Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2020, 1:41 pm

The farmed stuff is treated with phosphates....

SMc wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Screenshot 2020-06-12 at 11.30.45 AM.jpg

That looking like freshwater stuff-if it from SE Asia it not the tastiest thing in that range.

Postby Rovin » June 12th, 2020, 2:04 pm

bwda

wey u getting dem mutant size strims boi , near by some radioactive site orrr ...

Postby gastly369 » June 13th, 2020, 11:44 pm

Ah lil flat plate seared tenderloin
IMG_20200610_220515-01.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » June 13th, 2020, 11:53 pm

gastly369 wrote:Ah lil flat plate seared tenderloin IMG_20200610_220515-01.jpeg

You coulda give we ah cross section cut pic too man! WTF wrong with you? :lol:

brickman

Postby brickman » August 26th, 2020, 2:36 am

Is there anywhere in the p.o.s area that you can get basmati rice?Massy e.g

Postby meccalli » August 26th, 2020, 8:00 am

brickman wrote:Is there anywhere in the p.o.s area that you can get basmati rice?Massy e.g

Pricesmart, 20lb bags of it.

Postby Chimera » August 26th, 2020, 10:04 am

Almost groceries sell basmati rice these days

Postby Rovin » August 26th, 2020, 11:15 am

this thread used to have so much win in it then it suddenly died out ....

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 26th, 2020, 12:21 pm

Made guava cheese weekend.
Lashing hard.
No pics tho.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 26th, 2020, 12:21 pm

meccalli wrote:
brickman wrote:Is there anywhere in the p.o.s area that you can get basmati rice?Massy e.g

white basmati?
There's a shorter grain brown basmati that tastes better. The long grain white doh really appeal to me

solarkh

Postby solarkh » August 26th, 2020, 12:29 pm

Adjustments.JPG

Zabooca Toast

solarkh

Postby solarkh » August 26th, 2020, 12:29 pm

Adjustments.JPG

Postby meccalli » August 26th, 2020, 2:16 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
meccalli wrote:

white basmati?
There's a shorter grain brown basmati that tastes better. The long grain white doh really appeal to me

Not quite sure, but I glanced it on saturday when I went to pick up some brown rice.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 6:55 pm

duck roast tomorrow

and cripsy fry duck skin in duck fat
3525C25A-B77B-418D-9755-35369E988469.jpeg
FA529B20-083B-45C9-BA74-A2792EEFD82E.jpeg

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 7:46 pm

salt and chives

bess cripsy

DD318B44-6C7C-4EC7-A935-80F1F6E63322.jpeg

Postby K74T » August 29th, 2020, 7:48 pm

Nice

hindian

Postby hindian » August 31st, 2020, 9:39 am

Guys anyone has the recipe for casareep? Or where can I get it to buy? Wanna try a pepperpot

Postby Chimera » August 31st, 2020, 9:42 am

I saw cassareep selling in price club a few days ago. In the lane with the spices

Postby pugboy » August 31st, 2020, 9:53 am

imported from guyana ?

the good ones are made with spice in them already, have nice taste with cinnamon

the plain ones taste like molasses

Phone Surgeon wrote:I saw cassareep selling in price club a few days ago. In the lane with the spices

Postby maj. tom » August 31st, 2020, 10:20 am

hindian wrote:Guys anyone has the recipe for casareep? Or where can I get it to buy? Wanna try a pepperpot

Definitely buy it if you can, with a label saying "Made in Guyana." The entire process seems more complicated that just "boiling down cassava juice with spices." There is a lot of cultural knowledge in making this product, plus i don't know if we have the right type of cassava here. In the Amazon they use the bitter cassava to make it.

There is a wide range of cassava varieties. Individual varieties can be recognised by the leaf and root form, the duration of vegetation, the yield and the content of hydrogen cyanide. The latter constitutes the difference between the sweet and the bitter cassava.
http://www.nzdl.org/gsdlmod?e=d-00000-0 ... 0ac.6&gt=1

Currently, the cassava landraces are classified in two types: ‘sweet’ cassava, also known as ‘aipim’, ‘macaxera’ or table cassava and ‘bitter’ cassava, also known as cassava for industry (McKey et al. 2010). This classification is related to the capacity of cyanide (HCN) release, a highly toxic substance if ingested. Sweet cassava contains less than 100 mg kg-1 of cyanogenic compounds per fresh root, while ‘bitter’ cassava contains more than 100 mg cyanogenic compounds (McKey et al. 2010).
https://www.scielo.br/scielo.php?script ... al.%202010).

