Kitchen cupboards etc

webb

Kitchen cupboards etc

Postby webb » March 13th, 2013, 1:45 pm

Good day guys i am in the process of building my home but i am looking for kitchen cupboards etc been to Kitchen Concept, DS Maraj good stuff top notch quality, craftsmanship do you all know anyone else who build kitchens.

Re: Kitchen cupboards etc

Postby stev » March 13th, 2013, 1:56 pm

what is your budget for your kitchen cupboards? do u want full wooden cupboards or concrete inside with wood outside? glass on cupboard doors?

what area are u from (PM me if u dont want to post area)

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 13th, 2013, 2:20 pm

There's a guy who does good stuff from Central, Thompson's Woodworking you can check out his work on Facebook, I was very satisfied with the work he did by me

Postby stev » March 13th, 2013, 2:30 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:There's a guy who does good stuff from Central, Thompson's Woodworking you can check out his work on Facebook, I was very satisfied with the work he did by me

i know this guy also...he does excellent work...he has all the tools to get the job done.....other cupboard builders tend to go by him sometime if they need special doors done.

I got the PMs from you guys, would update you later and post pics here tonight.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 13th, 2013, 2:37 pm

Stev, yeah. He is the only workman to do work at our house and everyone was totally impressed, he took a while, but it was understandable as he does work for a lot of individuals and companies and the dry season was wet last year and his price is good also, my moms was ready to run a hammer thru her cupboards when she saw mine

Amit

Postby Amit » March 13th, 2013, 3:05 pm

Brent & Ricardo from arima, price hot but at the end of day it is d best,

could post some pics

Postby sharkman121 » March 13th, 2013, 3:25 pm

jus checked out that guy thompsons woodworking on fb, his work is impeccable :shock: probably may not be able to afford him. Im looking to get my kitchen cupboards redone as well.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 13th, 2013, 3:47 pm

^ I dunno most of the photos of his work still using rails and stiles on the frame so there are spaces between the doors showing the frame.

Most modern cabinetry has the doors fully covering the frame so the doors and draw faces are all you see.

Postby sharkman121 » March 13th, 2013, 3:52 pm

Hmm true, im nowhere near an expert so i have no idea what to look for. Watching it from a laymans POV. However i just realised most of those pics were from 2010.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » March 13th, 2013, 7:08 pm

Sapphire's Woodworking (run by Vincent Edwards)
Reliable guy.
special work.
honest.
page on facebook.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/118920854884663/

BlackXT

Postby BlackXT » March 13th, 2013, 9:15 pm

Try Beta Homes (Young Sing) Old Southern Main Road, Frederick Settlement, Caroni. I recently did my kitchen with them. I checked out all the rest as well.
Last edited by BlackXT on March 20th, 2013, 6:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 13th, 2013, 9:25 pm

As we talking kitchen cupboards... I'm building as well so thanks for the links and names...

What about counter tops...

What did u guys use... Porcelain tiles, granite, synthetic, laminate, regular tiles?

All I'm seeing is tiles or granite...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 13th, 2013, 9:30 pm

We used solid surface, google the different types and make your choice

Postby shogun » March 13th, 2013, 9:36 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:We used solid surface, google the different types and make your choice

Way to go.

Tile = grout

And with the expected moisture, it's just going to mean more maintenance.
Last edited by shogun on March 13th, 2013, 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 13th, 2013, 9:40 pm

Solid surface from where guys?

webb

Postby webb » March 13th, 2013, 9:41 pm

I saw some solid surface by kitchen concept man you have to see there solid surface they even have glass. Granite is really alot of pros an cons depending on color,thickness etc

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 13th, 2013, 9:58 pm

I hear Hall of Elegance in Macoya has good stuff, but that was years ago. Granite stains easily with citric acid and some household cleaners and that was a sore point for me as I consume a lot of citrus

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » March 13th, 2013, 10:53 pm

granite countertops was discussed previously on trinituner

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=394750&start=30

some places not mentioned in that thread:

ETS granite (Maracas St Joseph)
Surfaces and Surroundings (Kelly Village, Caroni)
Maraj Universal Counters (Frederick Settlement, Caroni)

all of the above carry large slabs of granite (9 feet by 5 feet approx); places like Tile Warehouse, Home Store and ABC Distributors carry only the smaller prefabricated 8 feet by 26 inches slabs which sometimes come with a factory bullnose. larger slabs are needed for large islands etc.

