Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 10th, 2021, 2:48 pm

Got a nice 3pc bamboo set from bhagwansingh

Pricesmart does have the plastic ones occassionally

Postby Dizzy28 » January 10th, 2021, 4:16 pm

Excellence Stores usually have some nice Boards...both plastic and wooden.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 10th, 2021, 5:24 pm

The bamboo boards from excellent stores separated after a year of use. Keep it dry.

Someone here was making killer endgrain boards. Was it pugboy?

Postby Rovin » January 10th, 2021, 6:43 pm

fair & square chaguanas does have a bunch of cooking stuff , u can check them ......

rebound

Postby rebound » January 10th, 2021, 6:51 pm

For meat, I have a slice of mango tree trunk... about 18 inches round.

hindian

Postby hindian » January 11th, 2021, 7:24 pm

Rovin wrote:fair & square chaguanas does have a bunch of cooking stuff , u can check them ......
Correct I bought my bamboo board there a few years ago. I don't use it for meat though I have plastic ones for that. The bamboo board gets washed soon after use and put to dry. Been about 4 years now and still in great condition

Postby shogun » January 12th, 2021, 2:03 am

Air fryer men, please recommend which one would be a good buy. I don't have a clue.

Postby Dave » January 12th, 2021, 9:26 am

My wife bought me one from pricesmart a year ago. Works well. For a family of 4, there are times two batches are required for one dish but no real issue there.
Breeze to use and you can get very creative and inventive with it.

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2021, 9:28 am

i used the regular type with pull out basket like what pricesmart sells for over a year

xmas i got a ninja combo unit with grill function and it is a winner as you can cook a steak and it get heat from top and bottom

Postby eliteauto » January 13th, 2021, 11:58 pm

Any suggestions on where I can get baguette pans to buy?

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2021, 6:07 am

those mainly used by commercial operations, check taits or advance

traditional baguette maker not using pans
they using stone or steel plate in the oven and launching with a wooden peel
if you do a lot of bread, a stone or steel plate will work better at heat retention and initial oven spring.

you do a lot of bread ?
I am trying to born a sourdough starter but ketching my tail at day 10.

eliteauto wrote:Any suggestions on where I can get baguette pans to buy?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 14th, 2021, 7:12 am

Lol

Wifey wanna try it, lemme know how it go

pugboy wrote:I am trying to born a sourdough starter but ketching my tail at day 10.

Postby timelapse » January 14th, 2021, 7:54 am

My father in law built some for my wife out of sheet metal. Easy to make if you have the skill and materials /tools.
I sure it have somebody on tuner that can fabricate it for you

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2021, 8:08 am

I think the pans he talking about look like a corrugated roof sheeting but out of mesh to keep the long tube shape of the baguette

I guess a roofing shop could run a piece of expanded sheet metal mesh through their roll form machine to make it easy.
but it would rust though unless you can get stainless expanded steel.

timelapse wrote:

My father in law built some for my wife out of sheet metal. Easy to make if you have the skill and materials /tools.

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2021, 8:09 am

I using plain flour and water, feeding this thing 10 days now and very little activity except after second day
only a bunch of small bubbles but it is alive with something as after 12 hours it gets a thin consistency

they say the best way is to use rye flour which contains a lot of the natural yeast bacteria

*KRONIK* wrote:Lol

pugboy wrote:I am trying to born a sourdough starter but ketching my tail at day 10.

Postby timelapse » January 14th, 2021, 8:20 am

pugboy wrote:I think the pans he talking about look like a corrugated roof sheeting but out of mesh to keep the long tube shape of the baguette

I guess a roofing shop could run a piece of expanded sheet metal mesh through their roll form machine to make it easy.
but it would rust though unless you can get stainless expanded steel.

timelapse wrote:

I asked him just now.He used a material called tin plate.He had some sheets that he bought by Peake's some years ago.He said that you can also use aluminium or aluzinc sheets but it warps easily.If you using galvanise, which you can get flat by R maye or Island roofing, use 30 or 28 gauge.He's a retired Industrial arts teacher from south .Wealth of knowlege.

Postby eliteauto » January 14th, 2021, 11:09 am

pugboy wrote:those mainly used by commercial operations, check taits or advance

if you do a lot of bread, a stone or steel plate will work better at heat retention and initial oven spring.

you do a lot of bread ?

