UTT Petroleum Engineering

iM@st@1

UTT Petroleum Engineering

Postby iM@st@1 » April 11th, 2013, 3:13 pm

Good day tuners, just wanted to know if anyone has done this course and how was the experience/lecturer?

Re: UTT Petroleum Engineering

Postby black start » April 11th, 2013, 4:17 pm

do a degree from a real institute

deecedes

Postby deecedes » April 11th, 2013, 7:02 pm

Last edited by deecedes on May 28th, 2013, 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

deecedes

Postby deecedes » April 11th, 2013, 7:06 pm

Last edited by deecedes on May 28th, 2013, 10:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 11th, 2013, 9:08 pm

what.

aidan

Postby aidan » April 11th, 2013, 10:27 pm

Heard that the MSc is excellent. Have a friend who did it, and he got hired by Schlumberger about 3 months after he graduated. It's pretty intense too.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » April 11th, 2013, 10:31 pm

hasn't this topic been vigorously beaten out already?

Postby sliderz1 » April 12th, 2013, 1:05 am

holy cow batman

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 12th, 2013, 1:23 am

Had a friend did it she said it was very easy for her. Lectures very helpful . Job placement arrange afterwards.

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » April 12th, 2013, 1:25 am

black start wrote:do a degree from a real institute

Ummm....I did the bsc pet eng..nice course...normal and chartered accreditation from the energy institute of uk..same accreditation for uwi petro geoscience...anysway..my whole class who graduated,all of us got jobs within a year...bout 20..all of whom are working petrotrin, bp, bg, schlumberger, baker hughes,repsol, bayfield energy, niko, range resources etc....tucker...etc

Postby black start » April 12th, 2013, 8:26 am

^okies.....thanks,tc :roll:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 12th, 2013, 10:13 am

GLANIMAL wrote:

Ummm....I did the bsc pet eng..nice course...normal and chartered accreditation from the energy institute of uk..same accreditation for uwi petro geoscience...anysway..my whole class who graduated,all of us got jobs within a year...bout 20..all of whom are working petrotrin, bp, bg, schlumberger, baker hughes,repsol, bayfield energy, niko, range resources etc....tucker...etc

This sounds very promising. Unfortunate it's only being done in south cause I'm from the east but sacrifice I guess. Like the fact that you get help with job placement as well cause this is an entirely new field to me.

Thanks everyone for yall input

Postby black start » April 12th, 2013, 4:21 pm

Opie, read through all the previous threads about this topic nuh, it was beaten over and over again..

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » April 13th, 2013, 12:12 am

iM@st@1 wrote:
GLANIMAL wrote:

This sounds very promising. Unfortunate it's only being done in south cause I'm from the east but sacrifice I guess. Like the fact that you get help with job placement as well cause this is an entirely new field to me.

No help in job placement..maybe for other courses

Thanks everyone for yall input

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » April 23rd, 2013, 9:52 am

GLANIMAL wrote:

lol..like men get quiet with this..lol

trinivampire

Postby trinivampire » May 26th, 2013, 8:22 pm

seeing that only petroleum and maritime have specialize accreditation, is it that the other engineering disciplines are at a serious disadvantage in terms of being recognized locally and internationally?
Knowing that mechanical have more scope job wise and Petroleum somewhat limited but uk accreditated...which is the better BASc/Meng choice?

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2013, 8:36 pm

GLANIMAL wrote:

UTT offering that?

Postby sliderz1 » May 26th, 2013, 9:31 pm

yeah. MSc as well

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2013, 9:34 pm

havent met anyone in bp or bg that came out of utt
that's why i'm asking

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » May 27th, 2013, 5:06 am

tr1ad wrote:havent met anyone in bp or bg that came out of utt
that's why i'm asking

As mentioned before, alot of them are in service companies and would be in Drilling and Completions.

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » May 27th, 2013, 5:11 am

tr1ad wrote:
GLANIMAL wrote:

UTT offering that?

yup

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » May 27th, 2013, 5:12 am

Mudboy wrote:
that's why i'm asking

As mentioned before, alot of them are in service companies and would be in Drilling and Completions.

majority are working with operators

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » May 27th, 2013, 5:18 am

GLANIMAL wrote:
Mudboy wrote:
that's why i'm asking

Noice....so they finding jobs everywhere....... :mrgreen:

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » May 27th, 2013, 7:58 am

Mudboy wrote:
GLANIMAL wrote:
Mudboy wrote:
that's why i'm asking

Noice....so they finding jobs everywhere....... :mrgreen:

i guess so

Postby bushwakka » May 27th, 2013, 11:18 am

why don't u stfu if u can't offer a real opinion

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » May 27th, 2013, 12:16 pm

bushwakka wrote:

:drama:

regards,
Shiv

Postby black start » May 28th, 2013, 7:14 am

bushwakka wrote:

the answer is right here

GLANIMAL wrote:majority are working with operators

They working as operators or with operators.....

Factoring in that UTT is only in existence a few years now, go and try to find out from companies which local university their majority of "engineers" for the past five years have graduated from.

Why is always a UTT/UWI war?

Everybody knows which is the more accredited university and from the last time I checked (a year or two ago) the UTT courses were still watered down.

Everybody know the entry level requirements for both universities.

UTT, with proper grooming, may be an excellent university in the future, but for the present it is still sub-standard.

that's your real opinion right there bruh

regards,
shiv

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » May 28th, 2013, 9:21 am

black start wrote:
bushwakka wrote:

the answer is right here

GLANIMAL wrote:majority are working with operators

They working as operators or with operators.....

Factoring in that UTT is only in existence a few years now, go and try to find out from companies which local university their majority of "engineers" for the past five years have graduated from.

Why is always a UTT/UWI war?

Everybody knows which is the more accredited university and from the last time I checked (a year or two ago) the UTT courses were still watered down.

Everybody know the entry level requirements for both universities.

UTT, with proper grooming, may be an excellent university in the future, but for the present it is still sub-standard.

that's your real opinion right there bruh

regards,
shiv

Not as operators ....they work for Drilling operators eg BHP, Repsol, BP and for Drilling contractors - eg Transocean, Rowan...

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 28th, 2013, 1:30 pm

With respect to getting jobs be careful with a degree, diploma, in Petroleum Engineering.

It is very specific unlike a degree in mechanical engineering which is much more broad based but no less intense and can satisfy more needs.

Also there is a limit as to how much people will get employed by service providers. The rigs that drill for BP, Niko and Bayfield Energy are usually foreign and come with their own crews.

With respect to the service companies yes they hire but the thing is it is contractual and they will fire once the drilling work is over and believe me drilling can be very seasonal work.

Given the fact that UWI also puts out its fair quantity of people the competition is immense.

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » May 28th, 2013, 1:45 pm

Op go to the campus and talk to someone who is involved in the discipline. You wont get a good answer from these trolls on tuner especially blackstart who says UTT is only in existence a few years...
TTIT, JohnD, Valsayn teachers' have been in existence a good while now just under the conglomerate of UTT now

Petroleum and process degrees are both accredited.
Go to the campus and head to the department you are interested in if you are serious.

Regurgitated topic....