Legal advice needed!! feel free to post your 2 cents

scoobert_doo

Legal advice needed!! feel free to post your 2 cents

Postby scoobert_doo » April 16th, 2013, 3:52 pm

just tryin to find out where i stand on a matter,

on feburary the 22nd i made a downpayment of $10,000.00 on a white pbr b15 to a gentleman by the name of devon bishop of couva, we signed a document stating that the car would be paid of within 12 mths an i took posession of the car, took the car to my mechanic and he said it have some work to do on it, mainly the torsion bar at the rear which is hard to get needed replacing....i contacted mr bishop and explained the situation.....he said he would replace the vehicle and in a couple days he brought me a steaming pile of sheit wreck b15....after which i told him he had to change that vehicle.....after a couple of more days he brought me a pct chevy aveo and told me use this until he brings me a cs3 lancer which would be the vehicle im going to keep and pay for.....this was march 3rd since then ive been getting excuses concerning the cs3 and the car im using right now is ridiculously too small for me and my tools which has forced me to rent a wagon to use for work...ive asked for my downpayment returned and have been plagued with more excuses....now i was just going to go to his place and proceed to beat the sheit out of him and worse if the case arose...but my wife has begged and pleaded with me to deal with it legally....ive made a report at the station but is trinidad police so feet are dragging.....i need some advice.....any info given will be greatly appreciated!
Last edited by scoobert_doo on April 16th, 2013, 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Legal advice on needed!! feel free to post your 2 cents

Postby pioneer » April 16th, 2013, 3:54 pm

ride ah shot fuh he

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » April 16th, 2013, 4:04 pm

scoobert_doo wrote:just tryin to find out where i stand on a matter,

on feburary the 22nd i made a downpayment of $10,000.00 on a white pbr b15 to a gentleman by the name of devon bishop of couva, we signed a document stating that the car would be paid of within 12 mths an i took posession of the car, took the car to my mechanic and he said it have some work to do on it, mainly the torsion bar at the rear which is hard to get needed replacing....i contacted mr bishop and explained the situation.....he said he would replace the vehicle and in a couple days he brought me a steaming pile of sheit wreck b15....after which i told him he had to change that vehicle.....after a couple of more days he brought me a pct chevy aveo and told me use this until he brings me a cs3 lancer which would be the vehicle im going to keep and pay for.....this was march 3rd since then ive been getting excuses concerning the cs3 and the car im using right now is ridiculously too small for me and my tools which has forced me to rent a wagon to use for work...ive asked for my downpayment returned and have been plagued with more excuses....now i was just going to go to his place and proceed to beat the sheit out of him and worse if the case arose...but my wife has begged and pleaded with me to deal with it legally....ive made a report at the station but is trinidad police so feet are dragging.....i need some advice.....any info given will be greatly appreciated!

You really didn't want to do that else you wouldn't have told your wife.

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » April 16th, 2013, 4:06 pm

only reason my wife fussin is because we just had a baby....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 16th, 2013, 4:15 pm

bro u lucky he even offered to replace the original car......U took possession of the PBR and only paid $10 000 deposit.....the agreement u have with him is for the PBR ....not so......

he could simply tell u that was the agreement and it was your responsibility to check out the PBR with your mech before u made the agreement and paid the downpayment.......

ppl usually sells cars as is and have never heard about someone exchanging a car for someone.....

Postby pioneer » April 16th, 2013, 4:16 pm

pic of wife?

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » April 16th, 2013, 4:18 pm

Call a lawyer. Get advice properly.

cpo4u

Postby cpo4u » April 16th, 2013, 4:19 pm

Police can't help you because it's a civil matter and not a criminal one. What that means is you will have to start the legal proceedings however you should continue making reports every time you have major milestones with the offender. This will be useful in the court of law. Always check back the station for your reference number for each report. Everything is computerized now

Postby nemisis » April 16th, 2013, 4:20 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:bro u lucky he even offered to replace the original car......U took possession of the PBR and only paid $10 000 deposit.....the agreement u have with him is for the PBR ....not so......

he could simply tell u that was the agreement and it was your responsibility to check out the PBR with your mech before u made the agreement and paid the downpayment.......

ppl usually sells cars as is and have never heard about someone exchanging a car for someone.....
x2...call ian

Wait whut

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » April 16th, 2013, 4:50 pm

@ SKidz well when i told him about the issues with the car he said he dont want any thing to prevent me from making payments so he is gonna change it....and from there sheit jus began getting complicated!

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » April 16th, 2013, 4:54 pm

i was thinking about selling the chevy by sheron for $10,000.99 and post him the 99cents.. :D

Postby foss » April 16th, 2013, 5:00 pm

posted.
Two Cents.jpg

Postby sharkman121 » April 16th, 2013, 5:01 pm

i dont see whats the big deal, go to your nearest court, speak to the JUSTICE of the Peace, then proceed to the court clerk explaining your situation, they will take your details. You will then pay $10 and you will get a receipt. They will give you a court date and also a summons for the man to appear in court to carry to the nearest police station who will deliver the summons to the accused. Appear in court on the given date and state your case.

Simple, i stop takin sheit from ppl long time..i just sue. You do not need a lawyer as far as i know.

