OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

Re: OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

Postby timelapse » January 8th, 2021, 6:22 pm

What I interested in is genuine Caroni Rum.Zoom wha yuh have dey?

Postby De Dragon » January 9th, 2021, 11:30 am

That Old Parr I'd consider just for the sentimental value. My pops was a rum man, but Christmas 3 things he was sure to buy, Old Parr like those , Dewar's and Black Tower wine.

Postby Rovin » January 9th, 2021, 11:57 am

i not a drinker but was same with my old man back in his days , for xmas time only he took a drink & old parr was his drink of choice , i find it decent

i remember when i was small i used to look forward to adults finishing d bottle so i cud extract d small clear marble inside it ...

Postby De Dragon » January 9th, 2021, 11:58 am

Rovin wrote:i not a drinker but was same with my old man back in his days , for xmas time only he took a drink & old parr was his drink of choice , i find it decent

i remember when i was small i used to look forward to adults finishing d bottle so i cud extract d small clear marble inside it ...

Rovin, yuh old! :lol:

Postby Rovin » January 9th, 2021, 12:00 pm

yea kinda .... :oops: ... :lol:

like i does say : once u past 30yrs yuh ole ... :mrgreen:

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 10th, 2021, 9:52 am

It might not be anything worth collecting, just regular quality Old Parr in an old bottle. The cork might break up being that old. Nice to have in a liquor cabinet on display though
X_Factor wrote:Thoughts on this...what's it worth now?
IMG-20210106-WA0016.jpeg
IMG-20210106-WA0015.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » January 10th, 2021, 9:57 am

viedcht wrote:It might not be anything worth collecting, just regular quality Old Parr in an old bottle. The cork might break up being that old. Nice to have in a liquor cabinet on display though
X_Factor wrote:Thoughts on this...what's it worth now?IMG-20210106-WA0016.jpegIMG-20210106-WA0015.jpeg

Same thing I was thinking, because the bottle now is different no?

Postby timelapse » January 11th, 2021, 10:45 am

Google 'bottle sabering'.
I is a wino, lots of practice doing this when you forget your corkscrew home , or the cork old

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 16th, 2021, 1:32 pm

Lighter colour I think, ent buy in years

viedcht wrote:Same thing I was thinking, because the bottle now is different no?

Postby K74T » October 7th, 2021, 8:51 pm

FB_IMG_1633654216565.jpg

Anyone had this yet?

Postby Gem_in_i » October 7th, 2021, 11:01 pm

Where I could get Glenlivet 18 yr old?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 7th, 2021, 11:49 pm

Massy in Maraval had earlier this year.
Gem_in_i wrote:Where I could get Glenlivet 18 yr old?

Postby De Dragon » October 8th, 2021, 4:12 am

Anyone tried any of the Japanese whiskies that Solera carries?

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 8th, 2021, 9:05 pm

Yes. Well worth the money and good for a change.
BF2597FA-BBFC-4787-A0D4-64BA548C9A16.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » October 9th, 2021, 12:17 am

Animal Pak wrote:Yes. Well worth the money and good for a change.

Thanks, the money isn't really an issue. Can't have Japanese whisky taste with Black and White pockets :lol:

carluva

Postby carluva » October 9th, 2021, 12:20 am

Lucky spot
Gem_in_i wrote:Where I could get Glenlivet 18 yr old?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 9th, 2021, 11:39 am

Can anyone re ommend a good 21 year old rum. Looking for something for christmas after all the crap in 2021 seeong el dorado. Jonnie blue is whiskey.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 9th, 2021, 12:32 pm

21 year old rums hard to find. Had the Diplomatico 12 year last week and it wasn't bad.

The eldo 21 year old too sweet IMO.

Had chacaca last week as well. Brazilian rum made from sugar cane juice. It's a nice sip. You can get it at Solera.
daring dragoon wrote:Can anyone re ommend a good 21 year old rum. Looking for something for christmas after all the crap in 2021 seeong el dorado. Jonnie blue is whiskey.
IMG_20210926_174010.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 9th, 2021, 6:37 pm

De Dragon wrote:Anyone tried any of the Japanese whiskies that Solera carries?
Sookhoo's in Marabella ent backward either. They have the iwai brand in stock.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 9th, 2021, 6:41 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:21 year old rums hard to find. Had the Diplomatico 12 year last week and it wasn't bad.

Had chacaca last week as well. Brazilian rum made from sugar cane juice. It's a nice sip. You can get it at Solera.
daring dragoon wrote:Can anyone re ommend a good 21 year old rum. Looking for something for christmas after all the crap in 2021 seeong el dorado. Jonnie blue is whiskey.
IMG_20210926_174010.jpg
Cachaça has some nice flavour, and smooth. Well the good ones. Anands by the creek had a nice one.

Postby timelapse » October 9th, 2021, 9:00 pm

Ron Zacapa 23 yo.Naughty grape and Massey have it

Postby De Dragon » October 10th, 2021, 10:53 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1633654216565.jpg

Anyone had this yet?

Saw this in the grocery by me.

Postby K74T » November 16th, 2021, 10:33 am

FB_IMG_1637072737172.jpg

Postby timelapse » November 16th, 2021, 11:00 am

White oak coconut is very nice served straight and chilled I find

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 16th, 2022, 6:09 pm

G'evening Tuners, I saw on FB some whiskies for sale from an online only store (On The Rocks). Anybody ever dealt with them before? They have some nice offerings. Just that online only thing I not too fond of.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » June 17th, 2022, 5:28 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:21 year old rums hard to find. Had the Diplomatico 12 year last week and it wasn't bad.

IMG_20220617_182246.jpg
That price for cachaça is insane. That is a true blue true Trini ripoff. Bottles of that go for 10 BRL ( ~13 TTD ) here in Brazil at the supermarkets. What price are they getting it for and just how much profit are they making per bottle? Maybe I should look into it as a side hustle.
IMG_20220617_182246.jpg

abducted

Postby abducted » July 6th, 2022, 7:34 am

Angostura launches $20,000 rum

Angostura® has launched a limited-edition rum ultra-premium rum - called Angostura® Zenith. The one-of-a-kind distinguished flavours of this rum are derived from two of Trinidad and Tobago’s most iconic distilleries – Caroni 1975 Limited and Angostura Limited. The Angostura® Zenith, limited to 195 bottles is available at a cost of TT$20,400 or US$3,000 at select retailers.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/angostu ... 475aa4039f

Postby timelapse » July 6th, 2022, 7:36 am

How much does a bottle of Caroni Puncheon go for these days?

Postby st7 » July 6th, 2022, 9:22 am

three fiddy

dogg

Postby dogg » July 6th, 2022, 11:09 am

timelapse wrote:How much does a bottle of Caroni Puncheon go for these days?

Does that still exist?