Re: Best Roti Shop in Trinidad

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 15th, 2019, 9:10 pm

A172 wrote:before dindial & the hindu school

scn I hadda vibes them then

Postby nervewrecker » June 15th, 2019, 9:16 pm

Alpine bar in central is the best on that side, no if, no but, no mabye.

South, curry express in siparia road. All meats halal.

There is another shop in otaheite, red brick trace. Cant remember the name, halal food but I buy once and get a 2 spoonful of curry and a piece of chicken. Never bought again. My uncle purchases there and he seems to get more food, I feel maybe is because they know him.

Postby De Dragon » June 15th, 2019, 10:54 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Alpine bar in central is the best on that side, no if, no but, no mabye.

South, curry express in siparia road. All meats halal.

There is another shop in otaheite, red brick trace. Cant remember the name, halal food but I buy once and get a 2 spoonful of curry and a piece of chicken. Never bought again. My uncle purchases there and he seems to get more food, I feel maybe is because they know him.

Nah nerve, Alpine was stinkness the last couple times I went there. Wendy's is the champ right now.

Postby nervewrecker » June 15th, 2019, 10:57 pm

where is this wendys?

Postby Rovin » June 15th, 2019, 11:14 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
- Rovin's car audio - wrote:those roti shops in back chain street sanjuan [where steves used to be] was good , havent had 1 in yrs but i find it was good back then ......

You talking about Patraj. Their beef roti back in the day was hands down the best. Never made it around to trying anything else from them cuz it was so good. That was like 10 to 12 years ago though. They still there? I think I heard something about new people taking over some years ago. Not sure how it tastes now.

nah not patraj - cuda never get a roti there cause was always too much line up\long waiting so i tried 1 of d other shops across d road from them

i just googled map it to remember d name - ALI's was d shop , goat roti especially tasted good back then i never bothered with d other shops

when steves used to be located in that road & i went to buy stuff i always went by ali's

thats really some good yrs like 10-12yrs ago ... havent cause to go there in that road since steves moved to their new building 7-8yrs ago ....

carluva

Postby carluva » June 15th, 2019, 11:17 pm

Alpine is ok... But not the best. Not even close.

Here's my list, not in any Rankin order. Wrap roti only.

Warrenville food hut. Nice goat roti.

Rajkumar roti shop in Marbella.

Mona's roti shop in Marbella.

There is one in gasparillo, but the name slipped me. Coming from the highway, turn right by KFC junction and on the right just before the bridge. They are a "subsidiary" of Mona's. I am ashamed for not remembering the name but that is the best roti I ever eat. Soft silky dhalpourie, with the right amount not dhal. The best!!!!!

Roti plus in couva. Pretty decent.

S&Ds on Todd Street in sando was sold a few years ago. Their roti was ok, but too big, too much dhal and was never packed sufficiently. When you were done with eating, there was a mountain of dhal piled next to you.

A partner told me about one called Sumintra's on Katwaroo Trace in Penal. I have not reached there yet but would reach there eventually.

If you all know where Indars is in Cunupia, well right on the main road there have a lil shed opposite the liquor mart and that roti surprisingly nice.

R&R in couva opposite holy faith convent. It's worth a try. Pretty decent.

Paddy's down pt Fortin is nice for what's available down that side. But of you going Paddy's, try a cup of dhal.... Best dhal you can buy!!!

Keep posting. I love roti and would love to try other places.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 15th, 2019, 11:20 pm

Rovin wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
- Rovin's car audio - wrote:those roti shops in back chain street sanjuan [where steves used to be] was good , havent had 1 in yrs but i find it was good back then ......

You talking about Patraj. Their beef roti back in the day was hands down the best. Never made it around to trying anything else from them cuz it was so good. That was like 10 to 12 years ago though. They still there? I think I heard something about new people taking over some years ago. Not sure how it tastes now.

nah not patraj - cuda never get a roti there cause was always too much line up\long waiting so i tried 1 of d other shops across d road from them

i just googled map it to remember d name - ALI's was d shop , goat roti especially tasted good back then i never bothered with d other shops

when steves used to be located in that road & i went to buy stuff i always went by ali's

thats really some good yrs like 10-12yrs ago ... havent cause to go there in that road since steves moved to their new building 7-8yrs ago ....
Boy Steve's was on Sutton St and yes!!!!!!! Dat was a roti dawg!!!!!!

carluva

Postby carluva » June 15th, 2019, 11:22 pm

nervewrecker wrote:where is this wendys?
Heading north on SMR, in McBean. Close to the unipet gas station

carluva

Postby carluva » June 15th, 2019, 11:24 pm

Lol @ patraj. All dem ppl up north feel patraj is d best.

More like mediocre at best.

Heard the one in San Juan is good tho.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 15th, 2019, 11:28 pm

I now remember. Karamaths on Coffee St. 20 years ago they had a great piper roti. I have not had a roti there in a while but I liked that you could a get a roti from them Saturday for dinner if you wanted.

And St. James, the lady in front the casino opposite Smoky and Bunty. That is a pretty good roti as well....

Postby Slartibartfast » June 16th, 2019, 2:25 am

carluva wrote:I now remember. Karamaths on Coffee St. 20 years ago they had a great piper roti. I have not had a roti there in a while but I liked that you could a get a roti from them Saturday for dinner if you wanted.

And St. James, the lady in front the casino opposite Smoky and Bunty. That is a pretty good roti as well....

Hmmmmmm.... tell me more about this "piper" roti....

Like... it made for pipers or it made of pipers?

Colour me red, white and intrigued....

