Best Roti Shop in Trinidad

Re: Best Roti Shop in Trinidad

Postby Dave » June 18th, 2022, 8:24 pm

Kfc... always bad!
DMan7 wrote:NO Food place in T&T is consistent. NONE!

Postby matr1x » June 18th, 2022, 8:27 pm

Not true.

All the vene joints are consistently sheit

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 18th, 2022, 9:12 pm

Dave wrote:Kfc... always bad!

even the one on coffee street?

Postby MaxPower » June 18th, 2022, 10:05 pm

Couldn’t have said it better.

Best Roti Shop in Trinidad

Postby MaxPower » June 18th, 2022, 10:08 pm

matr1x wrote:

Not true.

Well this would fall under all food joints not so?

But at least the service is generally better.

Postby timelapse » June 19th, 2022, 7:02 am

Mayaro Roti shop also has been consistent.It just too damn far, which deters me from the fatman life

Postby matr1x » June 19th, 2022, 8:10 am

matr1x wrote:

Not true.

Well this would fall under all food joints not so?

But at least the service is generally better.

Not really, we were liming by a Chinese restaurant in champ fluers and had to cuss the vene working their because the little idiot couldn't take an order correctly

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 19th, 2022, 11:54 am

Dopson's, Ali's, Hosein's, Patraj, Highway Roti, Anim's, Hott Shoppe and Don's. There's more like the one mere minutes before Toco on the left and the two places opposite each other after St Mary's as you heading towards chase village...closer to tint king.

Postby rollingstock » June 19th, 2022, 5:01 pm

Is dopson you say there? Worst experience there. I that use to be one of my regular roti shops. Bought a shrimp roti there 2018, first bite was disgusting, the shrimp sacks were not removed, nasty taste of sand and shrimp excrement. Never even passed maraval road after that.

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2022, 5:05 pm

lol the poo bag

Postby matr1x » June 19th, 2022, 5:40 pm

Lol @ dopsons

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2022, 5:44 pm

i know on tong
it’s usually dopsons vs hot shoppe
ie roti with burn spots vs undercooked white roti

Postby Dave » June 19th, 2022, 6:06 pm

Dobson's was never impressive!

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 19th, 2022, 11:40 pm

Its true, within pos and environs, dopson/hott Shoppe/shiann are very popular choices. Very busy during lunch/peak hours and that says something eh

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 20th, 2022, 1:42 am

Dave wrote:Dobson's was never impressive!

Dopsons used to be decent (never great) about 10-15 years ago. Recently I had it and was very very dissapointed.

The best in central for me is Japs in Longdonville, not sure if they still around as i haven't been down that side in 2 years.

In Tunapuna, Charlie's (with extra pepper) does rel lash.

In Curepe, Jumans is almost as good as Chalries.

In San Juan, you can't wrong with Sylvies.

Postby teems1 » June 20th, 2022, 1:56 am

Hosein's by San Juan is usually always a good decision.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 20th, 2022, 2:57 am

You cannot get a good roti anywhere. Either roti good an curry bad or curry good an roti to thick or some sort thing. Most places using cheap tyson leg quarters an seasoning is expensive. Best you can do right now is value for money. Best $25 roti is swaggys in chase village. Roti worth $25.

Postby pugboy » June 20th, 2022, 5:41 am

a decent shrimp roti is by the hut outside indar’s in cunupia.

all the bouge ppl swear by the lobster roti place in santa cruz

Postby goalpost » June 20th, 2022, 8:59 am

Unmm
Yammers in Trincity Mall pretty good.

Postby paid_influencer » June 20th, 2022, 9:18 am

all them "best roti" place have the same style:

-roti too big
-roti too soft/oily/gheey(?)
-curry too rich
-curry too stiff

It does taste good when you young, but with age I cannot process them thing anymore. These days I want a more simple roti, closer to a sada.

Ali's Doubles over in Vistabella had a very good "mini roti" that did hit the spot. Correct size. Owner (good fella) does catering an thing now, and donno if they still have roti or if is just doubles-only still.

Nowadays if I feeling for roti, I go by a small breakfast place that sells sada in the morning, switches to small dhalpuri in the lunch. Selection of veggies and (home made style) geera chicken, pepper chicken, etc.

Postby pugboy » June 20th, 2022, 9:43 am

in st james the kanhai dosti roti have a huge following
I know ppl out of town will frown on that

Postby Dave » June 20th, 2022, 11:06 am

How is Amins these days? Cipero I.e.
And Karamath?

Postby Chimera » June 20th, 2022, 11:07 am

Kitchen queen in chase village is unbeatable

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 20th, 2022, 11:13 am

Dave wrote:How is Amins these days? Cipero I.e.
And Karamath?

amin's in marabella yuckkkk.

Postby pugboy » June 20th, 2022, 11:32 am

amin equivalent to hoseins with all their consistently bad branches

Postby MaxPower » June 20th, 2022, 12:20 pm

Make your own roti.

Make your own curry.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 20th, 2022, 1:09 pm

MaxPower wrote:Make your own roti.

Make your own curry.

Very true MaxPower,

Feel sorry for the people who don't have an indo chick. Tastes better than any roti shop out there and made with love.

Postby timelapse » June 20th, 2022, 2:15 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Make your own curry.

Very true MaxPower,

Feel sorry for the people who don't have an indo chick. Tastes better than any roti shop out there and made with love.
Rock so with that eh.You don't need to have an indo chick for curry.Ask your boy Vevo.I am certain that curry is on his list of things that he can cook, or any of the river lime guys here.
Curry is just too easy to make.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 20th, 2022, 2:17 pm

timelapse wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Make your own curry.

Very true MaxPower,

Rock so with that eh.You don't need to have an indo chick for curry.Ask your boy Vevo.I am certain that curry is on his list of things that he can cook, or any of the river lime guys here.
Curry is just too easy to make.

Nah I good, I not making no roti nah. She loves to make it anyway.

snatman

Postby snatman » June 20th, 2022, 2:57 pm

Sheila's in Pasea Main Rd, Tunapuna has nice homey flavoured curry. Try it if that's your thing.