Trade Unions partly to blame?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Trade Unions partly to blame?

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 9th, 2013, 7:33 am

How much of the Trade unions support is to blame for a lack of good honest work ethic?
Many times you see where modern workers like to hide or threaten union action against an employer, yet on many of these occassions they worker themselves are always Late comers, lazy, and frequently absent.
Yes there are advantages to having the trade unions, but in our local society are we sure that its not doing more Bad than good?

Re: Trade Unions partly to blame?

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2013, 7:43 am

^^^^ Its not the trade unions, its trini workers on a hold fed from years PNM gimme gimme culture. Most of these trade unions are led by PNMites. Trini workers show no pride in their work and are Lazy,rude and most incompetent. Just think of the Public sevice.
Last edited by zoom rader on April 9th, 2013, 7:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

demon monkey

Postby demon monkey » April 9th, 2013, 7:50 am

you continue to rely on someone else to treat you fairly.

unions are the only protection we have from supporters of the capitalist system.

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2013, 7:54 am

demon monkey wrote:Image

unions are the only protection we have from supporters of the capitalist system.

You living in past bro, unions have become obsolete as they no longer seek the plight of the worker. They on games and politics. These so-called union leaders get pay offs from employers.

Postby sharkman121 » April 9th, 2013, 7:56 am

Trade unions are simply there to ensure that the rules are followed and the employee is not being taken advantage of, if the employee doing sheit, then he go get he fackin throat buss.

demon monkey

Postby demon monkey » April 9th, 2013, 8:04 am

when u have inflation growing in leaps and bounds, and work loads creeping up, u want to let them keep their effective buying power reduced? failure for your support of the capitalist system.

demon monkey

Postby demon monkey » April 9th, 2013, 8:08 am

demon monkey wrote:Image

You living in past bro, unions have become obsolete as they no longer seek the plight of the worker. They on games and politics. These so-called union leaders get pay offs from employers.

dat happening ever since people realize there is money to be got in the system. but they are the ones that are on your side, against the RECOGNIZED politicians and capitalist management

Postby pioneer » April 9th, 2013, 8:14 am

People take trade unions for granted.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » April 9th, 2013, 4:30 pm

Trade unions should be dissolved and a new system implemented. Two instances:

In the US the United Auto Workers Union have been demanding more and more benefits to employees till it was unprofitable and they couldn't compete with the Japanese manufacturers ( not that you could beat a Corolla anyway). When the Big Three couldn't afford to manufacture at the same level they outsourced which caused a substantial reduction in the quality of US automobiles and sharp decline in sales and business.

OWTU branch official defends a worker for stealing and wins even though the worker confesses to the crime.

Postby Country_Bookie » April 9th, 2013, 4:44 pm

What we really need is enlightened trade unions who stay out of politics. The last TSTT CEO spoke of his difficulty in dealing with the backward CWU. Unions in TnT only see the company as the golden goose, and try to extract as much golden eggs as they can, with scant regard for killing the goose. toyota2nr posted a relelvant example of what is likely to happen to our industries if the unions continue to remain ignorant to the fact that the company must make a profit if it is to continue in business.
With that in mind, we still need unions because without them, the workers would be subject to exploitation by management. See RBC thread for reference.

Postby pioneer » April 9th, 2013, 5:17 pm

All of you cyakin here won't have 3/4 of the amenities and other comforts if it weren't for unions.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » April 9th, 2013, 5:40 pm

^^ but how is it benefiting us now? The police union help get rid of Gibbs.

Postby pioneer » April 9th, 2013, 5:42 pm

Read what zoom rader said

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 9th, 2013, 6:12 pm

pioneer wrote:All of you cyakin here won't have 3/4 of the amenities and other comforts if it weren't for unions.

Yo Pios this is agreed, but with the recent issues is it fair that the country be held to ransome via strike for issues that have no merit?

The unions do need to evolve and workers need to pull their own weight. I am sure you can agree with that? The union plays a vital role, but not at the expense of productivity.

Postby Rooki3 » April 9th, 2013, 6:33 pm

frig all who have a problem wid unions, i go tow work 10am every damn day & dey cant fire me, u feel i wud have dat comfort if it didnt have a union?

Postby brams112 » April 9th, 2013, 6:35 pm

Rooki3 wrote:frig all who have a problem wid unions, i go tow work 10am every damn day & dey cant fire me, u feel i wud have dat comfort if it didnt have a union?

Postby joker » April 9th, 2013, 6:50 pm

Poor Punctuality and Absenteeism... are grounds in which and Employer can be successful in the IRO'S FILED against them ... UNIONS depending who they are, ALWAYS seek the benefits of the employees... so when you hear, see, smell , an Industrial action in the making .... IT IS FOR THE GREATER GOOD.... and then there are some employees who are exploited ... then they look to join Unions when they get in hot water ... and then there are some employees who USE " BEING UNIONIZED " TO get away with being delinquent and insubordination .
/end thread.

Postby hydroep » September 6th, 2019, 7:45 am

Talk about throwing yuh bredrin under de bus. Then again, she knows what she used to do...:|

Minister: Unions just as guilty as employers
Carol Matroo

LABOUR Minister Jennifer Baptiste-Primus says her ministry cannot legislate the negotiating process as this takes place between an employer and the union. This, she said, was where one would have to use moral suasion to encourage both parties to sit and talk.

The minister was responding to a question on the inordinate length of time it often takes for negotiations to be completed and how to rectify this.

