interview

dante1986

interview

Postby dante1986 » February 17th, 2013, 4:09 pm

I have a interview tomorrow , would just like to know what is the average pay of a driver *its with d government* so i wont ask for too much lol

Re: interview

Postby r3iXmann » February 17th, 2013, 4:13 pm

from my experience, they don't negotiate salaries with you..just tell you what the position is offering based on your exp. etc

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » February 17th, 2013, 4:15 pm

oh ok but do you know the average pay grade ?

Postby A172 » February 17th, 2013, 4:19 pm

'bout three fiddy

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » February 17th, 2013, 4:29 pm

hmmm ok that sounds so little bit lol

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2013, 4:44 pm

what position exactly?

there are many diff positions and ranges of "drivers"

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » February 17th, 2013, 4:48 pm

courier,office work

Postby Gem_in_i » February 17th, 2013, 5:12 pm

On contract ? A daily paid driver? Or monthly paid?

You woun't negotiate salary, tht is already set in the Govt service.

A daily paid driver would get abt $234+ cola 6.60 but could be more depending on what type of driver. There are mvo and heo etc.

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2013, 5:30 pm

notsureifOPknows

Postby A172 » February 17th, 2013, 5:36 pm

OP make sure and include BSc in Gheeing on your resume

Postby Rooki3 » February 17th, 2013, 5:42 pm

dante1986 wrote:hmmm ok that sounds so little bit lol

ahahaahhah, well u go cry when u see d real pay

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2013, 5:43 pm

Dear OPIE, if this is how you respond in a thread where you're trying to obtain information about a job, yet you are being so vague and brief, sorry to inform you but you won't get the job. No employer in their right mind would want to hire anyone who cannot communicate properly and express themselves in an effective manner. I would say save yourself the pain and trauma of going before an interview only to have your hopes & dreams shattered right where you sit. Also if your primary concern is how much money you're gonna get, save that thought also cuz at this point in time it equates to a big fat zero.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2013, 5:47 pm

$200 a day is avg anywhere for a driver

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » February 17th, 2013, 5:49 pm

Just some advice...if it's for a government job. I've had a couple interviews and they all asked these questions:

1.Name one or two current events that recently took place in Trinidad.

2.Describe a work-related situation you've been in that was challenging and how you handled it.

3. What is average salary expectation? For this, I suggest you look at other tuners' suggestions of $234 avg..

Heads up for those questions and good luck.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » February 17th, 2013, 5:51 pm

dante1986 wrote:I have a interview tomorrow , would just like to know what is the average pay of a driver *its with d government* so i wont ask for too much lol

You should have asked salary or salary range when they contacted you for the interview. Don't make sense wasting your or their time.

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2013, 5:51 pm

kevinknr wrote:Just some advice...if it's for a government job. I've had a couple interviews and they all asked these questions:

2.Describe a work-related situation you've been in that was challenging and how you handled it.

3. What is average salary expectation? For this, I suggest you look at other tuners' suggestions of $234 avg..

LOL come on doh chain up de man head so nah fadda

Postby De Dragon » February 17th, 2013, 5:53 pm

Nasrallah wrote:
dante1986 wrote:I have a interview tomorrow , would just like to know what is the average pay of a driver *its with d government* so i wont ask for too much lol

You should have asked salary or salary range when they contacted you for the interview. Don't make sense wasting your or their time.

Never ask about salary until the appropriate time, usually during an interview.

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2013, 5:55 pm

You can ask before it even starts, if you find is small morney coas on dem an walk out da interview fadda.

Dem enno who you is?

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » February 17th, 2013, 6:16 pm

kevinknr wrote:Just some advice...if it's for a government job. I've had a couple interviews and they all asked these questions:

LOL come on doh chain up de man head so nah fadda

Nah, I not chainin him up. I letting him know what to expect. Those questions are basic interview questions for government jobs.

recklessone

Postby recklessone » February 17th, 2013, 7:50 pm

A172 wrote:OP make sure and include BSc in Gheeing on your resume

:!: :!: :!:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 17th, 2013, 7:57 pm

lawlllllllllllllll

Postby ismithx » February 17th, 2013, 8:00 pm

with an emphasis in fyaz?

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » February 17th, 2013, 8:22 pm

I never ask what the salary is ubtil they ask me if i have any questions. Its the ministry of national security and i think is a 3 year contract as well.Just wanted to have a average so i wont be asking for a ridiculous salary thanks for all the info negative an positive lol

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2013, 8:26 pm

Drivers won't really get 3 year continuous contracts

More like 3-6mths at a time, 1 year continuous if they really feeling generous

Drivers generally make more than clerk 1's...so probably around $4,500 per month if so much.

Postby Les Bain » February 17th, 2013, 8:34 pm

Been a while since I've seen the salary scale but I think that's a range 14 or 17 position. Nope, I don't know what the present salary figure is.

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » February 17th, 2013, 8:36 pm

government only give contracts now but as far as i know the contract was for three years only

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 17th, 2013, 8:39 pm

OP, you have heavy T?

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2013, 8:41 pm

Drivers are expendable

Longer term contracts are for highly skilled/competent labor/qualified, having a driver's permit is not considered a qualification which is above the rest.

But hey driving is fun, you will make more than a clerk 1, don't have to be filing papers and fulling out tracing cards all day. Then again I doubt you're gonna pass the interview cuz with most ministerial contract jobs - they already have their people and just going tru this process for transparency sake. You can get lucky if they have a serious shortage of drivers though, but I highly doubt.

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » February 17th, 2013, 8:47 pm

na i eh hv heavy t yet an at pioneer i hv someone who is trying to help me, i applied for this like 3 months ago lol the lady call me early in d morning but for all the driving jobs i applied for wasnt for driving only i hv experience in some other stuff

Postby Gem_in_i » February 17th, 2013, 8:52 pm

Is a messenger post? I see you said courier and office work.