DIVALI 2012

DIVALI 2012

Postby maj. tom » October 12th, 2012, 1:31 am

Tuesday November 13, 2012 will be declared a public holiday in observance of the Hindu festival of Divali.

Oleander

Re: DIVALI 2012

Postby Oleander » October 12th, 2012, 1:46 am

Yesssss :twisted:

Postby stev » October 12th, 2012, 2:15 am

wednesday 14th November should also be a holiday......for people to pick up deya / sit on the toilet all day.

....fireworks still illegal by d way???

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 12th, 2012, 2:43 am

maj. tom wrote:Tuesday November 13, 2012 will be declared a public holiday in observance of the Hindu festival of Divali.

excellent....divali holiday is always a bess holiday.....

Postby MG Man » October 12th, 2012, 5:55 am

Oleander wrote:Image

sawdust excites you?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 12th, 2012, 6:06 am

I can't wait to hear the good news about people damaging their faces from bussin' bamboo and people who use scratch bombs injuring themselves, especially if they are children. That's the most exciting part of Divali for me.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 12th, 2012, 6:25 am

would of preferred it to fall on a Monday though

Centric

Postby Centric » October 12th, 2012, 6:58 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:I can't wait to hear the good news about people damaging their faces from bussin' bamboo and people who use scratch bombs injuring themselves, especially if they are children. That's the most exciting part of Divali for me.

:| :| :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 12th, 2012, 7:15 am

sawdust excites you?

looking like safran,but I tort most ppl knew it was the 13th

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 12th, 2012, 9:00 am

that time again, yayyyyy

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 12th, 2012, 2:40 pm

Ollour sure Divali didn't pass already? The amount of parang and christmas ads I hearing, I thought it did. :shock:

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » October 12th, 2012, 2:42 pm

not too mention soca tunes already being released!

Postby redmanjp » October 12th, 2012, 2:46 pm

fouljuice wrote:Ollour sure Divali didn't pass already? The amount of parang and christmas ads I hearing, I thought it did. :shock:

ent! why dey rushin xmas so! only to kill it completely come 26th Dec. wit soca

Postby BrotherHood » October 12th, 2012, 3:35 pm

ZeroOne wrote:would of preferred it to fall on a Monday though

Postby stev » October 12th, 2012, 4:02 pm

ZeroOne wrote:would of preferred it to fall on a Monday though

nah...day b4 divali does be rel busy for the hindu community...extra runs to the grocery etc. on Sunday all about does be lock up.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 12th, 2012, 7:01 pm

Diwali the Hindu festival of lights was brought to Trinidad and Tobago by Hindus who came to these parts as indentured labourers in the year 1845.
This is the largest Hindu festival in Trinidad.It is celebrated with the performance of Lakshme Pooja(worship unto the Goddess of light,wealth,and prosperity) and at night time, thousands of earthen lamps called Deeyas are lit to dispell darkness.
Darkness here includes both physical and mental darkness in the form of ignorance.
In the early days of this celebration, the Hindus celebrated this festival in a very small way.They made a minimum of 5 deeyas per household and by filling it with oil or Ghee (clarified butter) a wick made of wool was placed in`it. This wick was lighted on fire and the result was a beautiful little lamp. They would of course invite the Pandit(Hindu priest) to their homes and they would perform Lakshme Pooja.
With the passing of time and representations from prominent Hindu representatives, the Government of Trinidad and Tobago granted a National Holiday for this celebration.
At present, Diwali is celebrated in an extremely grand style with each household lighting dozens of deeyas (lamps made of clay) an it is not uncommon to see public celebrations at least a week before the actually designated day.Temples throughout the island as well as other community groups celebrate Diwali in a very festive manner.
The making of deeyas is now a spin-off industry in Trinidad and contributes to the colossal of this the largest of all Hindu festivals.
Last edited by Oleander on October 15th, 2012, 12:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby AllTrac » October 12th, 2012, 7:35 pm

redmanjp wrote:
fouljuice wrote:Ollour sure Divali didn't pass already? The amount of parang and christmas ads I hearing, I thought it did. :shock:

ent! why dey rushin xmas so! only to kill it completely come 26th Dec. wit soca

its all because carnival falling in the first week of Feb 2013, money making time for artist, promoters, media, djs etc so they just doing their part to get diwali, then christmas out of the way. Normal thing.

Postby 1UZFE » October 12th, 2012, 8:54 pm

yeah fellas!!! Invite a bro for some curry and barfi !!!!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 12th, 2012, 9:36 pm

Wont be celebrating as big as previous years but i got to send of sum fireworks ...

anyone have chatainge (sp) tree bearing ....

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 12th, 2012, 10:18 pm

Gawwwd I lovve chatainge
Somebody invite me for Divali please :(

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 12th, 2012, 11:14 pm

what about ramleela...? it start yet.....?

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 12th, 2012, 11:16 pm

I love drinking deya oil

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » October 12th, 2012, 11:42 pm

MonsterPower wrote:Wont be celebrating as big as previous years but i got to send of sum fireworks ...

anyone have chatainge (sp) tree bearing ....

Check in de market .. last time we paid $5 for 1 and it was ok size ..

What's with tomatoes being $15/lb ? tomatoes more expensive than chicken !!!

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » October 13th, 2012, 8:51 am

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:what about ramleela...? it start yet.....?

yea ramleela start in some places already... We celebrating our own from d 30th of october to d 5th of nov in rio claro.
Make ah pass tru, it does be rel Bess!

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 13th, 2012, 10:13 am

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » October 13th, 2012, 11:29 am

Oh yeah :D

Postby 1UZFE » October 13th, 2012, 11:32 am

<=xjemler=> wrote:

Oh yeah :D

allyuh only playing with my heart.....

Postby rfari » October 13th, 2012, 12:37 pm

Who haz the parasad link?

Postby 1UZFE » October 13th, 2012, 1:00 pm

rfari wrote:Who haz the parasad link?

rfari invite meh for some curry...

Postby rfari » October 13th, 2012, 1:03 pm

1UZFE wrote:
rfari wrote:Who haz the parasad link?

rfari invite meh for some curry...

I does link my curry on the outside for divali. I does vibes meh bredrin dem in grande and puna. Wha yuh for?