9%
Undecided until assessment results made public
No votes

Total votes: 11

Highway extension poll

Postby nemisis » December 2nd, 2012, 6:12 pm

Map of route and re route, annotations on map should be taken with a grain of salt.
No need to give your reason for being for or against.
Last edited by nemisis on December 3rd, 2012, 2:59 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Re: Higway extension poll

Postby rollingstock » December 2nd, 2012, 7:00 pm

voted

Postby sMASH » December 2nd, 2012, 7:17 pm

hardly any body against the high way, is just that those of us with knowledge about mangroves and a soft spot for natural ecosystems don't like that it has to pass through the mangrove.

the mangrove would be very costly to build through as well. that is why i say to go around it and head directly to pt fortin. instead of passing the high way when it is down by debe all the way up to la brea then back down to pt fortin, i suggest routing it from debe, around the mangrove and straight, more or less to pt. fortin. develop connectors from la brea to the highway.

the amount of money they might spend in the long route along the main road and through the mangrove, they could spend that and probably a lil more and route it directly to pt. fortin and develop the connectors from la brea and siparia to the highway. this would cause the road distance from pt. fortin to san'do to the significantly reduced and the trip from la brea to san'do may actually end up being the same.

this could also open up the middle of the peninsula for further small businesses through new settlements.

so, over all same costs, overall reduced commute time from pt. fortin, and same commute time from siparia and la brea, the mangrove is preserved, and more opportunity to develop local businesses via new settlements

Postby DVSTT » December 2nd, 2012, 7:19 pm

Voted

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 2nd, 2012, 7:29 pm

What do I put if I worked all over Trinidad in the last 5 years?

Postby nemisis » December 2nd, 2012, 7:33 pm

out of curiosity which area you live?? no need to be specific north east/central/west,central, south east/west?

i just find that people who all the time saying they don't cross grand bazaar suddenly "care".
If proper assessments wasn't done then fine but what is the case if it was done? are you as an environmentalist going to be happy about the reason they give for destroying a mangrove ecosystem regardless of the reason??

Postby nemisis » December 2nd, 2012, 7:34 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:What do I put if I worked all over Trinidad in the last 5 years?

then pick the area of that one guest house you always head to in a pinch

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 2nd, 2012, 7:36 pm

nemisis wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:What do I put if I worked all over Trinidad in the last 5 years?

then pick the area of that one guest house you always head to in a pinch

:| But what if I have approved guest houses in north, central and south?

Postby nemisis » December 2nd, 2012, 7:42 pm

^^^ d arse i now realize i sitting here seriously contemplating a reply for that

genghis

Postby genghis » December 2nd, 2012, 7:44 pm

should specify if it is the contentious portion...

Postby brams112 » December 2nd, 2012, 8:13 pm

Both sides of the creek all times of the day on any given day.

Postby toyolink » December 2nd, 2012, 8:17 pm

I not good at these things....maybe the OP could do another thread to polls those in support of 'the re-route movement highway route vs the route proposed by the state.
I believe the majority of folks support the proposed highway but what is in contention is 'route'.

Postby brams112 » December 2nd, 2012, 8:17 pm

sMASH wrote:hardly any body against the high way, is just that those of us with knowledge about mangroves and a soft spot for natural ecosystems don't like that it has to pass through the mangrove.

the mangrove would be very costly to build through as well. that is why i say to go around it and head directly to pt fortin. instead of passing the high way when it is down by debe all the way up to la brea then back down to pt fortin, i suggest routing it from debe, around the mangrove and straight, more or less to pt. fortin. develop connectors from la brea to the highway.

the amount of money they might spend in the long route along the main road and through the mangrove, they could spend that and probably a lil more and route it directly to pt. fortin and develop the connectors from la brea and siparia to the highway. this would cause the road distance from pt. fortin to san'do to the significantly reduced and the trip from la brea to san'do may actually end up being the same.

this could also open up the middle of the peninsula for further small businesses through new settlements.

so, over all same costs, overall reduced commute time from pt. fortin, and same commute time from siparia and la brea, the mangrove is preserved, and more opportunity to develop local businesses via new settlements

It not passing through the mangroove,how much times will people say this,it passing on the side,the same way the south trunk road is next to the mangroove,kubs plan, along the south trunk is passing in the mangroove,if you know south fellah you may understand what i am talking about,kubs lying about the route.

