$4 a month rent for Benihana Restaurant LOL WUT??

Halfbreed07

$4 a month rent for Benihana Restaurant LOL WUT??

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 26th, 2012, 8:31 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Bha ... 01911.html

Bharath: $4 rent for Benihana restaurant
Story Created: Oct 25, 2012 at 10:46 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 25, 2012 at 10:46 PM ECT
THE CHEF'S special at Benihana is "only $36" according to information posted on the website of the Japanese restaurant and sushi bar.
According to information from Terrence Bharath, the attorney for the CLICO policyholders group at the commission of enquiry into the collapse of CL Financial and the Hindu Credit Union (HCU), this $36 price could pay Benihana's rent at Trincity Mall for nine months.
Bharath yesterday told the enquiry that Benihana's rent at the mall was $4 a month.
He made the statement while cross-examining Anthony Fifi, the former managing director of Home Construction Limited (HCL).
Trincity Mall is one of the subsidiaries of HCL.
Fifi's wife is the franchise holder of Benihana.
During cross-examination, Bharath asked Fifi what Benihana paid in monthly rental.
Fifi said he did not know what the Benihana's monthly rental was but said it was a "fair payment".
"First of all Benihana was a mistake not from the point of view you are talking about, from the point of view from taking it to Trincity, " Fifi said.
Fifi said Benihana is an international name, and Trincity Mall needed such a brand for "international exposure".
Bharath said Benihana's $4 rent is almost "300 per cent less that the going rate at the mall".
"Let me explain something to you, if you check Benihana you will find that Benihana has 20 feet of frontage onto the mall, if you examine normal mall leasing clearly you will find that the restaurant across the road has extensive frontage. Benihana occupies C class space," Fifi said.
Fifi accused Bharath of "ignoring common-service charges and everything else".
BHARATH: What were you paying for the rental of Benihana's in Trincity Mall?
FIFI: A very fair rental.
BHARATH: $4?
FIFI: Whatever it was, it was a very fair rental I cannot tell you the number but I know when it was being negotiated, recognising my interest in it, I made absolutely certain...first of all Benihana was a mistake, not from the point of view you are talking about, from the point of view of taking it to Trincity. We put Benihana in Trincity to help Trincity. It is an international name and Trincity at the time needed international exposure.
BHARATH: My instructions are you got that rental on $4 a month.....
FIFI: Whatever rental it was it was extremely.....
BHARATH: And it was almost 300 per cent less than the going rate in the mall.
FIFI: Let me explain something to you. If you check Benihana you will find that Benihana has 20 feet of frontage onto the mall. If you examine normal mall leasing clearly you will find that the restaurant across the road has extensive frontage. Benihana occupies C-class space hence....you are ignoring common-service charges and everything else. Benihana right now pays on average about $95,000 a month.
BHARATH: Mr Fifi....
FIFI: Since you are making accusations get your facts correct.
With all the charges accumulated, Benihana has a monthly fee of $95,000, Fifi said.
Bharath and Fifi also disagreed on the amount of compensation HCL received through his company PMI Limited, from the HCL.
Bharath claimed that Fifi received $135 million between the period 2004-2008.
Fifi said the amount he received was no more than $79 million for that period.
In the contract between PMI and HCL, Fifi received one per cent from every customer who stayed at the Holiday Inn Express.
PMI Limited is a private company Fifi founded after retiring from HCL and Cl Financial.
The corporate secretary for HCL, Roxanne Husbands, was also the corporate secretary for PMI.
Fifi said PMI, a company with its head office in Barbados, only had two employees— " himself and a driver".
He said there was "nothing clandestine, hidden or underhand" about the situation.
Bharath yesterday said that the One Woodbrook Place project which was spearheaded by Fifi was now indebted to its bankers in the amount of $1.4 billion.
Bharath said even if all of the multi-million dollar apartments at One Woodbrook Place were sold, the project will still be a loss.
Fifi yesterday repeated several times during cross-examination that he could not recall things that took place at board meetings.
Fifi was a director on the CL Financial, CLICO and HCL boards.

TriniAutoMart

Re: $4 a month rent for Benihana Restaurant LOL WUT??

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 26th, 2012, 8:43 am

when yuh big...

Postby SR » October 26th, 2012, 8:54 am

but thier prices are too high and the service sucks big time

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » October 26th, 2012, 9:01 am

First Fifi said he did not know the number for the rent and then he said 95,000/month? If this is true, it continues to prove the rampant corruption in this country.

Postby foss » October 26th, 2012, 9:07 am

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 26th, 2012, 9:09 am

Maths in the enquiry/newspaper report doesn't make sense at all.

$4/month
300%less than going rate at the mall
Is it that the going rate is $12/month

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2012, 9:09 am

SR wrote:but thier prices are too high and the service sucks big time

I agree the prices are high compared but the few times I went the service was pretty good.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2012, 9:11 am

Conrad wrote:Maths in the enquiry/newspaper report doesn't make sense at all.