Three species of cassava, bitter (Manihot utilissima), sweet (Manihot dulcis) and wild (Manihot glaziovii).
https://www.researchgate.net/figure/Sam ... _277931651

Making Cassareep in Guyana Video

Postby Rovin » October 23rd, 2020, 10:57 pm

1st time seeing this , not exactly cooking it at home, anybody tried it as yet ?

i guess concerns here wud be if d texture wud remain after freezing even if is a flash freezing process , if it will have a plastic taste & cancer concern even if is "FDA approved" packaging ....

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 11th, 2020, 9:19 pm

Not a cooking question really, but anyone ever see yogurt cultures being sold locally? The dried type, like yeast packets...

Postby Rovin » December 24th, 2020, 10:53 pm

anybody else cooking this hr d night like me ?

ah making some oil down all now , almost done , dise my xmas meal tomorrow - lil something different

have a smoke turkey to bake tomorrow night ....

Postby pugboy » December 24th, 2020, 10:55 pm

did a boneless ham and turkey breastbwith bone

don’t really like them boneless glued ham tbh

Postby 88sins » December 25th, 2020, 2:43 pm

Rovin wrote:anybody else cooking this hr d night like me ?

ah making some oil down all now , almost done , dise my xmas meal tomorrow - lil something different

Bake d turkey and bread, sponge and black cake last night, finished about 2:30 this morning, went and sleep, wa
Wifey and gf busy in the kitchen as I post this.
Wifey making lasagna, baked chicken, and provision.
Gf making rice for today, seasoning lamb chops and pork chops for the smoker(dem ting cooking tomorrow), paime, and some kinda concoction that I done tell she already me eh eating cuz me eh like how it looking.
Salads, chow, desserts and wild meats cutters making tomorrow for the clan.

If wasn't for the food, jed I woulda say skip December and done oui :lol:

Postby De Dragon » December 25th, 2020, 4:00 pm

Rovin wrote:anybody else cooking this hr d night like me ?

Bake d turkey and bread, sponge and black cake last night, finished about 2:30 this morning, went and sleep, wa
Wifey and gf busy in the kitchen as I post this.
Wifey making lasagna, baked chicken, and provision.
Gf making rice for today, seasoning lamb chops and pork chops for the smoker(dem ting cooking tomorrow), paime, and some kinda concoction that I done tell she already me eh eating cuz me eh like how it looking.
Salads, chow, desserts and wild meats cutters making tomorrow for the clan.

If wasn't for the food, jed I woulda say skip December and done oui :lol:

In before Max Retard.
Send some ah dem ting nah?

Postby 88sins » December 26th, 2020, 9:49 am

De Dragon wrote: :lol: :lol:
In before Max Retard.
Send some ah dem ting nah?

boi, d side I expecting here today, I damn near 200% sure by the time they gone I go hadda make grocery & cook again tomorrow. is most of my family, half d wife own, and a few of the gf close gfs. expecting about 60-70 ppl

the boys in d village say they wanted to do a lil wild meat cook tonight too, and where they liming is guess where? right in front meh house :lol: So I end up giving them some meat, about 6 guana, 1 gouti, & couple roast rabbit to make up (cuz so far me eh even get to look in the direction of d bush yet for the season, everything caught right around the house). I hear a man say he go give 3 yardie & 2 duck too so that on the menu as well, & I expecting a half a capybara to come by me today so they might get some of that too. they makin dumplin & provision for the sides.

dem done say already, all who coming done know, if yuh plan to stay & eat & lime, bring a bottle or a case, otherwise yuh go stay and lime & watch ppl eat and drink :lol:

Postby pugboy » December 26th, 2020, 10:07 am

yuh better have a chopping station setup with that meat you expecting esp the capy

Postby Chimera » December 26th, 2020, 10:25 am

88sins wrote:expecting about 60-70 ppl

sins like yuh get from the first batch of corona virus vaccines

Postby Chimera » January 10th, 2021, 2:23 pm

Where can I get some nice high quality cutting boards?
Wood and flexible plastic.

Might as well order from Amazon?

Screenshot_20210110-142614_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg
Screenshot_20210110-142440_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg