Postby tr1ad » December 29th, 2010, 9:05 am

to get the full flavour, best enjoyed neat or on the rocks

i doh really drink eh
i actually prefer rum to scotch tho... but imo it worth the change

Re: Angostura Single Barrel Rum

Postby SUPAstarr » December 29th, 2010, 9:06 am

Since our last discussion of this matter, 3 bottles haz enter my house an left empty!!!! Such a smoother rummmm

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » December 29th, 2010, 9:12 am

This thread, and the rum in question is full of win!

I have a bottle just for myself ole years night. Fack scotch.

rossi

Postby rossi » December 29th, 2010, 9:23 am

It's ok....sipped and still sipping on Royal Oak until the New Year.

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » December 29th, 2010, 9:25 am

its a very smoothe rum...worth the change

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 29th, 2010, 9:47 am

Very smooth.. from what Ive been told is that this is from the stocks that Angostura bought over from Caroni, if that is true then I dont know how long it will stay on the market.
Last edited by nareshseep on December 29th, 2010, 9:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby TRAE » December 29th, 2010, 9:51 am

smooth taste sure to please--- i prefer scotch though

devrat

Postby devrat » December 29th, 2010, 9:56 am

nareshseep wrote:Very smooth.. from what Ive been told is that this is from the stocks that Angostura bought over from Caroni, if that is true then I dont know how long it will stay on the market.

Well it is a single barrel and I sure that barrel almost done :|

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 29th, 2010, 10:04 am

phuq rum drink Vodka!

Postby MG Man » December 29th, 2010, 10:13 am

I wasn't impressed

I'll stick to 1919 and 1824

Postby Razkal » December 29th, 2010, 10:51 am

MG Man wrote:I wasn't impressed

I'll stick to 1919 and 1824

ditto.
neat or on the rocks, 1824 trumps single barrel anyday..

1919? ah rate it, verily so.

single barrel tastes like black label with a makeover. felt like beating meh wife and i not even married

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 29th, 2010, 10:59 am

Razkal wrote:single barrel tastes like black label with a makeover. felt like beating meh wife and i not even married

Postby MG Man » December 29th, 2010, 10:59 am

lol couldn't put it better
Seems more like marketing than a genuine effort
Years ago they did a 5 year old dark, which was remarkably smooth...this new thing they touting was very disappointing to me
If I can't sip it neat, it ain't up to standard
As an alternative to scotch, nah

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » December 29th, 2010, 11:19 am

Vat 19's new batch is the shiznit too!

btw the black, black label was crap.

Single barrel FTW.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » December 29th, 2010, 11:21 am

i never had it, but some friends of mine says it's ok.....they say it's probably the Royal Oak in a diff bottle.

1919 and 1824 is d realll deal ! ...esp 1824

try d el dorado special reserve 15yr old....it's very smooth...almost as good as the 1824 and it does LASH with Apple J

Postby cinco » December 29th, 2010, 11:59 am

i would take it over 1919 or 1824 any day
eldo 15yr is the shiznit tho NEAT or soda
alco and softdrink is a no no

Postby wagonrunner » December 29th, 2010, 12:01 pm

single barrel "is" the incestuous product of my two good good friends (royal oak and carmen jones). so of course i treat it like family

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 29th, 2010, 12:22 pm

El Dorado 21yr old is great - got it from Tr1ad :lol:

I like the Single Barrel, it is very sweet though, so rum and coke gets even sweeter.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » December 29th, 2010, 12:28 pm

Single Barrel is a very sweet rum,so I personally enjoyed drinking it on the rocks

Postby gt4tified » December 29th, 2010, 12:55 pm

I like the smell more than the taste. If comparing to cheap Scotch....sword,mcarthurs etc then yes it better, but compared to JW black, gold or the single malt, or Glenfiddich.....no way can it compare.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » December 29th, 2010, 1:11 pm

Not too impressed.Fits somewhere between 1919 and Fernandes Black Label.
In fact it may be Tantra rebranded.

Postby MG Man » December 29th, 2010, 1:34 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:El Dorado 21yr old is great - got it from Tr1ad :lol:

I like the Single Barrel, it is very sweet though, so rum and coke gets even sweeter.

very strong vanilla notes
I suspect they mellow it with botanicals and additives......either way I don't think it's smooth enough to enjoy neat......and considering the Angostura promoters were sampling it with LLB of all things, only serves to add to the suspicion that this is more marketing than product...........you NEVER molest your single barrel with any sort of sweet chaser, worse yet something as complex as LLb......

Postby Razkal » December 29th, 2010, 1:55 pm

^steups @ the LLB thing, same experience when i first had it. i had it with cranberry and honestly, white oak and cranberry tastes better. cause i had that after i bounce up pioneer trying the LLB/SB mix.

i've only had the el do 15yr, and i like it, damn good tasting rum but i just like the 1919 more...never tried the other eldo's, 21yr sounds like 1824 toppling business lol

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » December 29th, 2010, 3:06 pm

MG Man wrote:lol couldn't put it better
Years ago they did a 5 year old dark, which was remarkably smooth...this new thing they touting was very disappointing to me

^^ That was the genesis of Single Barrel rum....it was sold in a bottle similar to Royal Oak and got the facelift with all the other rums except 1919 & 1824

Postby AllTrac » December 29th, 2010, 5:29 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:El Dorado 21yr old is great - got it from Tr1ad :lol:

This is why 2nr running so slow! your head bad u you only studying rum while 2nr burning down :x :x

Postby MG Man » December 29th, 2010, 6:38 pm

ras_elmo wrote:
MG Man wrote:lol couldn't put it better

^^ That was the genesis of Single Barrel rum....it was sold in a bottle similar to Royal Oak and got the facelift with all the other rums except 1919 & 1824

yup
I was working @ angostura when that was launched
it was part of a set of three, one white, one light (3 y/o) and the dark
I miss that bottle of dark so dearly :-(
This new thing is crap compared to that

Postby eliteauto » December 29th, 2010, 8:12 pm

nice that is what I wanted, honest opinions, I'll take a charee by a bar and decide from there

Postby DFC » December 29th, 2010, 9:27 pm

i got a bottle for the new year. Looking forward to trying it on the rocks with maybe a fresh lime.

My throat sore from bush rum !

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 30th, 2010, 2:30 am

APPROVED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!