Which residential water pump to buy?

wheelbarrow

Re: Which residential water pump to buy?

Postby wheelbarrow » July 8th, 2013, 1:05 pm

Ah looking for technicians, like ah hadda hire nissan4life... Lol...

vin123

Postby vin123 » July 8th, 2013, 1:05 pm

We have a Goulds 23years now and we only changed the pressure tank 4times!
hope you get a good pump though.....things these days not lasting like they used to

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 8th, 2013, 1:11 pm

Well done on the repair Nissan , good write up and pictures
Last edited by cornfused on July 8th, 2013, 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » July 8th, 2013, 2:40 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Bearings should be an easy fix. In any event, bad bearings can last years, just with progressively worse noise.

I've had a Pentax transfer pump submerged in water then buried in the resultant silt and still work fine after cleaning. I still use that pump daily.

Easy fix you say,lol
i will invest in a new one yes
I sprayed some wd40 on the fan assembly while pump was running and it easied up with the noise but i kow thats just temporary

wheelbarrow if you hire me i only sure to take apart you pump and leave you without water,i aint sure to fix it nah.lol

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2013, 9:22 pm

Anybody ever hear about cycle stop valve/CSV valves installed on pumps locally to reduce the
start/stop cycles on pumps to extend the wear/tear on pump and pressure tank.

They are a recent invention in 90's and allow use of smaller pressure tanks.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 15th, 2013, 11:51 am

pugboy wrote:Anybody ever hear about cycle stop valve/CSV valves installed on pumps locally to reduce the

Been using CSVs some years now. Very good invention.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » August 15th, 2013, 12:09 pm

crazybalhead wrote:goulds with a wellxpro pressure tank, as big as you can fit/afford.

Talk done.

I got this combo as well.
Had to change the pressure tank year (2nd time I'm changing it) but the pump itself is going on 13 years with regular maintenance and parts changing now and then.

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2013, 2:49 pm

you got one locally where ?

wheelbarrow wrote:
pugboy wrote:Anybody ever hear about cycle stop valve/CSV valves installed on pumps locally to reduce the

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 15th, 2013, 2:50 pm

pugboy wrote:you got one locally where ?

wheelbarrow wrote:

Water Source has.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 15th, 2013, 4:54 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:

How does this work? Looking for a pressure reducing valve, does this also perform that function?

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2013, 5:59 pm

no, pressure reducing valve is for reducing wasa pressure in high psi places like areas of maraval.
CSV is for regulating the workload of the pump and reducing the number of start/stops so less strain on the pump and pressure tank.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 15th, 2013, 7:56 pm

The CSV's basically keeps the pressure coming out of a pump at one set pressure no matter the amount of water that is needed in the house/building and stops the cycling by slowly filling ur pressure tank when you stop using water in the house.

The valve senses pressure in the house by being installed on the outlet of your pump, and a pilot valve and spring(inside the valve) mechanically controls the valve position.When the pressure decreases below the set point(the pressure you want in the house),the valve moves toward the open position. When the pressure increases above the set point, the valve moves towards the closed position.

Lets say you want to maintain 50 psi to your house, you set the valve to keep that 50psi, when you open one tap the water from your pressure tank is drained 1st, then when the house pressure reaches about 40-45psi (you have to set your pressure switch to 5-10psi below the set point with the CSV's) the pump will come on.
Now, dependant on how many taps you have open the CSV will open itself to supply the needed water. When you close your taps the CSV senses that no water is being used and closes, the CSV however cannot close all the way to stop water flow out of the pump,(there's a notch in the CSV that always allows water through) and this is how it slowly fills your pressure tank. When there is no water being used in the house, water from the pump is only allowed to pass thru this notch and this reduced volume coming out of the pump slowy fills the pressure tank.
Normally (if you didnt have a CSV) the pump will quickly fill that (probably undersized) pressure tank,reach its cut off pressure and then the pressure switch will shut off the pump. This is how it stops the cycling of the pump on and off...
Besides the advantage of stopping the pump from short cycling, this resistance on the outlet of the pump causes the pump to run at a lower amperage than normal.

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2013, 8:15 pm

How much did it cost at watersource ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 15th, 2013, 10:03 pm

Not seeing the obvious benefit over a properly sized pressure tank. Guess you guys who deal with plumbing more than i do will know the difference it makes.

As for the pressure reducing valve, WASA's line pressure, when it comes at all, is 90+ psi. I want to use line water to reduce pump usage but not at that pressure. I'll feel safer with 45-50 psi.

fullthrotle

Postby fullthrotle » August 16th, 2013, 9:08 am

goulds (american made version) pump, 1/2hp motor, pressure switc $2269 (vat inclusive) Ramlagan's hardware couva.

