OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

viedcht

Re: OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

Postby viedcht » January 20th, 2023, 1:08 pm

timelapse wrote:
viedcht wrote:I could see that being the case. Was caroni dark rum really that bad? Compared to the current lineups Appleton, Foursquare, Demerara El Dorado etc i don't expect any contest...
Caroni was good.
Here's the issue for most people in those days.
Caroni Rum had colonial blood on its hands.
The owners used to short pay workers and give them rum instead.They created a workforce of alcoholics and were thus able to control their workforce.In those days,rum was perceived as cheap alcohol for poor people.This is why you find old injuns were mostly into whiskey.It was a status thing.Puncheon was for vagrants.All about value and status perception.I am old enough to remember before Puncheon became mainstream.If you drank that, you were perceived as a drunkard.
Nowadays, everybody is a connoisseur of something or the other,so the game has changed.
Thank you for sharing the knowledge, time. I never knew that. I remember my grandad had a bottle of Caroni puncheon on a shelf untouched for over seven decades Gramps was never a drinker in my lifetime, I think he worked caroni in his youth days. I never asked about it but that could probably be why he had that. Everyone's experiences and memories conglomerate to create the true history.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 20th, 2023, 1:19 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
skylinechild wrote:Guys I’m seriously contemplating selling my alcohol collection

The collection stands as is

Johnny Walker red - X1 750ml
Johnny Walker island green -X1 - 1liter
Johnny Walker double black-X1 - 1 liter
Johnny Walker gold label reserve -x1- 1 liter
Johnny Walker white - game of thrones -X1 -750 ml
Jim beam Kentucky burbon X2 -1 liter
Jim beam Kentucky burbon - honey X2 - 1 liter
Jim beam Kentucky burbon apple X2 - 1 liter
Jim beam Kentucky burbon - black extra aged - X1- 750 ml
Makers mark -X1- 1 liter
Jack Daniels Tennessee X1- 1 liter
Jack Daniels honey X2 - one (1) liter and one (1) 750ml
Jack Daniels fire ( cinnamon) X1 - 1 liter
Ron abuelo rum X1- 1 liter
Elijah Craig small batch burbon -X1 -750 ml
Jose Cuervo 2021 special edition tequila X1 - 1 liter

Thoughts .???
Have a big lime and invite all of us.

Add some black and white if you inviting me tho
It might sound dotish but when I see you put up this... for ah 2 seconds one of mih 3 brain cells fire: if we had a strong tuner community, all ah we coulda reach up by child, buy up ah two, three bottle for personal keeps, and put up and make a lime with the rest ah stock. BBQ in one corner, curry in de next, some broff on de side...

My mind wanders sometimes.

matix

Postby matix » January 20th, 2023, 1:35 pm

viedcht wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
skylinechild wrote:Guys I’m seriously contemplating selling my alcohol collection

Makers mark -X1- 1 liter

Thoughts .???

It might sound dotish but when I see you put up this... for ah 2 seconds one of mih 3 brain cells fire: if we had a strong tuner community, all ah we coulda reach up by child, buy up ah two, three bottle for personal keeps, and put up and make a lime with the rest ah stock. BBQ in one corner, curry in de next, some broff on de side...

That is a good plan, just need a police presence for security purposes.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 20th, 2023, 3:16 pm

Anybody ever try aging their own alco ?

Studying to make a lil wooden box (untreated lumber ofc), char the inside and store some puncheon in it.

Then just forget it under my stairs for 5 years or sumn. By then the angel share should come out and I'll have a regular percentage of alco

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 20th, 2023, 6:13 pm

Woh kinda wood Yuh thinkin bout? Samaan? Cedar? Ah lil julie Mango and Teak mix up? Bunn ah lil bit ah Chennet branch and throw een to steep? Daiz ah plan

Postby timelapse » January 20th, 2023, 7:26 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Anybody ever try aging their own alco ?

Studying to make a lil wooden box (untreated lumber ofc), char the inside and store some puncheon in it.

Then just forget it under my stairs for 5 years or sumn. By then the angel share should come out and I'll have a regular percentage of alco
Angostura sells wooden barrels some times.

Postby skylinechild » January 27th, 2023, 1:33 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

Makers mark -X1- 1 liter

Thoughts .???

I dont have that - the idea of making the collection was to obtain stuff that is / was not available locally.
everything came from duty free and most is 1 liter international versions.

for example - the JW green isnt the regular green - its a special edition green called island green - it was only available to select duty free shops in select airports in the world.

Postby skylinechild » January 27th, 2023, 1:39 pm

matix wrote:
viedcht wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

Makers mark -X1- 1 liter

Thoughts .???

That is a good plan, just need a police presence for security purposes.

lol @ 2 of the 3 brain cells firing ......true on strong tuner community....lol.

but it have tuners out there who lurk .... they know themselves .....lol.

selling all as one complete package - buy all and do with it as you please !!!
share / drink / pour down the drain etc....

doh matter to me once you pay my asking price !

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 21st, 2023, 12:44 pm

Yuh see dem pretentious MC who does tout all the fancy sexy descriptions? Alyuh was right, but me eh apologising. Alyuh was right.

This ting rell have some taste profile. Kinda like ashy, smokyish, strange iodiny lil bit like ash and sweetish like a.... Me eh know. Closest thing I eat sweet is the dried figs from p'mart.

