Best Roti Shop in Trinidad

Nexus

Re: Best Roti Shop in Trinidad

Postby Nexus » June 20th, 2022, 3:16 pm

Is lovey's in puna still good? Taste was good and I find the size was just right, some good years I aint go up that side

Postby MaxPower » June 20th, 2022, 3:18 pm

The “old people” knew the ting self.

Trinis loves to say their grand mother’s food used to taste the best.

Its the young people that never bother to learn and now ketching they ass to cook, wasting money on outside food and criticizing the most.

Too much distractions on social media that people can’t even boil water.

Postby timelapse » June 20th, 2022, 3:26 pm

There used to be a roti shop by the gravel quarry in Valencia.I have fond memories of that roti, but have no clue if the place still exists.Went there with an uncle that drives truck.

Postby RedVEVO » June 20th, 2022, 5:41 pm

timelapse wrote:There used to be a roti shop by the gravel quarry in Valencia.I have fond memories of that roti, but have no clue if the place still exists.Went there with an uncle that drives truck.

So why not drive down and give us a report .
Just attach an outboard engine to your tubo Aqua .
Fond memories and BF driving truck - nobody really cares :D

The BEST roti shop in what sense ?

Well in POS in the Mall attached to Nicholas Towers - Chacon Street entrance .

There is the HUGEST or XXXL roti in T&T with EVERYTHING for $30 .
It used to be $20.

So I ask the lil indian cutie with blonde highlites why they roti so big . She say I like to see a working man smile ..
But BF was looking and dem have steel cutlass .. so you pay and move on .. and respect :roll:

And then nobody cares :wink:

Postby timelapse » June 20th, 2022, 6:24 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
timelapse wrote:There used to be a roti shop by the gravel quarry in Valencia.I have fond memories of that roti, but have no clue if the place still exists.Went there with an uncle that drives truck.

It used to be $20.

So I ask the lil indian cutie with blonde highlites why they roti so big . She say I like to see a working man smile ..
But BF was looking and dem have steel cutlass .. so you pay and move on .. and respect :roll:

1.I is a Honda guy.F@ck off with Sloyota
2.I can't remember the way, and my uncle dead
3.Common fowl roti .Not something you'd find easily available .They had conchs and goat too
I care about you bro

Postby RedVEVO » June 20th, 2022, 6:37 pm

timelapse wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

It used to be $20.

1.I is a Honda guy.F@ck off with Sloyota
2.I can't remember the way, and my uncle dead
3.Common fowl roti .Not something you'd find easily available .They had conchs and goat too
I care about you bro

So why you not say common yard fowl roti ?

So where in Valencia ? Try to focus now .
Close eyes deeply. You remember the street name ?
Is it on the Valencia Stretch ?
Coming now from Mayaro.

You seeing any bright light ?
Walk towards it .

hindian

Postby hindian » June 20th, 2022, 7:00 pm

Jackie’s roti shop in Enterprise
The roti shop outside Indar’s in Cunupia
The roti shop inside Dinsley village coal pot bizness (if you know you know)
1st street in 5 rivers from the junction first shop on you right.

These are my go to choices, consistent for the most part. Number 2 on the list is the least patronized.

madd

Postby madd » June 20th, 2022, 7:33 pm

hindian wrote:Jackie’s roti shop in Enterprise
The roti shop outside Indar’s in Cunupia
The roti shop inside Dinsley village coal pot bizness (if you know you know)
1st street in 5 rivers from the junction first shop on you right.

These are my go to choices, consistent for the most part. Number 2 on the list is the least patronized.

The Roti shop outside Indar’s In Cunupia - check out the shrimp roti plenty shrimp and taste really good.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 20th, 2022, 7:37 pm

When I went to Tobago in April, I decided to try a roti.

Just as you come off the main road to enter into Pigeon Point access road, there is a carpark on the left with some wooden sheds.

I tried the wrap roti from there and was truly surprised. It tasted good and was loaded. Channah and aloo, pumpkin, mango and three decent pieces of chicken. All for $30. I had low expectations for a Tobago roti, but that proved me wrong.

I am seeing that some of the spots I mentioned back in 2019 are being repeated by some of you.

Yea, the lil shed outside Indar's does make a good roti and yes, the shrimp roti does eat great.

Roti plus in Couva is good.

Amin's on Cipero Street was good years ago, not sure how they are now.

I still insist that the best goat roti I have eaten is from Warrenville Food Hut. They are just North of Coksies car place and on the same side of the road. Try it and report back.

Postby timelapse » June 20th, 2022, 7:48 pm

carluva wrote:When I went to Tobago in April, I decided to try a roti.

Just as you come off the main road to enter into Pigeon Point access road, there is a carpark on the left with some wooden sheds.

I tried the wrap roti from there and was truly surprised. It tasted good and was loaded. Channah and aloo, pumpkin, mango and three decent pieces of chicken. All for $30. I had low expectations for a Tobago roti, but that proved me wrong.

I am seeing that some of the spots I mentioned back in 2019 are being repeated by some of you.

Yea, the lil shed outside Indar's does make a good roti and yes, the shrimp roti does eat great.

I still insist that the best goat roti I have eaten is from Warrenville Food Hut. They are just North of Coksies car place and on the same side of the road. Try it and report back.
Oho, I forget bago.Englishman's Bay

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » June 20th, 2022, 8:14 pm

Could be "D'Stretch Roti Shop". No longer there, although there is one on the stretch recently opened, have not had it tho.

