VII

Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby VII » May 29th, 2022, 5:51 pm

2 corals
2 vipers

And we actually have a couple with mild venom and short fangs..harmless to humans..

Ripe Chenette wrote:
bluefete wrote:I ent sure, eh! According to my late uncle -"and so the story goes ..."

Everything Trini
Christine Sahadeo ·

POISONOUS SNAKE BITES MAN WHILE BATHING AT CYRIL BAY

A mapepire also known as zananabushmaster or Lachesis muta bit a man while he was bathing at a secluded waterfall located in cyril bay.

The man said the snake was between some rocks and bit him when he reached for his soap. The man whose house was burnt down had since started bathing at said location.

The man was bit on his left hand, this happened in March and according to the man the snake was eight feet long.

He survived because hikers who were in the area called the ambulance and he was taken to the Sangre Grande hospital where he recieved anti venom. They also cut his hand to pump out the venom.

After five surgeries the man's hand is still swollen an he has no feeling in his index finger. The man is warning hikers to be careful as now is mating season for the mapepire and they will be aggressive.

The pit viper and is one of four main species of venomous snakes to be found in the wild in Trinidad.

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=53 ... 1651410919
Four venemous species? I thought we only had corals, fer de lance and bushmasters.

Postby j.o.e » May 30th, 2022, 12:08 am

Going to hike tomorrow. Hope none of these fellas kill me

Postby maj. tom » May 30th, 2022, 6:23 am

So Sangre Grande hospital is the place for treatment. Don't waste time going anywhere else, they will just send you there with even more delay in antivenin treatment. The vipers have largely cytotoxin venom which starts to dissolve and pre-digest proteins for the snake's meal. That's why his hand is so badly scarred, all that was digested rotten flesh that the doctors had to remove.

Also there is nothing like "suck out the venom." That's not the first aid for a snake bite, that's not how fang envenomation works at all (get acquainted with actual Snake Bite First Aid), and that's a complete myth even though some unscrupulous people sell first aid snake bite kits with the old plunger trick and nonsense.

Postby timelapse » May 30th, 2022, 6:26 am

j.o.e wrote:Going to hike tomorrow. Hope none of these fellas kill me
Manulot?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2022, 6:36 am

maj. tom wrote:So Sangre Grande hospital is the place for treatment. Don't waste time going anywhere else, they will just send you there with even more delay in antivenin treatment. The vipers have largely cytotoxin venom which starts to dissolve and pre-digest proteins for the snake's meal. That's why his hand is so badly scarred, all that was digested rotten flesh that the doctors had to remove.

Also there is nothing like "suck out the venom." That's not the first aid for a snake bite, that's not how fang envenomation works at all (get acquainted with actual Snake Bite First Aid), and that's a complete myth even though some unscrupulous people sell first aid snake bite kits with the old plunger trick and nonsense.

I've been asking this for years!!! Why only Grande hospital have antivenom?????? They figure all the venomous snakes live in close proximity to the hospital?

Postby RedVEVO » May 30th, 2022, 7:06 am

j.o.e wrote:Going to hike tomorrow. Hope none of these fellas kill me

Common law wife Baati was vex, so told him to go take a hike :D

And fly his own kite .

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2022, 12:37 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
I've been asking this for years!!! Why only Grande hospital have antivenom?????? They figure all the venomous snakes live in close proximity to the hospital?

Not you alone nah. They should keep at POSGH also. Because it have mappepire on the hills in Diego and Petit Valley, even in Maraval.

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2022, 12:40 pm

maraval all by boissiere have mapapire
even small coral in built up parts of diego

Postby bluefete » May 30th, 2022, 1:45 pm

Copper head - Atlanta USA

Found in an apartment complex. Plentiful in the woods around the property.

Postby maj. tom » June 23rd, 2022, 3:17 pm

Florida nabs largest python ever found in state

More details and pics on Nat Geo including the male scout snake used to smell track that wild snek snu-snu in the deep Florida bush. https://www.nationalgeographic.com/magazine/article/largest-burmese-python-ever-found-in-florida

Her last meal was an entire white-tailed deer, and she was on her way to a rendezvous with a male snake when the largest python ever found in Florida met her demise.