$4/month

Was wondering the same thing and the only I could come up with is that they talking about a per square foot price.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 26th, 2012, 9:16 am

$4/month

thats how they get u to buy the papers .....

they meant per sq ft i think

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 26th, 2012, 9:33 am

Ever been Bella Italia downstairs?

Looks tempting

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 26th, 2012, 9:34 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:

$4/month

thats how they get u to buy the papers .....

they meant per sq ft i think

Unless the papers quoted him wrong (won't be the first time something like that happened), the attempt at misleading the public would rest on the person doing the cross examination no?

What's the actual going rate per sq. ft. for TCM?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 26th, 2012, 9:35 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:

Looks tempting

Love the food hate the price :lol:

Anton

Postby Anton » October 26th, 2012, 9:41 am

I agree the prices are high compared but the few times I went the service was pretty good.

Same here, got decent service, albeit it was midweek and the place was almost empty.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 26th, 2012, 9:43 am

Imagine how many tuners went there and spend big money..........lol

Postby RASC » October 26th, 2012, 9:44 am

As mentioned before...most likely square footage. Which for a mall seems extremely low regardless. I may be wrong, perhaps someone can share some information.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 26th, 2012, 9:46 am

Another example of how the money flows with the Syr...........ummm big boy community. That's why I stop going those places.

Postby SR » October 26th, 2012, 9:49 am

service and food was great when they now opened but in the last 2 years pricing structure changed menu changed staff changed and service went downhill

the last 2 times i had been there the service reminded me of the service you get in an all you can eat buffet

sat by the bar and noticed soft drinks were being served from 2 litre bottles instead of indivudual bottles or a dispenser
same rag used to wipe the counter was being used to wipe glasses
ice container was uncovered and noticed the rag used to wipe the counter fell in it.....ice was not replaced and the person behind the bar hoped i didnt see

this was mid week when the place was quiet

havent been there in more than a year

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 26th, 2012, 9:51 am

Conrad wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

Looks tempting

Had a feeling it would be so lol.

What was the average cost like?

Postby shogun » October 26th, 2012, 9:55 am

SR wrote:service and food was great when they now opened but in the last 2 years pricing structure changed menu changed staff changed and service went downhill

the last 2 times i had been there the service reminded me of the service you get in an all you can eat buffet

sat by the bar and noticed soft drinks were being served from 2 litre bottles instead of indivudual bottles or a dispenser
ice container was uncovered and noticed the rag used to wipe the counter fell in it.....ice was not replaced and the person behind the bar hoped i didnt see

Probably a lil longer for me. Wow, how their standards have fallen.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 26th, 2012, 9:57 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Conrad wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

Looks tempting

Had a feeling it would be so lol.

What was the average cost like?

About 2 years ago, $4xx (close to $500 I think) for the gf and I. Reached late so it was simply the main meal and drink. Quantity was more than enough. Atmosphere was excellent, no random child that parents didn't know to leave home.

Not that bad a price for some but I'm...urrrr economical.

Postby Country_Bookie » October 26th, 2012, 10:14 am

Bharath yesterday said that the One Woodbrook Place project which was spearheaded by Fifi was now indebted to its bankers in the amount of $1.4 billion.
Bharath said even if all of the multi-million dollar apartments at One Woodbrook Place were sold, the project will still be a loss.

Anyone knows what percentage of the apartments are currently occupied?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » October 26th, 2012, 10:48 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:Bharath claimed that Fifi received $135 million between the period 2004-2008.
Fifi said the amount he received was no more than $79 million for that period.

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2012, 12:34 pm

they charge too much to see somebody flip onions on a burger cart

Postby Sky » October 26th, 2012, 12:45 pm

SR wrote:service and food was great when they now opened but in the last 2 years pricing structure changed menu changed staff changed and service went downhill

HHHHHHHHHHHEEEEEEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!

Postby skylinechild » October 26th, 2012, 12:51 pm

cause they know who "you" is....by the time they see the evo pull up and you wearing the branded trinituner "juzzy" and long pants...a quick google of the brand on the "juzzy" and they put it all together.... :lol: :lol:

me now...if i pull up in a PTSC bus....is UDFR for me...

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 26th, 2012, 1:06 pm

Only Uneducated individuals and people who live under rocks can consider what they serve be fit to be called sushit................

That establishment is no longer considered as a place of sushi.................

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 26th, 2012, 1:17 pm

Prices high
Service is poor
Some cleaning could happen more often

If there rent rate is really that low then Yes
I made absolutely certain...first of all Benihana was a mistake

Postby S_2NR » October 26th, 2012, 4:27 pm

them service is sheit.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 26th, 2012, 4:38 pm

best advice i got 3 yrs ago ... better i buy 2 doubles dan go there.

nice sushi place i been to recently is more vino in south

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 26th, 2012, 5:27 pm

MonsterPower wrote:best advice i got 3 yrs ago ... better i buy 2 doubles dan go there.

nice sushi place i been to recently is more vino in south

+1

good service, ok prices, good sushi.