Postby pugboy » June 20th, 2022, 8:17 pm

i pass there fairly often, will try that place.
hope it is not 99% bone as in most of them goat food places

carluva wrote:I still insist that the best goat roti I have eaten is from Warrenville Food Hut. They are just North of Coksies car place and on the same side of the road. Try it and report back.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 20th, 2022, 8:35 pm

Actually it's a mix. Some bone, meat and a lil fatty pieces here and there. Ask for medium pepper if you like.
pugboy wrote:i pass there fairly often, will try that place.
hope it is not 99% bone as in most of them goat food places

carluva wrote:I still insist that the best goat roti I have eaten is from Warrenville Food Hut. They are just North of Coksies car place and on the same side of the road. Try it and report back.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 20th, 2022, 8:43 pm

Allya ever try Manoo's in POS? They does have some tasty roti and curry.

matix

Postby matix » June 20th, 2022, 8:49 pm

1st Location - It’s under new management now and the taste can’t compare to the previous owners. Todd Street, San Fernando there’s a roti shop (can’t recall the name). Back when I frequently went the consistency was appreciated, hence why we always returned. The owner offered us a lil something to munch on while we waited on them to bring the food out. A bowl of dhal with dhalpourie as a side, it tasted awesome and would be a go to meal from then. Sadly I’ve tried it at many other establishments but it just wasn’t the same.

2nd Location - Off of Todd Street, there’s Farrah Street. Drive down just past TML there’s a house on the right just before the corner. It’s a house and the ‘restaurant’ is located downstairs. Run by a lovely elderly lady and courteous staff, it’s like eating at your grandmothers house. Freshly made juices, food that will have you licking your fingers, the plate. You will start admiring the Grandma style decorations when you’re finished eating.

Postby RedVEVO » June 20th, 2022, 8:57 pm

DMan7 wrote:Allya ever try Manoo's in POS? They does have some tasty roti and curry.

Mano makes the best stew chicken !

Too much curry in T&T - everything is curry - new fad is curry corn :lol:

Postby Dizzy28 » June 20th, 2022, 9:05 pm

Roti is subjective just like Doubles and is really up to one's own taste.

Up on my side I have found Jumans to be overrated.
Sheila's is consistent
I actually like the people selling roti in Eddie Hart on weekends.
Charlies and Lovies I never understood the fascination as they ok but nothing more than ordinary.
There's a place on the south side of St Augustine called Ravi's, they actually decent.
And flame suit on...I still find Wings is good.

Postby paid_influencer » June 20th, 2022, 9:14 pm

matix wrote:1st Location - It’s under new management now and the taste can’t compare to the previous owners. Todd Street, San Fernando there’s a roti shop (can’t recall the name). Back when I frequently went the consistency was appreciated, hence why we always returned. The owner offered us a lil something to munch on while we waited on them to bring the food out. A bowl of dhal with dhalpourie as a side, it tasted awesome and would be a go to meal from then. Sadly I’ve tried it at many other establishments but it just wasn’t the same.

s&d roti shop and bar. intention was for you to sit down and buy some beers

Postby RedVEVO » June 20th, 2022, 9:25 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Roti is subjective just like Doubles and is really up to one's own taste.

Up on my side I have found Jumans to be overrated.
Sheila's is consistent
I actually like the people selling roti in Eddie Hart on weekends.
Charlies and Lovies I never understood the fascination as they ok but nothing more than ordinary.
There's a place on the south side of St Augustine called Ravi's, they actually decent.
And flame suit on...I still find Wings is good.

Correct !

That place really overrated !

The food have too much pepper seasonings and more pepper and portions VERY SMALL !

Anybody try the now famous " Lobster Roti " ?

Think the price is $55 :wink:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 20th, 2022, 9:39 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Allya ever try Manoo's in POS? They does have some tasty roti and curry.

Doh forget curry soya, that does rel cut! :lol:

Postby rollingstock » June 20th, 2022, 10:10 pm

carluva wrote:When I went to Tobago in April, I decided to try a roti.

Warrenville food hut does have a good roti.

hindian

Postby hindian » June 21st, 2022, 7:10 am

RedVEVO wrote:

The curry corn thing is only now being exposed. My family has been making that for years when they fasting as a substitute for meat. I only see it became mainstream in the last 2-3 years

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2022, 7:15 am

best they curry mushrooms if they looking for a meat replacement, yeah you heard it here first

Postby Dave » June 21st, 2022, 9:20 am

That doesn't sound half bad actually
Pug try it. You are that kind of person

Postby timelapse » June 21st, 2022, 9:26 am

pugboy wrote:best they curry mushrooms if they looking for a meat replacement, yeah you heard it here first
Tool late.Already did many variations of that, from curry mushrooms, aloo and pigeon peas to geera mushrooms.
Lots of options, depends on your preference

Postby K74T » June 21st, 2022, 9:49 am

pugboy wrote:best they curry mushrooms if they looking for a meat replacement, yeah you heard it here first
Had this already, it's actually good.

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2022, 11:12 am

the warrenville place closed on tuesdays

Postby Rovin » June 21st, 2022, 11:37 am

i often buy canned mushrooms & use it together with whatever meat i currying\stewing\baking\soups , i cook it with d mince chicken to put in lasagna too , adds a lil character to d food & if u dont have enough meat or meat expensive u can put it in together as a filler ... taste good

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 21st, 2022, 3:16 pm

next week a chicken roti will be $55. eat all you can now.

death365

Postby death365 » June 21st, 2022, 7:30 pm

Curry corn is know in village circles years and years now.

It now reach town an most people think its new :)
hindian wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Too much curry in T&T - everything is curry - new fad is curry corn

The curry corn thing is only now being exposed. My family has been making that for years when they fasting as a substitute for meat. I only see it became mainstream in the last 2-3 years