specialist » May 24th, 2013, 11:16 am

wow....nobody?

transporter001

Postby transporter001 » May 24th, 2013, 12:08 pm

Doing it on Tuesday

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » May 24th, 2013, 3:39 pm

which one apprentice or operator?

mastamind17

Postby mastamind17 » May 24th, 2013, 7:45 pm

apprentice..

Patman

Postby Patman » May 24th, 2013, 8:28 pm

I hadda go tuesday.....forkin 3 hrs....did powergen one and it ws 20mins multiple choice :?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 24th, 2013, 8:36 pm

What is BOPD

Countries Petrotrin ship to

brief history of Petrotrin

what is fractional distillation

wat is cavitation

what is Surging

types of pumps
Turbine and compressors

catalytic cracking

types of Valves

bearings and Lubrication

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » May 24th, 2013, 9:08 pm

Apprentice one is lick up , but same cant be said for the operator one

goodear

Postby goodear » May 25th, 2013, 12:12 am

Let me see if I can remember, in order , doh kill me if I wrong. lol

BOPD - Barrels of Oil Per Day

Caribbean Islands and north America

Texaco-trintoc-petrotrin

Boiling oil and using points of condensation to get different quality and cuts of hydrocarbon

Cavitation occurs when air gets in a pump casing preventing the said pump from 'pumping'

Surging is when the discharge pressure of a compressor is equal to the suction pressure, can lead to machine destruction

Reciprocating, centrifugal

Using a catalyst to promote a reaction which breaks long string hydrocarbons to short string hydrocarbons

Ball, gate , swing, pneumatic , that is all I can remember

Not sure about the ball bearings one, I think is sealed, oil , grease, something something

All I could remember off the top of my head, hope I close enough to the answers, just trying to see.

aspsounds

Postby aspsounds » May 26th, 2013, 7:00 am

Cavitation is the situation in which the pumped fluid vaporises at the impeller of the pump as a result of insufficeint hydrostatic head.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 26th, 2013, 9:08 am

aspsounds wrote:Cavitation is the situation in which the pumped fluid vaporises at the impeller of the pump as a result of insufficeint hydrostatic head.

Well the cause is not really insufficient hydrostatic head. You see, the pump creates a vacuum whilst pumping and atmospheric pressure pushes the liquid in the suction into the pump casing. The amount of vacuum created is determined by the NPSH required by the pump at the duty point. When this NPSH req exceeds the NPSH available, then cavitation occurs - which is "boiling" of the liquid in the casing, creation of "air bubbles".

The (negative) suction lift or positive suction head is a significant factor when cavitation occurs. The NPSH req is largest when the flow rate runs off the curve (at low hydrostatic head) but is not the only factor. The head loss in the suction line is also a factor.

The proper selection of the pump itself for the duty point may be the biggest factor.

caglowe

Postby caglowe » May 26th, 2013, 9:56 am

Inside

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 26th, 2013, 12:05 pm

IF John and Jane invited 7 ppl ech to party, how much persons will attend the psrty excluding John and Jane?

if u hav 10 apples and 3 is spoilt, how many apples you hav?

Postby bushwakka » May 26th, 2013, 9:11 pm

AdamB wrote:
aspsounds wrote:Cavitation is the situation in which the pumped fluid vaporises at the impeller of the pump as a result of insufficeint hydrostatic head.

Well the cause is not really insufficient hydrostatic head. You see, the pump creates a vacuum whilst pumping and atmospheric pressure pushes the liquid in the suction into the pump casing. The amount of vacuum created is determined by the NPSH required by the pump at the duty point. When this NPSH req exceeds the NPSH available, then cavitation occurs - which is "boiling" of the liquid in the casing, creation of "air bubbles".

The (negative) suction lift or positive suction head is a significant factor when cavitation occurs. The NPSH req is largest when the flow rate runs off the curve (at low hydrostatic head) but is not the only factor. The head loss in the suction line is also a factor.

The proper selection of the pump itself for the duty point may be the biggest factor.

all that to say u have an eng degree? its an operator exam :roll:

AKI

Postby AKI » May 27th, 2013, 10:28 am

Tuesday for real good luck fellas

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » May 27th, 2013, 8:33 pm

any more info ppl....i frighten for the morning

chevy659

Postby chevy659 » May 27th, 2013, 9:27 pm

^^^yuh feel is u alone lol

caglowe

Postby caglowe » May 27th, 2013, 10:27 pm

it have alot of men on tuner get call

asjaman6as

Postby asjaman6as » May 27th, 2013, 11:10 pm

smr_fingers wrote:any more info ppl....i frighten for the morning
yea bai I like he yuh studying on tuner :)

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » May 28th, 2013, 11:53 am

caglowe

Postby caglowe » May 28th, 2013, 12:37 pm

ok tuners who was present at the exam this morning how you all find it was ?....well i must say thanks to the people who tried helping with questions they got last year but nothing, that was mention in this thread came and i think the exam was more design for entry level for a position higher than an operator (these were some other people's view as well).

mastamind17

Postby mastamind17 » May 28th, 2013, 1:06 pm

Some of the questions I had to just guess. Thanks fellow tuners for the input. Every year it seems they change up the paper. Those multiple choice questions had some close answers :/

Postby nemisis » May 28th, 2013, 2:00 pm

Share some details on the questions nah. Generally speaking what was asked

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 28th, 2013, 8:32 pm

Guys plz post what questions were asked for those who wrote it..

Patman

Postby Patman » May 28th, 2013, 8:43 pm

it was easy ting, nothing a form 5 couldnt do, d hardest part was d behavioral analysis...

Postby nemisis » May 28th, 2013, 8:50 pm

^^^ wasn't helpful

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » May 28th, 2013, 9:06 pm

That exam was sheit couldn't rem some of them stuff from quite form 5. It wasn't hard but wasn't prepared for those type of questions.

And the behavioral study part a lot of the answers were like more than one could be correct.

30 technical questions
40 behavioral
3 hrs long :s

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

Patman

Postby Patman » May 29th, 2013, 5:24 am

mostly substitution, transposition and some simultaneous and quadratics, think i saw 1 differentiation as well

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 29th, 2013, 6:28 pm

give an example of Some plz...

Patman

Postby Patman » May 29th, 2013, 8:15 pm

Well cant really remember, nothing really distinguishing about the questions to make them stand out, but what made it easy was the fact that they gave us all the formulas, most we had to do was transpose and solve. It contained questions on
-The Gas Law and Laws of Motion (formulas were given), think 2 questions were based on this
-A simple quadratic for differentiation
-One i remember was on the purpose of a bearing
-A question with 3 unknowns where you are required to find values for them
-A heat question, something dealing with Latent/Specific heat.
-Some chemistry dealing with mass numbers, the mass number of oxygen, and how much heavier is oxygen than hydrogen
-The main constituents off a fuel
thats all i can remember, but as i said before, dat behavioral analysis ting was hard