Nice Powder Coating Place up O'meara side....

Postby Monk BANzai » April 20th, 2013, 7:54 pm

Yall know me...always looking out for new options..... so I found this place up East (again)... Shift Performance that does Powdercoating. Having the rollcage for the Rover Project being done there...very competitive prices as opposed to the other "MAIN" vendor..... got some pics from their FB page...

Dwain and the guys up there really cool...and offers good advice as well.

of course like Panland and others.t.hey recommend proper pre-cleaning of your bits before you do it..but thier color variation is more than the other vendors..and what they dont have in stock they can order (takes about a week to order teh color you want)

jus sayn....

Shift Performance number is 689.9702

Re: Nice Powder Coating Place up O'meara side....

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 20th, 2013, 8:08 pm

Excellent.
Thanks for sharing banzai.

Have a lil idea that I wanna execute, I'll give em a call soon

mindxlabz

Postby mindxlabz » April 20th, 2013, 8:15 pm

Good post

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » April 20th, 2013, 11:38 pm

Thanks for the info on other persons offering this service.

Postby javishm » April 21st, 2013, 12:21 am

eh heh all dat dwain doing now....well done dwain

Postby black start » April 21st, 2013, 12:23 am

have some 15'' sparcos that need some lovin...

Postby skylinechild » April 21st, 2013, 7:29 am

can they do two colors- two tone- like in the pic of the engine cover- i want it done in navy blue but i want the "nissan" letters in red..same goes for calipers....

Firewall

Postby Firewall » April 21st, 2013, 8:18 am

Subscribed to find it later

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » April 21st, 2013, 8:19 am

What you should do Metro is ask Duane to carry you to the site to see the crazy cresida the powdercoater is building.....
good post nevertheless

Postby 1UZFE » April 21st, 2013, 8:52 am

is this the place in d Industrial Estate???

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 21st, 2013, 9:25 am

Sweet! Been looking to get a set of rims done over for a while now.

Postby javishm » April 21st, 2013, 10:15 am

1UZFE wrote:is this the place in d Industrial Estate???

yes the road opposite the stadium

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 21st, 2013, 11:24 am

Firewall wrote:Subscribed to find it later

same here.....
always looking for places that can do powder coating.....

now for someone who anodizes aluminum.

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » April 21st, 2013, 2:34 pm

Nice i have some Volks that need TLC

Postby 1UZFE » April 21st, 2013, 2:37 pm

javishm wrote:
1UZFE wrote:is this the place in d Industrial Estate???

yes the road opposite the stadium

ok.. they on tuner. I think the user name is "blade"
they opposite Superstore...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 21st, 2013, 6:22 pm

Notes contact..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 21st, 2013, 6:54 pm

Is it possible to powder coat body trims made of plastic?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 21st, 2013, 8:11 pm

shweeet

Postby skylinechild » April 21st, 2013, 8:18 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Is it possible to powder coat body trims made of plastic?

trims like kick panels and such...??? i would think it is possible. all thats needed is a special binder resin or polymer to stick to the plastic and the power coating can be adhered to that....

i'm thinking in terms of how car bumpers are painted - they're not metal but they are painted in much less the same way....

i stand to be corrected - i'm NOT a painter... :oops:

Postby j.o.e » April 21st, 2013, 8:26 pm

Plastic can't really be powder coated..traditional powder coating requires that the material be able to hold a strong electrostatic charge and them be baked at high temps to cure.. so plastic isn't a good choice

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 21st, 2013, 8:36 pm

bless yuh for this info dey buddy!!!!

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 21st, 2013, 8:47 pm

as we on the topic of coatings......anyone does flocking locally?
looks and feels almost like suede.

Postby shogun » April 21st, 2013, 9:41 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:as we on the topic of coatings......anyone does flocking locally?
looks and feels almost like suede.

I asked here recently. Didn't go that well. lol

I love it. If you ever locate someone that does it, shoot me a PM.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=491277&hilit=flocking

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 21st, 2013, 10:24 pm

saw it on a few rally cars here (i think ainsley's evo 9 had it).....most likely done abroad.

Postby Monk BANzai » April 22nd, 2013, 4:13 am

j.o.e wrote:Plastic can't really be powder coated..traditional powder coating requires that the material be able to hold a strong electrostatic charge and them be baked at high temps to cure.. so plastic isn't a good choice

not questioning yuh knowledge....but why do they sandblast it before the powercoat process? is it to give the surface a bit of adhesive for the Charge?....

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » April 22nd, 2013, 5:33 am

nice

Postby j.o.e » April 22nd, 2013, 6:31 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Plastic can't really be powder coated..traditional powder coating requires that the material be able to hold a strong electrostatic charge and them be baked at high temps to cure.. so plastic isn't a good choice

not questioning yuh knowledge....but why do they sandblast it before the powercoat process? is it to give the surface a bit of adhesive for the Charge?....

its basically to remove corrosion and imperfections ...the finish will only be as good as the raw material.
this might better explain the process

Postby turbosingh » April 22nd, 2013, 8:50 am

So Trinidad Powder coaters near Angostura no good?

Postby skylinechild » April 23rd, 2013, 8:15 am

found some pics online - they're from a company that offers the service as well as supplies...

without further waiting- pics

droppa

Postby droppa » April 23rd, 2013, 10:00 am

good to have some competition around