Which residential water pump to buy?

Re: Which residential water pump to buy?

Postby pugboy » November 19th, 2013, 6:03 pm

anybody here ever remove the impeller on a gould j5s ?
I took off the main body however there doesn't seem to be a nut inside the impeller onto the shaft
to put a socket wrench on.

Postby Chimera » November 20th, 2013, 7:50 am

need a pump to service one bathroom/ toilet and one sink

a 1/2 hp should be adequate?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 20th, 2013, 8:17 am

pugboy wrote:anybody here ever remove the impeller on a gould j5s ?
I took off the main body however there doesn't seem to be a nut inside the impeller onto the shaft
to put a socket wrench on.

You have to hold the impeller itself.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:need a pump to service one bathroom/ toilet and one sink

½HP is adequate,

make sure its not one of those small peripheral pumps that the hardwares like to sell as a domestic pump.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 20th, 2013, 8:23 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:need a pump to service one bathroom/ toilet and one sink

A 1/2 hp pump can service up to two complete bathrooms comfortably.

For 3 bathrooms and over... the 1/2 hp will stay on a bit longer since it can only push 1/2 hp and nothing more.... therefore the 3/4 hp is then necessary in this case.

The best brand of pump to buy (hands down) is GOULDS.

Also when mounting the pressure tank... make sure to install it vertical rather than horizontal.
In the horizontal position, the neck undergoes eventual strain and will give problems later on.
So put the tank upwards and the pressure gauge horizontal.

And, although many people say that water pumps can withstand the weather etc, it is always recommended to have it under some kinda “shelter”. When the pumps take weather and the time comes to service, the bolts etc give problems to remove.

Ramlagan’s Hardware had the best price on the water pumps. He also stocks Pentax.
Also when u buy a water pump by him you also get:
(1) All the additional pvc fittings installed – including the directional check valve etc.
(2) A long rhino chord with plug, already wired into the pump – just to plug in.

When I bought the pump there, all I then had to do was stick in the “in” pvc pipe... then stick in the “out” pvc pipe.... plug in... that’s it!

If you are interested to purchase from Ramlagan’s Hardware... Here’s the directions:

Postby pete » November 20th, 2013, 8:25 am

Does pentax have 220V pumps? Is there much advantage to using 220 vs 110?

Right now the house is wired with a 220 plug.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 20th, 2013, 8:30 am

pete wrote:Does pentax have 220V pumps? Is there much advantage to using 220 vs 110?

Right now the house is wired with a 220 plug.

I'm sure Pentax also comes 220V... Most brands have a 220V model.

But 110V VS 220V does not effect efficiency.

Only advantage is that 220V can use smaller wires as the amps are half that of the 110V.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 20th, 2013, 9:09 am

pete wrote:Does pentax have 220V pumps?

A shipment of 1HP Dual voltage Pentax pumps came in recently (model - CAM 100).
You will be able to get them at Rotoplastics directly. I'm not sure if the hardwares have them as yet.

That's the smallest dual voltage domestic Pentax you can get.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 20th, 2013, 10:23 am

wheelbarrow wrote:
pete wrote:Does pentax have 220V pumps?

A shipment of 1HP Dual voltage Pentax pumps came in recently (model - CAM 100).
You will be able to get them at Rotoplastics directly. I'm not sure if the hardwares have them as yet.

Ah tell allyuh wey to go ahredy!

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2013, 4:32 pm

got the goulds impeller off easily, whole thing unscrews as indicated.

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2013, 6:59 am

i saw where you all spoke about it but..at the end of the day..which is better?

smart head or pressure tank?

http://vextrini.blogspot.com/2010/06/wa ... en-or.html

Pressure tank vs. smart head
If you are considering buying a new pump, I recommend getting a pump with a pressure tank, it comes on less frequently and has pressure stored and waiting for you to use. This pump only comes on when the reserve in the tank is used.
The smart head pumps usually suffer from a lag where after you open a faucet/tap you get low pressure then a few seconds later the pump comes on. This is annoying and means that a pump would be running the whole time a tap is open! Imagine the pump running for the whole time you are in the shower vs a few times on and off!
Both types will eventually get noisier as the bearings go bad and need to be replaced. In most parts of Trinidad and Tobago this is about two or three years after getting a new pump/bearings.
http://vextrini.blogspot.com/2010/07/wa ... oming.html

Postby pete » November 21st, 2013, 8:02 am

Pressure tank also seems to be cheaper. Don't see the point of the smart head personally.

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2013, 8:13 am

I have a new smarthead to sell for $200 if anybody interested.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 21st, 2013, 8:17 am

pugboy wrote:I have a new smarthead to sell for $200 if anybody interested.

I have some Ice in a Net to sell for $5

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 22nd, 2013, 9:21 am

Which is better between Pressure Tank and Smarthead is entirely dependent on your application, the main advantage of the Smarthead over the Pressure tank is the built-in "low level" protection.
The Smarthead will shut down the pump when there is no water passing thru the pump. To achieve this with a pump with a pressure tank you will have to install a float switch in the water tank and wire this back into the pump.

