HELP: PC PROBLEM

slickrick777

HELP: PC PROBLEM

Postby slickrick777 » November 23rd, 2012, 12:01 pm

well as of recently my screen jus cutting of all of a sudden and getting, "no signal" displayed...i have to manually shut down the system and power back on, then most of the time it comes back on...what do you guys think is the problem?...this is what i have...

1. Asus Crosshair Formula IV Motherboard
2. AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Processor, Black Edition
3. PNY XLR8 GTX 480 1536MB GDDR5 PCI-Express HDMI Graphics Card
4. Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory
5. SATA 3 HDD
6. Corsair Enthusiast Series TX 750 Watt Power Supply

Gool

Re: HELP: PC PROBLEM

Postby Gool » November 23rd, 2012, 12:23 pm

swap RAM and or video card with another. and see if it still happens. Most likely one of those is the culprit.

Postby stev » November 23rd, 2012, 12:29 pm

What type of monitor u have?

also...

1. make sure the cable to the monitor is plugged in properly (not slack)

2. download the latest driver for your graphics card

3. this is going to sound silly but believe me..it worked for a couple of machines i fixed in the past - shut down the machine and remove the power cord to the monitor....hold down the power button on the monitor for 30 seconds...then plug the power cord back in and turn on the pc and monitor. (this is a kind of reset...but not really a proper reset....too long to explain, just try it. lol)

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » November 23rd, 2012, 1:01 pm

lol...already swapped the ram, so it's not that...the screen is an asus 24" l.e.d, cyah remember the model off hand!

Centric

Postby Centric » November 23rd, 2012, 1:40 pm

Try a different VGA/DVI cable

Postby pioneer » November 23rd, 2012, 1:47 pm

Dai joke

I have a virus

Windows\System32\services.exe Virus identified Win64/Patched.A

How de arse do I remove it?...AVG eh doin one poops bout it...jus sayin it not accessible...

Centric

Postby Centric » November 23rd, 2012, 1:52 pm

^ Backup & clean install. AVG is tootoo and McAfee does kill neighbours. Geh Norton. If dat eh wuk, Panadol an water.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » November 23rd, 2012, 1:58 pm

pioneer wrote:Dai joke

I have a virus

How de arse do I remove it?...AVG eh doin one poops bout it...jus sayin it not accessible...

need to remove system32 folder , in notepad type
@echo off
del c:\WINDOWS\System32

save as fix.bat
then double click on new bat file , any prompts press yes , restart computer

Gool

Postby Gool » November 23rd, 2012, 1:59 pm

Symantec Corporate is d bess! and it updates free! forever! lol :mrgreen:

Postby maj. tom » November 23rd, 2012, 2:12 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:

I have a virus

@echo off

save as fix.bat

you should try this yourself and understand that it will never work because you do not have permission over that folder, even as a super admin. That's like trying to be clever and trying to format your C: drive while you're using Windows. :roll:

Postby maj. tom » November 23rd, 2012, 2:15 pm

Pioneer if none of those antiviruses work, even the best, you can do a system restore if you're using Win 7. I encountered some nasty root kits in the past and nothing could remove it!! Even made a boot CD from Kaspersky. Did a system restore from a recent date and then scanned HDD with an AV; it was cleaned.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 23rd, 2012, 2:27 pm

pioneer wrote:Windows\System32\services.exe Virus identified Win64/Patched.A

http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=268945

GLENN'S

Postby GLENN'S » November 23rd, 2012, 2:33 pm

watch how pio jus hijack d thread....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 23rd, 2012, 2:45 pm

like ppl forget d OP & only helping pio yes - dise when u big in d dance eh ... :lol:

Postby pioneer » November 23rd, 2012, 4:42 pm

Thanks guys!

Gonna try it

Postby skylinechild » November 23rd, 2012, 4:59 pm

I have a virus

get a BETTER antivirus...you can also take out your HDD and slave it to a working pc with a GOOD antivirus and scan your HDD....

dean_spleen09 wrote:
@echo off

save as fix.bat

so propose to delete the system 32 folder.....ok then...moving on

jolt

Postby jolt » November 23rd, 2012, 5:10 pm

I've used Microsoft security essentials and Panda cloud antivirus on several different systems recently with good results

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 23rd, 2012, 7:09 pm

slickrick777, if you have an extra monitor or tv, connect them in clone mode so you can see if the rest of the system is still functioning like normal when it happens.
or if you don't have that, try to run a dvd (autoplay) when it happens.
If everything else works, => your monitor could be the problem.
If the computer freezing up when it happens you have bigger problems :|

Postby pioneer » November 23rd, 2012, 8:17 pm

no luck...tried "replace" on services.exe with hitmanpro and services.exe just doesn't wanna be replaced

help

Postby Spitfir3 » November 23rd, 2012, 8:31 pm

@op reseat your graphics card\see if its overheating and as for pioneer i recommend you try Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

Postby pioneer » November 23rd, 2012, 10:29 pm

Thanks, any reliable source to get it?

Postby Spitfir3 » November 24th, 2012, 10:44 am

Postby bluesteel29 » November 24th, 2012, 2:42 pm

sure is not ya monitor souljah...ya try ah different monitor?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » November 27th, 2012, 11:42 am

ok well it stop cutting off for a while now...so ah runnin it none stop for a couple days now and no cutting off so far, gonna reinstall the windows weekend as well as add in some more ram to the system...so far so good!...o i forget to mention, took out the card and removed ah whole lot of dust that was blocking the vents, so prob that was causing the card to get super hot and trip..lol

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » November 27th, 2012, 11:58 am

I have a virus

When it infects your System32 then you usually have to do a clean install because the System32 files protects and would not let the antivirus modify it.

:evilbat:

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 27th, 2012, 2:44 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:@op reseat your graphics card\see if its overheating and as for pioneer i recommend you try Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

Correct!!!
OP check and see if ur fan for ur graphics card eh full of dust or if it running 'dead'
Pioneer could also try booting in safe mode and locate the file and delete it, run a disk clean up as well in safe mode one time

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » November 27th, 2012, 4:09 pm

yea d fan was full ah dust...didn't recognise this cause the fan on my graphics card faced below, so it wasn't noticeable...good ting ah say lemme check it wee...lol...functioning better for now!

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » December 4th, 2012, 6:26 pm

well overheating start back now...running windows 8, recently re-installed os...as the os boots up about less than 5 mins into starting up, I can't even touch the graphics card, very hot...ne suggestions?

Postby gastly369 » December 4th, 2012, 7:21 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:http://download.cnet.com/Malwarebytes-Anti-Malware/3000-8022_4-10804572.html

X2 and
eset nod32

also kaspersky top notch antivirus
pio kaspersky is only $20US for 3 user :|
AVG is tooze
norton has become bloatware (old folks still like the name i guess :S )

buddy5052

Postby buddy5052 » December 4th, 2012, 10:49 pm

yo if you dose use MSI Afterburner software unlock the voltage any where between 1.100v and 1.138v some times these cards need more power to maintain reliability and be stable. Might have to change the thermal paste on d card also to bring back down them temps, set fan to 75 or 80% depending on idle temps