Yup doing bread weekly ( 9 types of loaves plus different buns, choux pastry, etc) on order Tuesdays and Saturdays, I wanna expand the menu this year to offer some artisanal loaves, not looking at sourdough for customers yet as I have to feel out the market. The pans were some recipes I want to experiment with so I'll just use a homemade cloche cloth rather than buy commercial pans unless I'm certain of the demand. Thanks for the suggestions guys

Postby eliteauto » January 14th, 2021, 11:22 am

pugboy wrote:I using plain flour and water, feeding this thing 10 days now and very little activity except after second day
only a bunch of small bubbles but it is alive with something as after 12 hours it gets a thin consistency

they say the best way is to use rye flour which contains a lot of the natural yeast bacteria

*KRONIK* wrote:Lol

Yuh see that starter life :lol: :cry: Dat is too much high science for me to invest in now, but there are some guys who doing it on the regular locally and will share some starter with others. You can join this group and ask https://www.facebook.com/groups/184840042820692/

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2021, 4:19 pm

yeah working with flour and yeast is a deep rabbit hole
i looking to get a small spiral mixer soon
my electrolux not cutting it anymore

eliteauto wrote:
pugboy wrote:those mainly used by commercial operations, check taits or advance

you do a lot of bread ?

Yup doing bread weekly ( 9 types of loaves plus different buns, choux pastry, etc) on order Tuesdays and Saturdays, I wanna expand the menu this year to offer some artisanal loaves, not looking at sourdough for customers yet as I have to feel out the market. The pans were some recipes I want to experiment with so I'll just use a homemade cloche cloth rather than buy commercial pans unless I'm certain of the demand. Thanks for the suggestions guys

Postby eliteauto » January 14th, 2021, 10:14 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah working with flour and yeast is a deep rabbit hole
i looking to get a small spiral mixer soon
my electrolux not cutting it anymore

Just Monday I got the Bosch Universal Plus, triple the capacity of the Bosch Compact I bought from you. 800W of power but lawd it noisy lol. A small spiral is on the books as well this year, lemme know which model you decide on

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2021, 5:34 am

nice, a bosch is equivalent to the electrolux capacitywise, of course you may have to adjust how you use it compared to what you used before

for example the electrolux only works by filling with the liquids first then adding flour in portions after
dumping everything together at the start always results in a disaster

if your customers like white bread you should try a tangzhong recipe
makes a super texture white bread, check it on youtube

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 15th, 2021, 10:34 am

I looking for some nice high quality vinegars. Where have?
Wine vinegar, balsamic, rice, fruit etc

Got a couple at JTA but they all feel like they've been mixed with distilled white. Cheap bulk stuff maybe.

Postby eliteauto » January 15th, 2021, 10:49 am

Try peppercorns they have a few

Postby timelapse » January 15th, 2021, 11:02 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I looking for some nice high quality vinegars. Where have?
Wine vinegar, balsamic, rice, fruit etc

Got a couple at JTA but they all feel like they've been mixed with distilled white. Cheap bulk stuff maybe.

De health food groceries have some too.I saw some at Grand Bazaar and MT Chaguanas ( in the Health food store )

Postby timelapse » January 15th, 2021, 11:43 am

Looking for Semolina flour to make homemade pasta.Regular flour is too thick

Postby 88sins » January 16th, 2021, 11:23 am

timelapse wrote:Looking for Semolina flour to make homemade pasta.Regular flour is too thick

not that it too thick, you probably kneading it too much. the more you knead flour, no matter the brand or type, the thicker/stiffer it gets.

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2021, 12:38 pm

kneading depends alot on the hydration level, type of kneading and if the dough has had time to relax and let the gluten strands unspring themselves or they bust and turn into a mess like you say

I used to think kneading was just kneading
but when you see how them fellas knead and fold those super wet doughs and turn a shaggy mess into a plump tight pillow like ball it is amazing to see.

the ultimate is to make panettone, it is super kneaded to be able to rise 5 times the size and the pros use a fork mixer instead of spiral planetary type, they call panettone the mount everest of baking

timelapse wrote:Looking for Semolina flour to make homemade pasta.Regular flour is too thick

not that it too thick, you probably kneading it too much. the more you knead flour, no matter the brand or type, the thicker/stiffer it gets.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 16th, 2021, 1:30 pm

I usually try them pretty flour you see in groceries. Red Mill rye will set sourdough starter up by day 3 from experience.

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2021, 1:37 pm

Yeah heard rye is the best way to start but nowhere seems to have it anymore.

viedcht wrote:

I usually try them pretty flour you see in groceries. Red Mill rye will set sourdough starter up by day 3 from experience.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 16th, 2021, 1:48 pm

Forex nuh