Weighing in at 215lbs (98kg) and nearly 18ft long (5 meters), the female Burmese python was caught after researchers used a male "scout" to find her.

She wrestled with biologists for 20 minutes before she was "subdued", they said Wednesday.
She was also discovered to have been pregnant with an astonishing 122 eggs.

Postby pugboy » June 23rd, 2022, 3:54 pm

very novel way to use one snake to find others

this is the same way we should be letting criminals go home on bail with a gps bracelet

Postby 88sins » June 25th, 2022, 7:53 pm

pugboy wrote:very novel way to use one snake to find others

this is the same way we should be letting criminals go home on bail with a gps bracelet

There's a very specific large group of people working for the state, many of them would support that, and just as many would have some major issues with it.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2022, 1:29 pm

Coryal Arena-mapepire nesting site

“Because this forest borders the Caroni Arena Dam, we meet the biggest animals in this part of Trinidad. Snakes, iguanas, mattes, you name it, it is bigger here than anywhere else. The Coryal part of the Arena Forest is the nest of the mapepire.”

https://trinidadexpress.com/features/lo ... cvXApbym5g

Postby maj. tom » September 8th, 2022, 1:36 pm

i wudda dead of fright and then of bite if i ever encounter that.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2022, 5:12 pm

maj. tom wrote:i wudda dead of fright and then of bite if i ever encounter that.

x2. The guy in the article deserves a medal.

platinumedition

Postby platinumedition » September 12th, 2022, 10:37 pm

Rooki3 wrote:x
IMG_0611.jpg
what kind of snake is this?. Saw it running onto my front gate

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2022, 6:13 am

Cat eyed rat snake....looks that way

Postby 88sins » September 13th, 2022, 5:02 pm

I thought so too eh nerve, but when i watch close i find the eyes and pattern looks different from the cat-eyed snake

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2022, 7:27 pm

Did I reply and have no memory?

Sleep deprivation is a hell of a thing.

It's not a cat eyed boa. Has a kinda checkered pattern. Like a cat eyed in being viewed on a nokia 1100.

Someone caught one recently and we I'd etified it, can't remember the name off the top of my head

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 13th, 2022, 7:38 pm

snake play this morning in playwhe

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2022, 7:47 pm

daring dragoon wrote:snake play this morning in playwhe
Them does play when they feel to play. All the snakes I met as of recent never play. Inclusive of the one that try to drop some bite on me.

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2022, 8:40 pm

Sibon nebulata, slug eating snake.

https://herpetologytt.blogspot.com/2016 ... y.html?m=1

Or

Trinidad snail eating snake.

Dipsas trinitatis.

In these times where we being terrorized by snails you guys killing snail eating snakes?

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/02/20/the-tr ... ts-snails/

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » September 26th, 2022, 1:29 pm

Anyone know what kinda snake this is?
IMG-20220926-WA0038.jpg

Postby timelapse » September 26th, 2022, 1:34 pm

Boa constrictor

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2022, 5:53 pm

A dead macajuel

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2022, 6:34 pm

red tailed one, very docile

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2022, 6:47 pm

pugboy wrote:red tailed one, very docile

More is the pity.
Brace for increasing rat population

matix

Postby matix » September 26th, 2022, 9:54 pm

ST Auto wrote:Anyone know what kinda snake this is?

Such a well mannered snake, why kill it?

Postby bluefete » September 26th, 2022, 10:59 pm

Catmin's Anticapitalist Treehouse of Solidarity

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=37 ... 9591089699

android79

Postby android79 » September 27th, 2022, 6:13 am

bluefete wrote:Image

Catmin's Anticapitalist Treehouse of Solidarity

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=37 ... 9591089699
"Kill all because I dont know what type it is". When you flip it you see how stupid that argument sound.