Nice whisky. Sookhoos Marabella 580.00 Father's Day might have better price.
IMG_20230321_124559.jpg

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2023, 10:52 pm

viedcht wrote:Yuh see dem pretentious MC who does tout all the fancy sexy descriptions? Alyuh was right, but me eh apologising. Alyuh was right.

This ting rell have some taste profile. Kinda like ashy, smokyish, strange iodiny lil bit like ash and sweetish like a.... Me eh know. Closest thing I eat sweet is the dried figs from p'mart.

Nice whisky. Sookhoos Marabella 580.00 Father's Day might have better price. IMG_20230321_124559.jpg

Try some coconut oil :lol:

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 23rd, 2023, 3:08 pm

Fellas, anywhere in trinidad sells Mead?

I always wanted to try this thing since I heard about it more than a decade ago.

death365

Postby death365 » March 26th, 2023, 5:12 pm

Food giant barataria used to have years ago ..

U can check them
ruffneck_12 wrote:Fellas, anywhere in trinidad sells Mead?

I always wanted to try this thing since I heard about it more than a decade ago.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 27th, 2023, 8:24 am

death365 wrote:Food giant barataria used to have years ago ..

U can check them

SRRRRRRRRRS? Yeah I used to be in that alcohol cove plenty lmao. But I never saw it

Oh Whale, guess I'll just DIY it :'(

dogg

Postby dogg » April 19th, 2023, 11:25 am

anyone know where I can buy pickle juice locally? For use in cocktails.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 19th, 2023, 12:27 pm

Seafood enterprises in East Gates has, I`m sure the other branches will also.

death365

Postby death365 » April 20th, 2023, 4:16 pm

Took it up duty free ... 1 lt
Screenshot_20230420_161537_Gallery.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 20th, 2023, 10:06 pm

Any Whyte & Mackay Scotch spotted locally?

Had some yesterday and it was decent.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » June 15th, 2023, 5:48 pm

Anyone ever had Buchanan's Deluxe 12 Year? Thinking about grabbing a few bottles that are on sale now.

Buchanans_Deluxe_12_Yr_Blended_Scotch_Whisky_750ml_11310050_2-min.png

matix

Postby matix » June 15th, 2023, 6:06 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Anyone ever had Buchanan's Deluxe 12 Year? Thinking about grabbing a few bottles that are on sale now.

Where have them on sale? It’s good

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » June 15th, 2023, 6:48 pm

matix wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:Anyone ever had Buchanan's Deluxe 12 Year? Thinking about grabbing a few bottles that are on sale now.

Where have them on sale? It’s good

I'll try it out then. Sadly the sale I'm referring to is abroad. 140 TTD for a bottle. IIRC this is a 400 TTD scotch back home.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 16th, 2023, 5:45 pm

^Brydens have it for just short of 400.00 on-sale for father's day.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 2nd, 2023, 1:04 pm

Lucky dem wanna kill mih with that price 18 big notes for a 10.1? Lawd...

Postby eliteauto » July 2nd, 2023, 1:39 pm

viedcht wrote:Lucky dem wanna kill mih with that price 18 big notes for a 10.1? Lawd...

Price is on point based on international prices, only gonna be cheaper if you walk it in yourself. Dat out my wheelhouse I eh no drinkist at that level

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 2nd, 2023, 2:17 pm

Well customs done eh want mih bring back more than two bottles ah nothing but ah feel I will wait till December..

I could get 3 port charlotte for the price if I just bonx starter and reach Marabella. And will still have same ashtray breath. Alcohol really going to be in a squeeze in 2-3yrs...

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 15th, 2023, 3:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:
viedcht wrote:Lucky dem wanna kill mih with that price 18 big notes for a 10.1? Lawd...

Price is on point based on international prices, only gonna be cheaper if you walk it in yourself. Dat out my wheelhouse I eh no drinkist at that level
Was chatting with Baje (long time friend from B'dos) yesterday, and chat lead to short discussion about alco prices... Apparently in B'dos alco slightly more expensive than here after conversion, but they have only one kind; Octomore 5.1 from 2012, more peat, is under 1100 ttd. The 10.1 is a year after, same 5yrs-7yrs, a lil stronger, and 1800ttd. And their prices higher.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 30th, 2023, 7:43 pm

Where can I get 3.75 litre bottles of Jhonny? Anyone know the cost as well?

Postby eliteauto » July 30th, 2023, 11:28 pm

Naughty Grape has a 3L JWB listed at $1338.75

https://www.naughtygrapett.com/product/ ... ack-12-yr/

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 31st, 2023, 8:23 am

update on this

Padnah of mine DIY'ed it with some brewer's yeast and it just tasted like regular homemade wine with a hint of honey. Wasn't too sweet because the yeast converted everything to alco but BOY howdy did it have a kick

Maybe a different yeast strain would yield a different taste. Or maybe his methods weren't too controlled. Meeno na
But it LASH

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 31st, 2023, 12:57 pm

eliteauto wrote:Naughty Grape has a 3L JWB listed at $1338.75

https://www.naughtygrapett.com/product/ ... ack-12-yr/

Well I clearly didn't check that site properly :|

Thanks elite.

death365

Postby death365 » August 27th, 2023, 4:39 am

How the black label rum tasting now a days? I've heard because it's less popular its cured longer and tasting better