One of the main advantages of the pressure tank system is the longer run time of the pump. Contrary to what the guy in the blog was saying, your pump is supposed to run continuously once water is in use. The main reason for this is to cool the motor after it starts. The pump motor gets hot every time it starts and needs the motor to run so that the fan on the motor can cool it down. The way that the pressure tank helps with this is by allowing the pump to keep running after you have closed off a tap by fulling itself with water.
For example, you open your faucet to rinse out your hands which probably takes about 30 seconds, just before you lock off the tap the pump comes on and ( if its set like how the blog guy pump is set) cuts back off, the motor is still hot and has not run for long enough to cool itself properly. Imagine what will happen to the motor when it isn't cooled properly and it keeps coming on and cutting off.
If you have a properly sized pressure tank and properly set pressure switch this "short cycling" problem won't happen and you will definitely get years of trouble free service from your pump.

Personally IMO, I will say that the pressure tank system is better, but it has to be a large pressure tank. Also the simplicity of the pressure tank system is a plus as the components are mechanically based and if something fails it can be easily repaired.
Unlike the Smarthead, where if the circuit board fails you have to find one to replace it.

Again it all depends on how your system is set up. There are many scenarios where a Smarthead pump will be ideal.

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2013, 6:41 pm

took apart two Goulds J5S today to change shaft seals.

First one was easy, second give real trouble to get motor shaft out.
Resorted to hitting it with a hammer monkey mechanic style.
Ended up damaging a few of the threads on the end of it.
Had to cut them off with angle grinder, all is well now.
If I had to do it again I would put a piece of metal angle/bar across two bolt holes and use bolts to press the metal bar against the shaft to press it out.

Other than changing the motor bearing I am almost a goulds expert.

I have a Pentax Cam50 with a sticky bearing, anybody here every do work on that ?
20131122_182808.jpg

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2013, 6:43 pm

I have an extra smarthead,
is it possible to put it inline and use it as a low level cutoff switch ?

JaiTech

Postby JaiTech » November 27th, 2013, 7:21 pm

Pugboy the cam 50 is even simpler than the j5s

Postby 3stagevtec » November 28th, 2013, 12:32 am

wheelbarrow wrote:½HP is adequate,

make sure its not one of those small peripheral pumps that the hardwares like to sell as a domestic pump.

What's the problem with those?

Postby Chimera » November 28th, 2013, 7:58 am

i bought the 1/2 hp from ramlagans

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 28th, 2013, 8:21 am

3stagevtec wrote:

Those pumps can't produce the volume of water needed to supply anything more than one outlet. The moment you turn on a second tap the volume of water drops drastically. They are really built for small volume water transfer.
The reason the hardwares sell it is due to the relatively cheaper price.

ad man

Postby ad man » November 28th, 2013, 9:32 am

We have a goulds running 34 years now......... its a bit more expensive but i think its worth it.. BUT beware there are imitation goulds that sell for about $1800. the original is just about $2500.00

Postby 3stagevtec » November 28th, 2013, 12:30 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

Those pumps can't produce the volume of water needed to supply anything more than one outlet. The moment you turn on a second tap the volume of water drops drastically. They are really built for small volume water transfer.
The reason the hardwares sell it is due to the relatively cheaper price.

Cool, thanks..

ad man wrote:We have a goulds running 34 years now......... its a bit more expensive but i think its worth it.. BUT beware there are imitation goulds that sell for about $1800. the original is just about $2500.00

My parents had a Goulds that lasted for somewhere between 25 - 30years.. A failed capacitor caused the motor to burn.. They replaced it with another 1/2hp I believe..

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 28th, 2013, 12:45 pm

One of the causes of this is exposure to the weather elements...

Hence the reason why I previously advised:
New_SPECIES wrote:.....although many people say that water pumps can withstand the weather etc, it is always recommended to have it under some kinda “shelter”. When the pumps take weather and the time comes to service, the bolts etc give problems to remove.

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2013, 3:10 pm

both of our goulds are in covered areas, I doubt weather elements would contribute to shaft seal wearing out.

JaiTech

Postby JaiTech » November 28th, 2013, 4:08 pm

pugboy wrote:both of our goulds are in covered areas, I doubt weather elements would contribute to shaft seal wearing out.

Lack of water to pump ,wrong suction size , which causes cavitation and damages seals advice purchase low level switches and increase suction to 1" and only use 45degree elbows not 90degree

rambo22

Postby rambo22 » July 5th, 2014, 7:21 am

Hi Tuners need a 3/4 hp water pump asap i am considering the Pentax or Dab which one you guys would strongly recommend. Looking at parts availability most important.

Postby pugboy » July 5th, 2014, 9:08 am

get a goulds
I think the goulds 1/2 pushes same volume as a pentax 3/4
pentax cheap and works well though.
spend money on a good pressure tank and float switch for tank to avoid burning out pump.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 17th, 2015, 9:40 pm

Does the Pentax Smart Head water pump works well?

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » December 1st, 2015, 11:26 pm

Fellas pentax pump only about a yr old is leaking between where the pump two halves is bolted together. Its the casing where the impellar is located, theres a metal shaft that is spitting out water everytime the pump is engaged.
Have any idea what part needs changing, should just be a rubber/seal right?

Dont know since when pentax get like this, last pentax i had last bout 20 yrs and only thing i ever change was tank ever so often

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2015, 7:45 am

shaft seal about $50 for the part or so
it will require a full takedown to get it off
unscrew end cover, remove fan, shaft nut
unscrew impeller
undo main bolts holding halves together
then take apart and pull out shaft seal
regrease and remount
if only a year old should not be caked up with rust and wasa deposits