Tuner Cooking Thread.

viedcht

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby viedcht » October 26th, 2016, 10:23 pm

Okay nice... hadda try it. Normally I separate the oil on the stovetop, slow evaporation. But will attempt your method

Postby meccalli » October 26th, 2016, 10:27 pm

I find that method usually has the oil smelling a bit off, I also made vinegar from the last time I did it.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 26th, 2016, 11:32 pm

Okay the hardest bit is grating that coconut. Normally use the food processor but it still not as thorough as, say, grating it by hand. How alyuh does do it? Saw ah coconut press selling a while back somewhere debe for around $6000.

Postby meccalli » October 27th, 2016, 6:50 am

lol grate? Cut it up and blend it with water, rinse and squeeze the milk out. Leave it to separate and scoop the cream out to either ferment or boil.

Postby X_Factor » October 27th, 2016, 8:27 pm

i usually run it through the food processor then dhal mill then blender
so its thoroughly crushed to release the oil...sounds like much but it takes about 1 hr from start to getting the liquid

i tried the heat method but didnt like what came out
tried it several times after and its really hit or miss depending on the coconuts you get ( i usually do 10)
first time the jar was full
second time was barely quarter
3rd half jar

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 27th, 2016, 10:19 pm

Mih grandmum use to say the volume of oil retrieved 'is according to the moon' yuh make it in . Normally I put all the liquid in mugs n chill it in fridge. Just take out the solid "puck" of cream on top n slow boil it in a pot, keeping it mostly covered till the water boil off n start scooping the separating oil. The last bit usually a lil tan coloured but it does smell rellllll good. That I keep to make pancakes

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » November 5th, 2016, 8:34 pm

Any recipes for pow and pot stickers?

Postby pugboy » November 5th, 2016, 8:55 pm

there are tons of pow recipes on the internet,
a good one is the dough used for momofuku steamed buns, they serve it like a taco shape but same dough.

squeezed in some board work this week
IMG_3248.JPG

IMG_3247.JPG

Postby nervewrecker » November 6th, 2016, 8:05 am

Selling?

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2016, 11:02 am

yeah I should be able to squeeze in a few more as have plenty time left in november.
will let you know next week

Postby nervewrecker » November 6th, 2016, 11:25 am

Thanks much.
Might take mire than one.

Re: RE: Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby gastly369 » November 6th, 2016, 9:18 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Thanks much.
Might take mire than one.

If u going lemme know wah one too lol

Postby cinco » November 6th, 2016, 9:26 pm

Gawd if I didn't just buy an acacia board I woulda buy one. Wonder if ah cud sell d acacia for this

Postby shogun » November 15th, 2016, 8:03 pm

Random question...

How people could eat mushrooms, dred?

It's a slimy fungus with no taste or aroma. I don't get it? I seem to be in the minority of people that can't stand it

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2016, 8:11 pm

Lol
U ever had a burger seasoned with salt, bp and dried porcini mushroom dust ?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 15th, 2016, 8:16 pm

^^ or sauteed mushrooms in butter with onions and sweet peppers and put on the burger....

Postby X_Factor » November 15th, 2016, 8:18 pm

shogun wrote:Random question...

How people could eat mushrooms, dred?

It's a slimy fungus with no taste or aroma. I don't get it? I seem to be in the minority of people that can't stand it

shrooms are awesome!!
not all are slimy, and they usually takes flavor like a sponge so maybe you had badly prepared stuff

Postby meccalli » November 15th, 2016, 8:30 pm

Mushrooms have such a meaty flavour, it's a match made in heaven with burgers and steak sauces.
On another note, I knew some guys who posed as researchers to scour cow pastures for mushrooms that bruised blue lol. Psychedelic cuisine.

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2016, 8:37 pm

Locally ?
We have some bulbous looking ones in caroni cow area

Postby meccalli » November 15th, 2016, 8:43 pm

Yeah, it's the little white ones with a bulbous cap that emerge from cow patties lol. I went along to take pics in the pasture one time, one the guys was a drummer who really knows his shrooms, makes sure the rest of em don't die from picking the wrong stuff...

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2016, 9:01 pm

These are about the size of a tennis ball
Have two kinds, one white and one dark brown

Postby cinco » November 15th, 2016, 9:07 pm

Shrooms are delicious. The canned crap doesn't count. You have to taste a well prepared fresh mushrooms

Postby meccalli » November 15th, 2016, 9:14 pm

It's healthy too, buy dried mushrooms and rehydrate em. Wood ear mushrooms are tasteless but adds good texture to chow mein or a salad, great for circulation

Postby meccalli » November 15th, 2016, 9:17 pm

pugboy wrote:These are about the size of a tennis ball
Have two kinds, one white and one dark brown

I dunno if we have any edible and non hallucinogenic mushrooms in the wild, these guys were eating them to trip lol.

Postby gastly369 » November 15th, 2016, 9:34 pm

Sombody say shrooms ... Idk just saw in de bush randomly

Postby Dizzy28 » November 16th, 2016, 9:39 pm

Portobellos grilled sautéed or used in roasted veges is the shiznit. Particularly if you staying away from meat.

Postby gastly369 » November 27th, 2016, 1:41 pm

Yeh 2nrs looking for this few years now and can't find anymore

Acquired taste but I kinda sorta like it

Postby pugboy » November 29th, 2016, 6:02 am

bought one of these high tech programmable pressure cookers on sale $69

https://www.amazon.com/Instant-Pot-IP-D ... B00FLYWNYQ