Music Producers or anyone with music marketing knowledge!

Energy0091

Music Producers or anyone with music marketing knowledge!

Postby Energy0091 » December 16th, 2012, 4:11 pm

So after you producers have finished editing and mastering a recording, what methods
do you use to get your productions to the masses?
Anyone who has an idea can give a reply too.

My bad, so here's a sample of one of my hip hop tracks.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=
Last edited by Energy0091 on December 20th, 2012, 2:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Music Producers or anyone with music marketing knowledge

Postby Rooki3 » December 16th, 2012, 4:36 pm

flush it

Postby shogun » December 16th, 2012, 7:41 pm

Depends on the genre. It's not a one size fits all.

Calypso: Live performance is really the bread and butter. Try the tents and calypso-friendly radio stations, (if they're any left.)

Soca: Shop to the stations, (pass $) and hope for the best.

Rock/non local: (like me) ...suck salt. :?

Postby skylinechild » December 16th, 2012, 7:47 pm

create a channel on youtube...post link here....go to radio stations...try it...who knows

Postby shogun » December 16th, 2012, 7:58 pm

^
F'real.

Postby Rooki3 » December 16th, 2012, 8:10 pm

yup, dais how justin beiber, soulja boi etc made it

Postby skylinechild » December 16th, 2012, 8:19 pm

btw what genre of music is it??
the kind of garbage the blind masses listen to is astounding.....singing about digging out somebody pum pum...or who went to cut the grass for the neighbor to pass....or better the hero of all the coconut oil laden Raj-es with drop low cars an big crims in penal...Ravi B....

Postby shogun » December 16th, 2012, 8:23 pm

lol.

Yeah the "music" of the masses, world wide is on life support, right now. It's not just here.

Energy0091

Postby Energy0091 » December 16th, 2012, 8:37 pm

It's mainly dancehall and hip hop. Also dancehall/pop crossovers.
I didn't really study that different genres have different ways of being effective when being marketed.
Makes sense.

Postby Rooki3 » December 16th, 2012, 8:48 pm

spam ppl's fb

Energy0091

Postby Energy0091 » December 16th, 2012, 8:51 pm

Rooki3 wrote:spam ppl's fb

That's one method I believe gets you blocked over heard. Lol

Postby rfari » December 16th, 2012, 8:52 pm

Do.a music vid and have pretty, half nekkid birds in it

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 16th, 2012, 9:23 pm

rfari wrote:Do.a music vid and have pretty, half nekkid birds in it

Then post it on 3NE2NR.

Postby rfari » December 16th, 2012, 9:29 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
rfari wrote:Do.a music vid and have pretty, half nekkid birds in it

Then post it on 3NE2NR.

Correct!

Postby Hook » December 16th, 2012, 9:40 pm

:lol: do the usual - youtube channel, soundcloud, itunes, reverbnation...create a buzz, do some small but impressive shows....get a media package together and approach the press, features writers, men's magazines, Scorch etc.

live shows are where it's at, get a good production together and play the clubs and lounges...get some big acts on the bill as well, see if u could open for Chromatics, Nebula etc.

but your timing couldn't be worse though... 'tis soca season since carnival is the 2nd week of Feb...that's less than 2mths away...the non-soca shows are gonna be few and far between.

I suggest you use the time to plan and hit them hard from the first week after carnival when all the "warm-down" and "cool-off" shows are over

Postby maj. tom » December 16th, 2012, 9:51 pm

call up the pack juice/ maxi team for advice.

Energy0091

Postby Energy0091 » December 17th, 2012, 1:17 am

Hook wrote::lol: do the usual - youtube channel, soundcloud, itunes, reverbnation...create a buzz, do some small but impressive shows....get a media package together and approach the press, features writers, men's magazines, Scorch etc.

live shows are where it's at, get a good production together and play the clubs and lounges...get some big acts on the bill as well, see if u could open for Chromatics, Nebula etc.

but your timing couldn't be worse though... 'tis soca season since carnival is the 2nd week of Feb...that's less than 2mths away...the non-soca shows are gonna be few and far between.

