Which residential water pump to buy?

khandman

Re: Which residential water pump to buy?

Postby khandman » October 27th, 2021, 11:22 am

INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:
low-profile wrote:anyone has reviews on the pumps from QPSL
the brands are pumpman and shimge.

they are pretty cheap and QPSL claims they use 33% less electricity

also where has the cheapest price of goulds(usa)

I have one of the Shimge 1.5 HP installed over 2 years and works trouble free thus far.

Can easily buy 2 of these compared to a Goulds pump.

Previously used Gould - no complaint on performance, only issue is cost to purchase when need to replace.
Looking for some advice. Have a pedrollo from farfan installed about a year and a half. Smart head. 1hp supplying upstairs and downstairs. Couple days now, sometimes putting on the tap upstairs and no water. Sometimes running perfectly. Called a plumber and he suggested changing the smart head. Just looking for any insight

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2021, 12:07 pm

yeah them smart head woft

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 27th, 2021, 3:49 pm

Well the Pentax finally reach the point of service $ >= replacement $

Seal start leaking, smarthead gone a while now (using switch to control it), bearings starting to make a slight noise, pressure case/body getting deep cancer rust, and the ball valves that came as part of the assembly rotted.

12 years service, minimal/poor maintenance on my end. That service/repair job will be about the same as a new pump.

Going back pentax again. Same 1/2 hp, same smarthead. I'll deal with the usual gremlins when they pop up.

Postby timelapse » October 27th, 2021, 9:15 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Well the Pentax finally reach the point of service $ >= replacement $

Seal start leaking, smarthead gone a while now (using switch to control it), bearings starting to make a slight noise, pressure case/body getting deep cancer rust, and the ball valves that came as part of the assembly rotted.

12 years service, minimal/poor maintenance on my end. That service/repair job will be about the same as a new pump.

Going back pentax again. Same 1/2 hp, same smarthead. I'll deal with the usual gremlins when they pop up.
The devil you know....
My pentax survived a flood.Cheap yet effective

Postby hover11 » October 27th, 2021, 9:29 pm

If water only goes like once a year for me does it make sense to buy a pump which will hardly be in use, if so what brand?

Postby Dave » October 27th, 2021, 10:28 pm

I did a Leo for that same purpose and even more so the run was very short with very few outlets. It's about 4 years so far. Came with all the fittings on the unit. The ppl were very happy with it.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » October 28th, 2021, 8:30 am

khandman wrote:
INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:
low-profile wrote:anyone has reviews on the pumps from QPSL
the brands are pumpman and shimge.

they are pretty cheap and QPSL claims they use 33% less electricity

also where has the cheapest price of goulds(usa)

I have one of the Shimge 1.5 HP installed over 2 years and works trouble free thus far.

Can easily buy 2 of these compared to a Goulds pump.

Previously used Gould - no complaint on performance, only issue is cost to purchase when need to replace.
Looking for some advice. Have a pedrollo from farfan installed about a year and a half. Smart head. 1hp supplying upstairs and downstairs. Couple days now, sometimes putting on the tap upstairs and no water. Sometimes running perfectly. Called a plumber and he suggested changing the smart head. Just looking for any insight

Recently serviced my Shimge pump- cleaned the port to the pressure switch and changed the switch(failed0.

Pump work like new.

Suggest you check the port to your "Smarthead" before changing it as it sounds like the switch is not activating as the port could be plugged and require a large water use to activate the switch.

Postby 88sins » October 30th, 2021, 7:06 pm

hover11 wrote:If water only goes like once a year for me does it make sense to buy a pump which will hardly be in use, if so what brand?

Once you have tanks ground level, it's always better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

Imagine water gone w/o warning while you in d shower mid-soap/shampoo. Yuh really wanna have to go outside and try to get water out the tank or ask someone else in the house to do it for you?

And what happens if/when wasa decide your area getting too regular a supply and cuts it down to 3 or 4 days per week? No telling what wasa go do or when or why, and them ketchin you off guard and unprepared can be a real inconvenience.

Like I said, better to have it and not need it. Just run it a few times for the year so that the impeller doesn't rot out and the bearing don't seize up and you good to go

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 12th, 2021, 7:10 pm

I don't have time for all day DIYs anymore, so got a plumber to install a new pentax 3/4 hp today and let's just say the older residential fittings don't like the 5 bars of pressure :(

Had to scramble to lock off washing machine hoses (rusted end said fckit and blew off spraying water on electrical outlets/wall/ceiling). Got a small zap because I got wet, the switch was wet and I was in a pool of water. Small ting, I've gotten worse. I was in panic mode. Should have cut water from outside. Meh,.

Just now I saw water in the kitchen. The angle valve under the kitchen sink seems to have aged out and it's a steady drip. I'm sure if I leave it pressurized it will pop like a balloon.

Did a sitrep and decided that I'll be swapping out the older angle valves throughout the house. Leaving the pump off tonight because I don't want any gawddamn overnight surprises.

The last pentax was only pushing about 1.5 bar under load when we swapped it out, guess the impeller slowly wore out or something. Can't remember how much it used to be.