Baptiste-Primus spoke on Wednesday during a news conference on the Labour Legislative Reform Agenda at the Ministry of Foreign and Caricom Affairs, Tower C, International Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain.

“Let me tell you, it is not only employers who delay negotiations, unions also are guilty of that by not submitting proposals to the employer so both parties could take stock and come to the table with an appreciation of mutual respect so negotiations could be conducted and completed on a timely basis.

“That is an area of concern for us at the ministry, but you can’t legislate a time frame for the collective bargaining process. We have to ensure that the collective bargaining process is followed, but we cannot say your negotiations must be completed in six months or one year.”

She said the ministry is looking at contract labour since government’s policy is to reduce State dependency on this form of labour. “You cannot be part of the nature to remove contract employment, but certainly we can make a concerted effort to reduce our dependency on contract labour. That position paper was placed before Cabinet and is before our Finance and General Purposes Committee. The idea is to bring stakeholders together so they can agree on a prescription for the reduction of dependence on (this kind of) labour,” she said.

The minister is hoping amendments to the Industrial Relations and the Retrenchment and Severance Benefits Acts would at least be before Parliament by year’s end.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/09/06/minister-unions-just-as-guilty-as-employers/

Postby Ben_spanna » September 6th, 2019, 7:53 am

All for the privatization of WASA and kicking out any union involvement in the future company say " AYEEEEEEEE"

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 6th, 2019, 7:55 am

The thing is that most unions in Trinidad, are nothing more than an extension of the pnm party. That's partly the reason why thousands of workers were sent home and de union ain't say boo. That's why Venezuelans taking de same union members jobs and they didn't nothing. Employers raping de workforce left, right and center, and most of de unions silent. I ain't into party politics, but you really feel kamla could have shutdown petrotrin with no push back form the union? Unions will always fall in line with the pnm. They sold out their own followers, just like how the politicians sold out the country. All this infighting is nothing more than a distraction from real issues.

Postby 88sins » September 6th, 2019, 8:42 am

Ben_spanna wrote:All for the privatization of WASA and kicking out any union involvement in the future company say " AYEEEEEEEE"

al dat hurry to say " AYEEEEEEEE" if that happens they will soon be saying "OUCH OUCH NO MAN OH GORM YUH KILLIN WE"

Postby The_Honourable » September 6th, 2019, 10:01 am

vaiostation wrote:The thing is that most unions in Trinidad, are nothing more than an extension of the pnm party. That's partly the reason why thousands of workers were sent home and de union ain't say boo. That's why Venezuelans taking de same union members jobs and they didn't nothing. Employers raping de workforce left, right and center, and most of de unions silent. I ain't into party politics, but you really feel kamla could have shutdown petrotrin with no push back form the union? Unions will always fall in line with the pnm. They sold out their own followers, just like how the politicians sold out the country. All this infighting is nothing more than a distraction from real issues.

100% truth. No other race would have gotten away with that unless you're invested in the PNM who will buffer them.

I was genuinely surprised when Growlers shut down petrotrin so easy and the big bad OWTU take it so. All they had was noise over the years and piggybacking of the Butler riots. Back then it was the black man in the oil belt vs the colonial white man. This rounds the union didn't want to go against "dey own".

The 1% smart, invest in the PNM as ultimate insurance.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » September 6th, 2019, 10:36 am

The_Honourable wrote:
vaiostation wrote:The thing is that most unions in Trinidad, are nothing more than an extension of the pnm party. That's partly the reason why thousands of workers were sent home and de union ain't say boo. That's why Venezuelans taking de same union members jobs and they didn't nothing. Employers raping de workforce left, right and center, and most of de unions silent. I ain't into party politics, but you really feel kamla could have shutdown petrotrin with no push back form the union? Unions will always fall in line with the pnm. They sold out their own followers, just like how the politicians sold out the country. All this infighting is nothing more than a distraction from real issues.

100% truth. No other race would have gotten away with that unless you're invested in the PNM who will buffer them.

I was genuinely surprised when Growlers shut down petrotrin so easy and the big bad OWTU take it so. All they had was noise over the years and piggybacking of the Butler riots. Back then it was the black man in the oil belt vs the colonial white man. This rounds the union didn't want to go against "dey own".

Honest question, are you guys like paid a stipend to come on this forum and attack PNM and praise UNC and vice versa or is it just out of pure passion for your political party??.... I mean its every post inno, comes down to a UNC/PNM discussion...like you guys look really simple.

Postby The_Honourable » September 6th, 2019, 10:44 am

moses_boss12 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Honest question, are you guys like paid a stipend to come on this forum and attack PNM and praise UNC and vice versa or is it just out of pure passion for your political party??.... I mean its every post inno, comes down to a UNC/PNM discussion...like you guys look really simple.

No stipend, and since is unions we dealing with in this ched there will always be the political element no matter how hard many try to avoid it.

The question is, am i and vaiostation wrong?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 6th, 2019, 11:11 am

moses_boss12 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Isn't the current labour minister Jennifer Baptiste Primus, a former president of the Public Services Association? Wasn't Roget(owtu) and Micheal Anisette(natuc) closely affiliated with Patrick Manning?

one eye

Postby one eye » September 7th, 2019, 11:41 am

OWTU began with the PNM why should they allow Kamla and the cabal tell their history?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 7th, 2019, 1:01 pm

OWTU significantly predates the PNM though.
one eye wrote:OWTU began with the PNM why should they allow Kamla and the cabal tell their history?

matix

Postby matix » September 7th, 2019, 1:09 pm

Quoted for truth