The OFFICIAL Ubuntu Phone Thread

X-Axis

The OFFICIAL Ubuntu Phone Thread

Postby X-Axis » January 8th, 2013, 2:59 pm

What allyuh think? I personally don't like it. At the moment. Maybe it'll get better. But to take a significant market share from Android and iOs....hmm

Looks like its running on a galaxy nexus now. Debuted at CES 2013.

Re: The OFFICIAL Ubuntu Phone Thread

Postby nemisis » January 8th, 2013, 3:02 pm

Phone is nice, why don't you like it hmm??

Postby r3iXmann » January 8th, 2013, 3:05 pm

aint nobody got time fo dat.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 8th, 2013, 3:06 pm

android is based off linux kernel, just as this im sure. since android already works perfectly with backtrack 5/ ubuntu running smoothly on my droid 4, i see no real interest here. :D

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » January 8th, 2013, 3:10 pm

^^^ correct...

Postby TRAE » January 8th, 2013, 9:39 pm

ubuntu has a lil way to go though, and android has the virus issues to conquer first

Postby pioneer » January 8th, 2013, 10:58 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 9th, 2013, 12:00 am

no AppStore or Google Play no care

Postby Greypatch » January 9th, 2013, 9:53 am

dem mow trying to creep..

let a few guava season pass

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 9th, 2013, 1:32 pm

if i remember correctly though, android apps run on java virtual machine.

with this os, these apps should run natively on ubuntu - meaning they have direct access to the kernel. they should in effect run a lot faster than android apps.

Ever wonder why when you compare an iphone with similar or even lesser specs with an android phone and you compare how fast the same apps run on the decives the iphone always seems to have a slight advantage with respect to load times?

Postby r3iXmann » January 10th, 2013, 8:45 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:the iphone always seems to have a slight advantage with respect to load times?

that's not true...did some comparisons using a 4s, s2 and s3...the 4s took longer to load all of the tested apps..have the video somewhere

also the android jvm is a modified version of jvm

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » February 19th, 2013, 3:14 pm

Looking good.

Postby ismithx » February 19th, 2013, 7:37 pm

drops for the nexus 4 on thursday :D i wanna port some of the features to my SGY

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » February 19th, 2013, 9:38 pm

it have potential just like meego....hopes it dont suffer the same fate as meego tho

Postby ismithx » February 19th, 2013, 9:44 pm

it have much more potential because of the strong modding community who will be able to port it to android devices

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 21st, 2013, 1:37 am

shaneelal wrote:Looking good.

hmm it really is down to the app market with this. but from this demo it really seems like that wont be a problem. that's some powerful multitasking i have to say tops android right now. creating it dockable into a tablet or maybe later on a lapdock really makes it convenient. have never been a major fan of ubuntu but this really does look interesting.

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » February 21st, 2013, 4:25 pm

turbotusty wrote:android is based off linux kernel, just as this im sure. since android already works perfectly with backtrack 5/ ubuntu running smoothly on my droid 4, i see no real interest here. :D

as someone previously said, this runs natively on your hardware, bypassing the Java Virtual Machine used by Android. Not only will this make things run a whole lot faster, you can run any Linux desktop app on your device.

Steam has just released a version of it's client for Linux. Imagine playing full desktop games on your mobile device.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » February 21st, 2013, 6:39 pm

Logic42 wrote:
turbotusty wrote:android is based off linux kernel, just as this im sure. since android already works perfectly with backtrack 5/ ubuntu running smoothly on my droid 4, i see no real interest here. :D

as someone previously said, this runs natively on your hardware, bypassing the Java Virtual Machine used by Android. Not only will this make things run a whole lot faster, you can run any Linux desktop app on your device.

Steam has just released a version of it's client for Linux. Imagine playing full desktop games on your mobile device.

Dalvik is the process virtual machine (VM) in Google's Android operating system

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dalvik_%28software%29

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » July 26th, 2013, 8:25 pm

Ubuntu Edge

Impressive specs. (at least 4GB of RAM)
http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/ubuntu-edge