DAB 1/2 hp with pressure tank (complete setup, valves etc ) around $2400. also at ramlagans.

the same goulds at another "big" hardware in union rd for $3200.00

please note the existance of a chinese goulds without pressure tank for $1950 vat inclusive at reliable parts in st augustine and boundary rd san juan. butt he motor much smaller but rated at same 1/2hp.

ramlagan also have the goulds (all in one/ camel back) pump for $4100. i don't know why these so expensive.

finally: as usual ramlagan have the best price. and don't worry with any comparisons goulds is the best. the only strange issue is that the goulds 1/2hp (american made) warranty is from kelvin ghany ent and not peakes who i know to be the local agent.

Postby 3stagevtec » August 16th, 2013, 10:40 am

Nice info on the CSVs.. I like how they maintain constant pressure in the line and prevent short start / stops..

demented

Postby demented » August 16th, 2013, 12:00 pm

With the CSV, the pump will stop cycling but would the high backpressure be safe for the pump? See link for a visual representation and comparison.

http://www.cyclestopvalves.com/simple/home.php

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2013, 3:17 pm

water pumps are centrifugal, the backpressure if any is no big thing and will not damage the impeller.

I passed by watersource today, a csv is $1152.

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2013, 4:07 pm

Anybody here ever remove a pentax impeller from a 1/2 cam50 model ?
I opened up an old one I have and the impeller is badly clogged and a little warped.
Want to replace it, already cleaned up the inside and replaced the vane guide.

I was told that when you remove the endcap of the motor there would be a place to grip the shaft but there is only the fan on that side and somehow it slips if held by hand against removing the impeller.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 16th, 2013, 4:39 pm

Used Pentax off an on in a non domestic application for a few years , but have not needed to open it . I also don't see the need for a CSV, if you have adequately sized tanks. A pressure reduction valve is good idea , especially depending on where you live . At home we don't have a reduction valve per say we have reduction fittings and a large ball valve to try and control the wasa pressure .
Last edited by cornfused on September 19th, 2013, 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » September 17th, 2013, 10:54 am

pugboy wrote:Anybody here ever remove a pentax impeller from a 1/2 cam50 model ?
I opened up an old one I have and the impeller is badly clogged and a little warped.
Want to replace it, already cleaned up the inside and replaced the vane guide.

I was told that when you remove the endcap of the motor there would be a place to grip the shaft but there is only the fan on that side and somehow it slips if held by hand against removing the impeller.

pugboy tha impeller is catch ass to remove... plastic normally seals itself to the shaft,you can try alot of wd40 or any lubricant to give yo some head way..
Yes the impeller can be removed by having someone else hold or turn in opposite direction at the fan side while you at the impeller side....this is a 2man job trust me,you gonna need all your strength to buss that damn impeller off the shaft...

is a rel pain but with time, plenty patience, a lil lashe or two with a block of wood and a few mudda so and so you ll get it off
But if you intend on changing the impeller and hav a new one why not jus cut the old one off?is not like you gonna use it again.

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2013, 6:57 pm

Well the nut still has to be removed ven if the impeller is broken off.
I believe the nut is lefthand threaded also.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » September 19th, 2013, 9:48 am

pugboy wrote:Well the nut still has to be removed ven if the impeller is broken off.
I believe the nut is lefthand threaded also.

Yup but with the impeller off,you shud have more room to work with at the shaft instead of working from the back by the fan.....depends on you pump.Some thread clockwise and others counterclockwise.
I think pentaz is clockwise,really cant remember nah.. so duh quote me on dat

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 19th, 2013, 12:10 pm

Its anticlockwise facing the impeller.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » September 19th, 2013, 1:46 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:Its anticlockwise facing the impeller.

pugboy i stand corrected anticlockwise

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2013, 4:25 pm

Did u do a removal before ?
If so how do i hold the shaft ?

wheelbarrow wrote:Its anticlockwise facing the impeller.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 20th, 2013, 12:25 pm

1.Take off the fan at the back of the pump.
2.Hold shaft where fan was located with pipe wrench or place it in a vice.
3. Turn impeller anticlockwise to remove.

I would strongly advise against using any tools on the impeller as it is easily damaged.

JaiTech

Postby JaiTech » November 12th, 2013, 9:29 pm

Some nice info

JaiTech

Postby JaiTech » November 16th, 2013, 8:47 am

You guys sharing a lot of good info any more technical and I go be out off business lol great thread but as to the mos

JaiTech

Postby JaiTech » November 16th, 2013, 8:49 am

Most quite pump on the market it's either groudfous or pedrollo and the pedrollo has a energy efficient motor