Maraj Universal also carries quartz and solid surface countertops. As this thread is about cupboards, I'll mention that Maraj Universal is essentially a part of Maraj Woodworking. Maraj Woodworking does commercial work (they did woodwork for the renovation of the main administration building at UWI). They also do residential work which I believe is not that much more expensive than other woodworking companies.

Postby X2 » March 14th, 2013, 1:30 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:I hear Hall of Elegance in Macoya has good stuff, but that was years ago. Granite stains easily with citric acid and some household cleaners and that was a sore point for me as I consume a lot of citrus

Hall of elegance is there and supplies the tops in stone and granite... pricey but good selection.

Right next door to hall of elegance is MDC-UM and they do kitchen cabinetry.

The old rail and frame style is used by many builders still, but the more modern build type is the european system that allows thin door and drawer reveals and looks more streamlined. Going with all solid wood cabinets can be expensive so more people are going with the MDF or plywood cores and laminates for the cabinets and doors. The counter-top can cost as much as half your expense when doing a kitchen. Solid surfaces are a great option for the money as they offer a similar look to granite but much better performance and lower long term cost of ownership.

If you don't know what you are doing, you need to make sure you get proper advice on design and layout... kitchen is an important addition or renovation to a home.

Postby sharkman121 » March 14th, 2013, 2:27 am

Some really good stuff in this thread relevant to my interest at this time.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » March 14th, 2013, 2:59 am

Yeah this is a good thread. The Thompson guy has some nice looking work. I wont want kitchen cupboards tho. Just like a built in closet or shelves on my wall or something of the sort to maximize the use of the little space I have.

*subscribed*

shocker

Postby shocker » March 14th, 2013, 3:48 am

call 704-2925 (jameer) central.....he's really good

geodude

Postby geodude » March 14th, 2013, 3:53 am

get cuboards that look like these :)

ku-xlarge.jpg

this is not photo chopped, it was designed to look that way, called "glitch furniture "
see story here
http://io9.com/glitch-furniture-makes-y ... -453597584

khandman

Postby khandman » March 14th, 2013, 5:31 am

As its on the topic of kitchens. I'm building right now and wanted to know feedback as to design and positioning of counter etc. Is it absolutely necessary to place your sink facing a window? I'm not really a knowledgeable person when it comes to building and have gotten some shoddy workmanship in some areas even though price was high. So thinking about building counter, or looking at the ready made option complete with cupboards.

webb

Postby webb » March 14th, 2013, 5:56 am

khandman wrote:As its on the topic of kitchens. I'm building right now and wanted to know feedback as to design and positioning of counter etc. Is it absolutely necessary to place your sink facing a window? I'm not really a knowledgeable person when it comes to building and have gotten some shoddy workmanship in some areas even though price was high. So thinking about building counter, or looking at the ready made option complete with cupboards.

Check this site out you will get alot of ideas

http://www.houzz.com/

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 14th, 2013, 7:27 am

khandman wrote:As its on the topic of kitchens. I'm building right now and wanted to know feedback as to design and positioning of counter etc. Is it absolutely necessary to place your sink facing a window? I'm not really a knowledgeable person when it comes to building and have gotten some shoddy workmanship in some areas even though price was high. So thinking about building counter, or looking at the ready made option complete with cupboards.

No particularly... I just like looking out to my back yard when washing wares

airuma

Postby airuma » March 14th, 2013, 7:28 am

shocker wrote:call 704-2925 (jameer) central.....he's really good

If you want modern cabinets and expect creativity from the joiner then DO NOT CALL THIS FELLAH. He did my cupboards, took more than a year. He treated the job like a PJ with all kinds of excuses. Getting things the way I wanted it was like "pulling teeth". The worst thing is, he came to my house, took measurements, claimed to be building custom cupboards then when he came to install he complained that the walls not straight.... My opinion.... If I hire you to build custom cupboards on a curved wall, then you build it to suit the wall, not square in your shop and tell me I have to live with the space because the wall bent!!

Postby nemisis » March 14th, 2013, 9:04 am

^^^ and you didn't send him back with his cupboard, steups!!!

Postby sharkman121 » March 14th, 2013, 9:37 am

Referral fail...rofl

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » March 14th, 2013, 10:02 am

Good thread...