Postby maj. tom » June 16th, 2019, 5:58 am

hahaha i remember a guy in high school showed me that place.The Piper Roti... it was really cheap, like about half the price of a regular roti. Mostly bones, hardly any meat, 2 pieces maybe, and the roti smaller. It's still around eh?

Postby De Dragon » June 16th, 2019, 6:25 am

carluva wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:where is this wendys?
Heading north on SMR, in McBean. Close to the unipet gas station

After you pass the Unipet heading north on the Southern Main Road, just before the McBean Hindu School. Opposite to where you collect cement and stuff when you buy from Dindial's Hardware.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 16th, 2019, 10:03 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
carluva wrote:I now remember. Karamaths on Coffee St. 20 years ago they had a great piper roti. I have not had a roti there in a while but I liked that you could a get a roti from them Saturday for dinner if you wanted.

A smaller roti, lots of gravy, neck, foot, wing. For about $6-$8. I am sure it is still around but the price may have increased. That was the one roti that after you take a bite, you coulda drink cause of so much gravy. And yeah it was called a piper cause only pipers had that money for a roti. That and young children in school.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 16th, 2019, 5:58 pm

eitech wrote:
zoom rader wrote:How times have changed

Years ago when injun kids brought their roti to school as lunch, they had to hid it in a paper bag and eat it out of site. It was level ridicule. Now the very same kids that ridicule them are the one that have to buy.

Injun food come a long way

What decade u speak of?

This was pre 1980s, when you speak to older Injun folk they will tell you of their experiences being ridiculed for what they ate and how they dressed.

You still being ridiculed daily though

Postby RedVEVO » June 16th, 2019, 6:15 pm

carluva wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

A smaller roti, lots of gravy, neck, foot, wing. For about $6-$8. I am sure it is still around but the price may have increased. That was the one roti that after you take a bite, you coulda drink cause of so much gravy. And yeah it was called a piper cause only pipers had that money for a roti. That and young children in school.

Neck and foot ?

You had a hard life dey ..

Doe worry you go find love here on Tuner

Tuner and Love
Wine and Cheese .

carluva

Postby carluva » June 16th, 2019, 6:22 pm

I won't say a hard life. Certainly not as lavish as you with your fancy ten course meals every Sunday accompanied by groovy svelte music.

Good memories all the same.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » June 17th, 2019, 9:21 am

Bobby's Roti shop Aripero

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » June 17th, 2019, 9:35 am

Slartibartfast wrote:

lol, na boy, me eh know bout now but when i lived in roy joseph nothing was better than coming out at nights for a piper roti by karamath and ice cream nex door to share with my siblings, was 4 ah we sharing so yuh sure is real curry sauce on everybody mouth dripping on the way back.

mind you it was $4 dem rounds, lol

Postby Slartibartfast » June 17th, 2019, 9:38 am

daxt0r wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

lol, na boy, me eh know bout now but when i lived in roy joseph nothing was better than coming out at nights for a piper roti by karamath and ice cream nex door to share with my siblings, was 4 ah we sharing so yuh sure is real curry sauce on everybody mouth dripping on the way back.

mind you it was $4 dem rounds, lol

I admit, I swear he misspelled pepper roti :lol: This piper roti thing sound like vibes. Seriously never knew it was a thing. Roti for doubles money..... need I say more

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » June 17th, 2019, 10:47 am

Last time I buy a karamath's piper roti was $12 sometime last year

carluva

Postby carluva » June 17th, 2019, 10:20 pm

And how was it?

Postby mero » June 18th, 2019, 1:42 am

1995-1999 plain and gravy roti for $3.50 was the realest. Ultimate budget buster in primary school

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 18th, 2019, 10:56 am

maj. tom wrote:hahaha i remember a guy in high school showed me that place.The Piper Roti... it was really cheap, like about half the price of a regular roti. Mostly bones, hardly any meat, 2 pieces maybe, and the roti smaller. It's still around eh?

piper roti used to be back and neck.
when a chicken roti was 10 (yes I'm that old, apparently), a piper roti was 5. A roti skin was 3.

THREE WHOLE DOLLAR FOR A ROTI SKIN

Postby goalpost » June 18th, 2019, 11:10 am

On Nelson Road, the road you take to reach the Highway Roti Shop, there's a small roti shop before the bend to Highway Roti. Their food is better than Highway Roti Shop.

Postby Rovin » June 18th, 2019, 11:25 am

lol @ this piper roti - i tort was kix allyuh men on yes ...... :lol:

Postby The_Honourable » June 18th, 2019, 11:45 am

Karamath is "ok". Lunch time and you hungry is fine but not to run down. Once you know better it will be a lil hard to go back Karamath.

wingnut wrote:
masterkyle wrote:"Hot and Tasty" is de place yes next to Dollar beer Pointe a Pierre road.

Rot soft and nice, and u can ask them to put a lil anchar or pumpkin in the roti.

Pepper lil hott too so ask for slight or medium.
Oh yes now we talking, this man kno bout good roti.

Son on todd street was bess an all, till he sell it out.

Amins on cipero street not too bad

Had a place gasparillo jus before the quickshop on the right hand side, that was many years ago tho, dunno if dey still around

Heard about two good reports of "Dollar Beer" roti. Now seeing allyuh validating it. Will have to take a try.

Postby De Dragon » June 18th, 2019, 9:03 pm

Rovin wrote:lol @ this piper roti - i tort was kix allyuh men on yes ...... :lol:

What kinda stush roti shop ollour does go by bro?

Postby Rovin » June 18th, 2019, 9:22 pm

any normel kind , when u get hungry like ah dog u eating what eh tasting so hot up too

most food places nowadys doh really have anything worthy to talk about nuh so u just eat whatever available closest to u ....