Line pressure here is definitely a fraction of a bar. Slow but sure.

40+ year old house woes.

Postby pugboy » December 12th, 2021, 7:33 pm

what u did with the old one?
most like it is gunked up with rust and mud crud

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 12th, 2021, 7:46 pm

pugboy wrote:what u did with the old one?
most like it is gunked up with rust and mud crud

It's still here. Might give a buddy it who repairs pumps. He'll use it for extra parts and I'll have a favour on the inside.
shaft seal gone, bearings getting noisy and smarthead running constantly. When I did the math on parts and labour it was close enough to the new pump price that I decided to retire it.

Postby pugboy » December 12th, 2021, 8:02 pm

yeah it usually not worth fixing pentax
goulds more worthwhile to fix

axe

Postby axe » December 12th, 2021, 8:09 pm

Please plug all these equipment in gfci.
Once within 6 feet of water you must use gfci
Vexxdog you could have died.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 12th, 2021, 9:29 pm

axe wrote:Please plug all these equipment in gfci.

Good advice. Will get that sorted. Thnx buddy

Postby Kenjo » December 12th, 2021, 10:11 pm

axe wrote:Please plug all these equipment in gfci.

And it’s quite a simple diy switch out actually to gfci outlets

axe

Postby axe » December 13th, 2021, 6:42 pm

True its an easy diy

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2021, 6:53 pm

make sure yuh walk with enuf cash when u go to buy

Bosse

Postby Bosse » January 30th, 2023, 6:52 pm

Fellow DIY tuner plumbers, I am recently having a problem with my 3/4 Pentax smart head water pump where the pump is constantly on (no leaks and steady pressure) when I open a tap, after a couple of minutes the water runs hot and gets back cool after a few seconds.

This happened to me once before last year, I was advised to change the smart head and it did temporarily fixed the problem.

The pump is about 12years old now

Any advice?

Postby maj. tom » January 30th, 2023, 6:56 pm

Change it out for a pressure tank and switch. As far as I have read, automatic pump controllers need maintenance once in a while because sludge builds up on the valves and springs inside which would lead to exactly what you're saying i.e. the microprocessor receiving false feedback and hence operating the pump. It's hot because the pump cools itself with flowing water.

edit: see discussion here: https://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=740649&start=210#p10333921
Last edited by maj. tom on January 30th, 2023, 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » January 30th, 2023, 7:02 pm

Bosse wrote:Fellow DIY tuner plumbers, I am recently having a problem with my 3/4 Pentax smart head water pump where the pump is constantly on (no leaks and steady pressure) when I open a tap, after a couple of minutes the water runs hot and gets back cool after a few seconds.

This happened to me once before last year, I was advised to change the smart head and it did temporarily fixed the problem.

The pump is about 12years old now

Any advice?
Sometimes I have that issue and I bleed the air out of my water lines.In my case,a shower is the highest water outlet,so I let it run until I see some spluttering.This usually sorts my issue out.Yours could be different,but its always worth a try

Bosse

Postby Bosse » January 30th, 2023, 7:22 pm

Thanks for the assistance so far.

I did notice rusting on the outside of the impeller housing (if that’s the correct name for it)

As I changed the smart head already, I am thinking of replacing the impeller and the housing to see if that will work, don’t know if it will make sense or just buy a whole new pump.

Postby Chimera » January 30th, 2023, 7:35 pm

Smart head is sheit.

Try a pressure tank and a switch.

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » March 11th, 2023, 2:33 pm

What's the verdict with those Total Smart Head water pumps? Any decent reviews for a 2 bedroom 1 bath flat house? No intention to power wash or put additional load on the pump.

Postby Dave » March 11th, 2023, 3:28 pm

Leo's are hard to beat if that's the purpose.
Not many reviews on the total units.

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2023, 4:59 pm

those pumps are peripheral type design
so move less water as you can see from the tiny impeller in them so don’t expect goulds or pentax performance

many persons are using the leo bigger one
the small ones aren’t designed for plenty use

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2023, 11:07 pm

pugboy wrote:those pumps are peripheral type design
so move less water as you can see from the tiny impeller in them so don’t expect goulds or pentax performance

many persons are using the leo bigger one
the small ones aren’t designed for plenty use

Fraid total stuff tbh.
Leo is noisy as hell.
Pentax is good value for money, but Goulds is the top of th heap for sure.

Postby Chimera » March 12th, 2023, 5:35 am

Goulds is 2 or 3 times the price of the others though

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » March 12th, 2023, 8:18 am

Thanks for all the replies. I'll spend the extra on a Pentax :mrgreen:

matix

Postby matix » March 12th, 2023, 8:59 am

dtopshottas wrote:Thanks for all the replies. I'll spend the extra on a Pentax :mrgreen:

Spend the extra for a Goulds.

Postby maj. tom » March 12th, 2023, 9:55 am

The Pentax not that expensive for an investment like a pump. Some places have the 3/4hp for $1900, either the automatic controller or pressure switch with tank already set up. You would just need to buy some one-way valves and pvc joints.

A 1 bathroom flat house I would go with 1/2 hp which is $1800.