Beating the sheit out of him will sole nothing and he can report you to the police, once you have proof of your signed document which the man has not honoured then you should be ok.

Re: Legal advice needed!! feel free to post your 2 cents

Postby UML » April 16th, 2013, 7:49 pm

talk to a lawyer. i wuda stop paying and take the car for the $10,000...cay go wrong with a car for dat price....turn d tables on him. :)

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » April 16th, 2013, 8:09 pm

go to Ian tv6 run him lol

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 16th, 2013, 8:41 pm

My gf dat doin law in hugh wooding say:

"when he accepted the car he accepted it as is unless there was some major detrimental default like engine shut down etc...
he should have checked it out prior to purchasing
he is required to do that by law I believe
he cant come after and say well his mechanic say xyz
he should have down that before
the flip side to the law is that
they are supposed to sell a car in working condition based on what it needs to be used for...
if it fails to meet those basic uses then he could have a very good action

civil law can be tricky"

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 16th, 2013, 8:43 pm

KiD wrote:My gf dat doin law in hugh wooding say:

"when he accepted the car he accepted it as is unless there was some major detrimental default like engine shut down etc...
they are supposed to sell a car in working condition based on what it needs to be used for...

civil law can be tricky"

she is correct,......

op lucky he got a car exchanged.....others would have left him with the PBR and take him to court instead to continue paying for the PBR.....

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » April 16th, 2013, 8:57 pm

learning plenty here boy.....now i never asked for the vehicle exchanged.....i just informed him that he never indicated the problems that i found with the vehicle..i was told it was serviced and in working condition.... and maybe a slight discount could be arranged .....the gentleman INSISTED that he change the vehicle.....now this is my problem.....the vehicle is no good to me its toooo small for my line of work which i indicated to him on many occasions .....it was supposed to be temporary ....until the alleged promised vehicle was finished painting

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 16th, 2013, 9:06 pm

scoobert_doo wrote:learning plenty here boy.....now i never asked for the vehicle exchanged.....i just informed him that he never indicated the problems that i found with the vehicle..i was told it was serviced and in working condition.... and maybe a slight discount could be arranged .....the gentleman INSISTED that he change the vehicle.....now this is my problem.....the vehicle is no good to me its toooo small for my line of work which i indicated to him on many occasions .....it was supposed to be temporary ....until the alleged promised vehicle was finished painting

do u have all this in writing?....as per the exchange of vehicle or is this just by word of mouth?

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » April 16th, 2013, 9:36 pm

document was supposed to be signed when i received the cs3.....the chevy was supposed to be a temporary vehicle.....

Postby S_2NR » April 16th, 2013, 10:10 pm

civil law can be tricky"

All that to say yu gyal doin law in Hugh wooding...

balenoSport

Postby balenoSport » April 16th, 2013, 10:14 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

civil law can be tricky"

pics of guyl
she is correct,......

op lucky he got a car exchanged.....others would have left him with the PBR and take him to court instead to continue paying for the PBR.....

SkettellGod

Postby SkettellGod » April 16th, 2013, 11:58 pm

tuff luck, shoulda wait till u could of afforded a car or rent one.
There is always a catch to paying for something on terms privately

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 17th, 2013, 12:10 am

civil law can be tricky"

Uhhhh I've never heard that :|

What time she have class tomorrow? Ill ask her to clarify that for me.

Postby BrotherHood » April 17th, 2013, 12:11 am

sharkman121 wrote:i dont see whats the big deal, go to your nearest court, speak to the JUSTICE of the Peace, then proceed to the court clerk explaining your situation, they will take your details. You will then pay $10 and you will get a receipt. They will give you a court date and also a summons for the man to appear in court to carry to the nearest police station who will deliver the summons to the accused. Appear in court on the given date and state your case.

Simple, i stop takin sheit from ppl long time..i just sue. You do not need a lawyer as far as i know.

Beating the sheit out of him will sole nothing and he can report you to the police, once you have proof of your signed document which the man has not honoured then you should be ok.

this

Go to the magistrates court in your district and see the JP there. He will guide you accordingly.

jantoine

Postby jantoine » April 18th, 2013, 7:47 am

How did u come in contact with Mr. Bishop.....is he here?....sorry to hear dat....u didn take it to the mekanik b4 downpayment was made bcuz Mr. Bishop was quite convincin I bet....i sold my car recently and was strait wid all who was interestd and who actually purchased it.....n dey were kool wid it...y pple just cant be honest...dem cud really make hard working innocent pple get in trouble yes..all d bez though

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » April 18th, 2013, 9:45 pm

yea he is on tuner...thats how i got in touch with him.

Postby DFC » April 19th, 2013, 2:01 am

thats a real shittysituation you got yourself into.

Goodlluck with that.

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » April 19th, 2013, 5:40 am

Is life...sheit will happen one way or the other...but I've never been in a situation like this
So I'm just asking for insight into it from the legal end.

Postby De Dragon » April 19th, 2013, 6:42 am

When purchasing a used vehicle, a hint to the seller that you intend to have the vehicle checked out by a straightener/mechanic/ legal search/obeahman, usually brings out any issues that they had contemplated keeping from you about the vehicle.