Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2022, 12:35 pm

I use it often in breads for customers so I've been making it myself for sometime now, same with dukka seasoning

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2022, 3:11 pm

been working on making panettone 2 years now, the everest of baking they say
very challenging, 2-3 days process with natural leavening, no instant yeast

watch the black mark to see where dough started at compared to the amount of rise

IMG-5937.JPG

IMG-5938.JPG

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2022, 4:24 pm

Oh that's nice, wrapped and decorated they would be popular at Christmas time

Postby goalpost » August 22nd, 2022, 5:21 pm

Anybody know where, if any, sells picanha meat. Would like to try and grill that.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 22nd, 2022, 5:34 pm

goalpost wrote:Anybody know where, if any, sells picanha meat. Would like to try and grill that.

Probably Bloom's or Apang's. The traditional Brazilian way is salt, pepper and maybe garlic. May have to ask for it as sirloin cap or rump cap. Remember to tell them to leave the fat cap intact. Most butchers outside of Brazil just cut off nearly the entire thing.

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2022, 5:36 pm

blooms always has, nice flavor used to be cheap

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » August 26th, 2022, 12:17 pm

Does anyone in here brew kombucha? Looking for a SCOBY or if anyone is willing to sell me some starter culture that’ll be great.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2022, 12:27 pm

pugboy wrote:been working on making panettone 2 years now, the everest of baking they say
very challenging, 2-3 days process with natural leavening, no instant yeast

watch the black mark to see where dough started at compared to the amount of rise

IMG-5937.JPG

IMG-5938.JPG

Wow nice

Postby *KRONIK* » August 26th, 2022, 2:48 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
goalpost wrote:Anybody know where, if any, sells picanha meat. Would like to try and grill that.

Probably Bloom's or Apang's. The traditional Brazilian way is salt, pepper and maybe garlic. May have to ask for it as sirloin cap or rump cap. Remember to tell them to leave the fat cap intact. Most butchers outside of Brazil just cut off nearly the entire thing.

Lol
Waw, if misinformation was a post

@goalpost
Blooms usually has, or s. Khan in charlieville
Its alternatively called a coulotte
Traditional way is salt only
All picanhas come with their fat cap and must have 3 major veins to be considered a picanha. If not, its an offcut of the sirloin.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2022, 3:26 pm

coarse salt
not cheap metallic tasting fine salt
and well medium rare or medium at
most

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2022, 3:28 pm

:D yeah pricesmart sells truck loads of the boxed brazilian ones
too bad ppl who buying them don’t know better

eliteauto wrote:Oh that's nice, wrapped and decorated they would be popular at Christmas time

Postby eliteauto » August 27th, 2022, 9:47 am

pugboy wrote::D yeah pricesmart sells truck loads of the boxed brazilian ones

eliteauto wrote:Oh that's nice, wrapped and decorated they would be popular at Christmas time

Walked in to Pricesmart last night and there they were :lol: $79.95
Studio_Project.jpeg

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2022, 10:16 am

strange, they normally only have around xmas

real artisan panettone go for a lot of money

https://instagram.com/thisisfromroy?igshid=ZDYzZTNjNWY=

eliteauto wrote:
pugboy wrote::D yeah pricesmart sells truck loads of the boxed brazilian ones

Walked in to Pricesmart last night and there they were :lol: $79.95

Postby maj. tom » September 28th, 2022, 9:38 pm

I see Chief rel expanding their line of spices. Found a Gyro spice mix in the grocery, gonna dry rub some mutton shoulder chops and grill them this weekend on an iron girdle. Wondering if it will match regular gyro cart taste.

Postby gastly369 » September 28th, 2022, 10:48 pm

maj. tom wrote:I see Chief rel expanding their line of spices. Found a Gyro spice mix in the grocery, gonna dry rub some mutton shoulder chops and grill them this weekend on an iron girdle. Wondering if it will match regular gyro cart taste.
To match add mucho MSG

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2022, 7:52 am

gastly369 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:I see Chief rel expanding their line of spices. Found a Gyro spice mix in the grocery, gonna dry rub some mutton shoulder chops and grill them this weekend on an iron girdle. Wondering if it will match regular gyro cart taste.
To match add mucho MSG
Was now going to say don't use salt with it ,as I find it too salty.But to each his own.
The gyro mix better suited for fried chicken imo

Postby pugboy » September 29th, 2022, 8:24 am

real gyros use a lot of rosemary and garlic

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2022, 9:14 am

pugboy wrote:real gyros use a lot of rosemary and garlic
And dill

solarkh

Postby solarkh » September 29th, 2022, 10:55 am

timelapse wrote:
And dill

Mostly Marjoram

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2022, 11:13 am

solarkh wrote:
timelapse wrote:
And dill

Mostly Marjoram
Some people prefer the dill tho..