I suggest you use the time to plan and hit them hard from the first week after carnival when all the "warm-down" and "cool-off" shows are over

That's some hard hitting tips there man. The end of carnival is the initial aim. I'm not a performer/artiste though. I'm a dj/producer.

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 17th, 2012, 11:17 pm

well first thing i'd do is scrap teh project then follow these steps:

1. find a real old bollywood tune (black and white movie bizness)
2. scout a pop dance tune (lmfao, pitbull, nicki minaj etc.) that is popular
3. sing it over using chorus from pop tune and lyrics from bollywood tune. Make sure you listen to it over and over to make sure it sounds like complete sh!t. this step is very important.
4. pass it on to any indian radio station.
5. instant hit!

Postby Hook » December 17th, 2012, 11:50 pm

^^^ can't go wrong with that :lol:

Postby gt4tified » December 18th, 2012, 12:01 am

if its a soca chune, call Machel, pass money and yuh een de game.

if its a chutney/bollylumber chune, call RaviB, pass some puncheon, make a pass @ Nisha and yuh een de game.

if its a pop/rock chune, call Orange Sky, buy some W33d and yuh een de game.

Postby skylinechild » December 18th, 2012, 10:14 am

Energy0091 wrote:It's mainly dancehall and hip hop. Also dancehall/pop crossovers.
I didn't really study that different genres have different ways of being effective when being marketed.
Makes sense.

does your song contain sexual lyrical content about someones "pum pum" or involve "digging" or "doing it"....does it contain only the word "GOLD" in it being sung over and over...???

does it contain the words "alcohol" "rum" "puncheon" "more fyah" "2 ploi" or even "bodow"....

if your song doesnt contain any of these elements the blind masses wont follow and you will be a failure...... on a real though your song is it for style or substance....???

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 18th, 2012, 1:58 pm

If it's rock, Lockdown is a good concert to try to play at

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 19th, 2012, 1:32 pm

so op yuh make de chatanee yet boi?

Postby Les Bain » December 19th, 2012, 1:43 pm

Post a lil sumting for we to know yuh skills nah OP.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » December 19th, 2012, 11:39 pm

offer up yuh services free for the first time do a few free shows...and by show i mean like 30 mins

Postby shogun » December 19th, 2012, 11:52 pm

Les Bain wrote:Post a lil sumting for we to know yuh skills nah OP.

Energy0091

Postby Energy0091 » December 20th, 2012, 2:26 am

Les Bain wrote:Post a lil sumting for we to know yuh skills nah OP.

It's up.

Postby Hook » December 20th, 2012, 3:07 am

Rhythm not bad. I wasn't expecting an instrumental tho. Are you working with any artistes/vocalists?
If not, I can put u on to a buddy of mine who goes by the name "Breezy". He's young and really new to the game, but he might be more up your alley than most.
He does the whole party music/cruising vibe, but Trini style. He has some tracks he's been working on in FL9.
PM me ur contact info if you're willing to try it out.

Energy0091

Postby Energy0091 » December 20th, 2012, 3:29 am

Hook wrote:Rhythm not bad. I wasn't expecting an instrumental tho. Are you working with any artistes/vocalists?
If not, I can put u on to a buddy of mine who goes by the name "Breezy". He's young and really new to the game, but he might be more up your alley than most.
He does the whole party music/cruising vibe, but Trini style. He has some tracks he's been working on in FL9.
PM me ur contact info if you're willing to try it out.

I'm not working with any artiste/vocalist right now. I'm at that stage now though where, I'll be looking for artistes and ideas to work on the beats I put out. I want to catch that open time right after carnival. So yeah I'm up for meeting new talent:
mustbeentertainment@gmail.com
dj_slide@live.com

Postby gt4tified » December 21st, 2012, 12:19 am

Energy0091 wrote:So after you producers have finished editing and mastering a recording, what methods
do you use to get your productions to the masses?
Anyone who has an idea can give a reply too.

My bad, so here's a sample of one of my hip hop tracks.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

I like it....simple and clean. PM sent.