Marct

Postby Marct » December 2nd, 2012, 8:22 pm

nemisis wrote:out of curiosity which area you live?? no need to be specific north east/central/west,central, south east/west?

i just find that people who all the time saying they don't cross grand bazaar suddenly "care".

ent? ask all of them how to find Mon Desir or even Point

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » December 2nd, 2012, 8:50 pm

mayby if they built the highway we might cross grand bazaar..... :lol:

Postby nemisis » December 2nd, 2012, 9:26 pm

^^ do tell how a sando to point highway affecting passing grand bazaa

Postby zoom rader » December 2nd, 2012, 9:33 pm

Voted caused I worked in Pt for 3 yrs and know the hardships to get in and out of Pt.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » December 2nd, 2012, 9:35 pm

whats a higway btw?

Postby brams112 » December 2nd, 2012, 9:36 pm

zoom rader wrote:Voted caused I worked in Pt for 3 yrs and know the hardships to get in and out of Pt.

The ones looking in don't know :roll: :roll:

Postby zoom rader » December 2nd, 2012, 9:39 pm

brams112 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Voted caused I worked in Pt for 3 yrs and know the hardships to get in and out of Pt.

The ones looking in dont want to know about some highway in de bush, they are only here to nit pick useless points for PNM.

Postby nemisis » December 2nd, 2012, 9:41 pm

NO POLITICS ZOOM, plenty other threads for that

Postby zoom rader » December 2nd, 2012, 9:43 pm

nemisis wrote:NO POLITICS ZOOM

Sorry dude, but the few people that dont want the highway knows nothing about south and the area

Postby brams112 » December 2nd, 2012, 9:45 pm

brams112 wrote:

The ones looking in dont want to know about some highway in de bush, they are only here to nit pick useless points for PNM.

Nah boi don't think that highway passing in any bush,is million dollar properties going down the drain,something the detractors may never afford to own :lol: :lol: :lol:

Re: Highway extension poll

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2012, 11:59 pm

One night, one accident, nothing obstructing traffic.

See in front me and behind me (chain of lights in my mirror).

Now....imagine when the creek have water and one lane impassable.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 3rd, 2012, 1:41 am

I for the highway, I would like one to mayaro

link

Postby link » December 3rd, 2012, 8:11 am

nemisis wrote:out of curiosity which area you live?? no need to be specific north east/central/west,central, south east/west?

If proper assessments wasn't done then fine but what is the case if it was done? are you as an environmentalist going to be happy about the reason they give for destroying a mangrove ecosystem regardless of the reason??

so...WHO says the mangrove ecosystem wb destroyed ???
if access channels, etc,etc are being incorporated to maintain water flow across the line, it's only the foundation of the highway that's a permanent feature.
All the bawl & cry....look at Pluck Road in Woodland......the lagoon not dead & the original channels were preserved when the road was built...
:idea:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » December 3rd, 2012, 8:13 am

do we really need another thread of this? ^

link

Postby link » December 3rd, 2012, 8:18 am

nemisis wrote:^^ do tell how a sando to point highway affecting passing grand bazaa

it will show 'point' ppl how pnm kept them in the dark & had them voting in ignorance & squalor.........
imagine what will happen if the southern constituencies get a taste of real progress....not just the pnm gruel of 'allyuh being oppressed because ur a pnm constituency'.......
even schupid, partisan trini will vote for progress & betterment of living conditions.....pnm fighting hard to prevent dat...
:idea:

Postby zoom rader » December 3rd, 2012, 8:25 am

Dont worry after Pt Fortin highway then Mayaro Highway coming.

Postby nemisis » December 3rd, 2012, 9:25 am

What about no politics in this thread men don't get?? Also as far as I have read this highway to point is a pnm plan being continued by the pp so while I agree that pnm has starved south of development while trying to secure votes else where this highway does not make an able example for your point.

Now once again you can ramble on about your opinions on the highway, it's route, better plans, assessments or lack thereoff etc but next man try to add a political spin "looking at you zoom and fari" I requesting thread locked. Hunger strike thread have plenty of that and lots of room to add more.

Can't say zoom he behaving himself...