Postby Rovin » September 29th, 2022, 11:39 am

past 2-3 yrs chief really making all kinda herbs, spices & essences for all kinda dishes

what about TURBAN BRAND products i dont see it here in chaguanas price club, xtra foods or hilo - i guessing they still around & being sold in other stores or locations ?

CHATAK is a good brand too ...

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2022, 11:46 am

Rovin wrote:past 2-3 yrs chief really making all kinda herbs, spices & essences for all kinda dishes

what about TURBAN BRAND products i dont see it here in chaguanas price club, xtra foods or hilo - i guessing they still around & being sold in other stores or locations ?

CHATAK is a good brand too ...
If yuh like curry Rovin, try Indi Garam Masala.It packs a punch

Postby Rovin » September 29th, 2022, 11:52 am

bai ise ah cooolie i must like curry :lol:

chief tandoori curry different & good too ...

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2022, 1:27 pm

Rovin wrote:bai ise ah cooolie i must like curry

chief tandoori curry different & good too ...
In that case,if you trying the indi, don't chinks on it.Throw more of it in the pot when your food halfway done

Postby Rovin » September 29th, 2022, 2:00 pm

not me nah i doh season\marinade with curry & then throw raw curry during cooking , dise level raw curry taste & shittins

me eh bisnis with who do it so but i never do it like that, guestimate ur curry sufficiently & always patch it\chunkay properly b4 adding meat\veggies ...

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2022, 8:16 pm

Rovin wrote:not me nah i doh season\marinade with curry & then throw raw curry during cooking , dise level raw curry taste & shittins

me eh bisnis with who do it so but i never do it like that, guestimate ur curry sufficiently & always patch it\chunkay properly b4 adding meat\veggies ...
Nah not like that.The garam masala kinda different from regular curry

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 29th, 2022, 8:20 pm

Fellas I need a method for making Bhaji, Dasheen Bush and Patchoi. Tell me how allya does typically cook it.

Postby Gladiator » September 29th, 2022, 9:19 pm

DMan7 wrote:Fellas I need a method for making Bhaji, Dasheen Bush and Patchoi. Tell me how allya does typically cook it.

Heat 2 TBSP coconut oil
Put about 10 grains of matee until brown
Sautee in the Onion Garlic Pepper
When aromatic add your cut up bhagee
add salt
Add a little water to cook down the leaves (not needed for patchoi)
For dasheen add ochro and coconut if desired, for Patchoi add Tomato wedges, for Bhagi add coconut milk and some ochro
Add a little water if needed and cook down (not needed for patchoi)
Sprinkle some fine chop bandania

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 29th, 2022, 9:31 pm

Gladiator wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Fellas I need a method for making Bhaji, Dasheen Bush and Patchoi. Tell me how allya does typically cook it.

Heat 2 TBSP coconut oil
Put about 10 grains of matee until brown
Sautee in the Onion Garlic Pepper
When aromatic add your cut up bhagee
add salt
Add a little water to cook down the leaves (not needed for patchoi)
For dasheen add ochro and coconut if desired, for Patchoi add Tomato wedges, for Bhagi add coconut milk and some ochro
Add a little water if needed and cook down (not needed for patchoi)
Sprinkle some fine chop bandania

Hmm interesting would like to hear how others in here make theirs.

Postby maj. tom » September 29th, 2022, 10:12 pm

those big bottles of PAPRIKA in Pricesmart.

I bought one a while back, expiring in 2023. Today i shake the bottle and saw it clump up, i thought it was mold. Under the microscope...... it was bugs. All hatched eggs and crawling and feasting and clumping. WTF!!!

Well this is something normal apparently! Store your red pepper powders in the fridge. Don't take it for granted that because it's a dry product they won't be spoiled. Also, the peppers are likely contaminated at the factory source. It just takes one egg.

https://www.cookist.com/why-you-should-check-your-paprika-before-using-it/

Jody M. Green, an entomologist at the Nebraska Extension in Lancaster County, told the site, "The pepper family appears to contain the nutritional requirements necessary for multiple generations of stored product beetles to successfully sustain life."

That's not the say you won't find insects in other spices, including turmeric, coriander, cumin, fennel, and dry ginger, but they're "particularly fond of products derived from dried sweet peppers/chiles/red pepper products like red pepper flakes, paprika, chili powder, and cayenne," Green said.