Opinions: Best/way to boost octane or run engine safely

dread_2002

Opinions: Best/way to boost octane or run engine safely

Postby dread_2002 » October 2nd, 2012, 2:08 pm

Alright now we know the problem.
We are gas guzzlers and CNG is not an option.

What are the best ways to boost octane from 92-95 ? Example: Octane Boosters or maybe adding some c16

Are there any better ways to run engine safely at 92 octane without sacrificing alot of performance?
Example: Methanol Kit

How would these methods affect our Natural aspirated engines vs turbo/supercharger engines?

im no expert on fuel and i welcome educated responses

Re: Opinions: Best/way to boost octane or run engine safely

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 2:13 pm

Postby A172 » October 2nd, 2012, 2:16 pm

what's the CR on the popular economy engines locally that owners feel they "need" anything more than 92 octane fuel?

Postby rollingstock » October 2nd, 2012, 2:23 pm

A172 wrote:what's the CR on the popular economy engines locally that owners feel they "need" anything more than 92 octane fuel?

12:1

Postby r3iXmann » October 2nd, 2012, 2:27 pm

A172 wrote:what's the CR on the popular economy engines locally that owners feel they "need" anything more than 92 octane fuel?

ent. and them who does experience 'performance loss' when they switch to super :|

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 2:31 pm

r3iXmann wrote:ent. and them who does experience 'performance loss' when they switch to super :|
EH?
"ECU's advance timing, the less knock they detect" what does translate to in your mind?
and that's mostly true of all vehicles with coil packs.

Postby r3iXmann » October 2nd, 2012, 2:34 pm

r3iXmann wrote:ent. and them who does experience 'performance loss' when they switch to super :|
EH?
"ECU's advance timing, the less knock they detect" what does translate to in your mind?

i was referring to the folks that don't need premium and use it needlessly

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 2:38 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
EH?
not all coil packed vehicles NEED premium. but there was an advantage to using it.
Even in vehicles with distributors. Timing advance = more power.

Postby r3iXmann » October 2nd, 2012, 2:52 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
EH?
not all coil packed vehicles NEED premium. but there was an advantage to using it.
Even in vehicles with distributors. Timing advance = more power.

didnt another 2nr dyno a new swift two days apart with super and premium and there was NO difference in performance?

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 3:01 pm

r3iXmann wrote:didnt another 2nr dyno a new swift two days apart with super and premium and there was NO difference in performance?
so one car dictates what happens in all?
my dyno was less on super than on premium, because it was pinging over 5k (actually 4700). does that affect your "point"?

Postby r3iXmann » October 2nd, 2012, 3:40 pm

sorry sir, i apologize :|

never dynoed but i feel no difference in super or premium

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 3:46 pm

r3iXmann wrote:never dynoed but i feel no difference in super or premium

at standstill is at standstill is at standstill hoss. dafuq. :poke:

Postby r3iXmann » October 2nd, 2012, 3:53 pm

r3iXmann wrote:never dynoed but i feel no difference in super or premium

at standstill is at standstill is at standstill hoss. dafuq. :poke:

ohgoar, is a Honda, doh loud the scene nah :oops:

W2J

Postby W2J » October 2nd, 2012, 4:00 pm

WMI kit is the best and safest solution besides the higher octane your EGT's and combustion chamber will run cooler and cleaner, see htp://www.facebook.com/teknetperformance.com. If you want to go el chepo 1 Gallon Methanol/Ethanol to 49Lts gas will give you about 2 full points increase. Be advised use at your own risk since it could increase your AFR's by as much as .3 which is not really a bad thing depending how the ecu is tuned.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » October 2nd, 2012, 4:28 pm

im read some information concerning water meth kits.
from what i have read they actually perform better on turbocharged vehicles as compared to a n/a vehicle.
basically...
A water meth kit adds the mixture through your intake system therefore the more stuff u spray inside your air intake system is the less room for the flow of air particles.
a turbocharged vehicle takes in a lot more air (because of forced induction) therefore the water meth kit doesnt affect the engine performance negatively since so much air is already being sucked up by the turbo.
whereas for a n/a engine (no forced induction)the water/meth kit actually can constrict an engines performance due to the fact that there is less room for air particles to flow. these air particles now have to fight for space between the water and the meth particles being injected into the system.
not saying it cant work.. but this is what happens

I think for turbo ppl.. water meth might be the best solution

Postby A172 » October 2nd, 2012, 4:33 pm

WMI is a woft for your basic grocery getter motor bro

only n/a engines it will actually serve a purpose on would be high comp. performance based engines(think K20R) or "normal" n/a engines that have been turbocharged

W2J

Postby W2J » October 2nd, 2012, 4:39 pm

I disagree A172, I have seen cars with base timing so high you actually get audible knock and these are ODBII+ ecu's that has both low and high timing maps that based on knock would interpolate for new values.

Postby A172 » October 2nd, 2012, 4:54 pm

you would recommend water meth injection for say, d15, ga/qg15, 1nzfe etc etc??

Postby X2 » October 2nd, 2012, 5:00 pm

Alot of lips smacking about people who wasting money on premium... it's like ppl think super gas is actually anywhere near the octane needed for modern cars. 92RON is not acceptable for MANY new cars... even my sub 10:1 compression, my lancer cannot run on super without pinging badly... on super, timing must be pulled enough to avoid pinging, but it then starts to consume gas at a ridiculous rate and experiences significant power loss... not worth running super.

Meth injection should be mixed with water and despite the octane boosting benefits of meth, the 50/50 water mix (to make it less volatile)... actually can reduce overall HP production on N/A cars... tuning would be the key to that as you have to run more timing with meth to make the extra power... and if you run out of methanol... woot... have fun getting home without switchable ecu maps.

A typical store bought octane booster can increase maybe 10%, which is equivalent to roughly 1-2 points overall on the RON scale... which isn't much when coming from super.... but the effects are unpredictable since heat and other factors during storage and distribution can affect the ultimate performance of the boosters.

Regarding ecu's ability to reduce knock... it depends on the brand of engine, but many factory ECU's DO NOT pull timing when you get knock under throttle as often, the knock sensor input is not regarded under WOT. Some of them only check for knock at idle or partial throttle conditions and may switch timing maps accordingly. Other ecu's may reference both long and short term values before making timing changes. It's a safety precaution designed to protect against horribly bad gas... it's not guaranteed to safeguard you in every situation... that's what aftermarket sensors are for !

Toluene is another option but either way... for a regular DD, maybe consider running a premium/super mix ?
Last edited by X2 on October 2nd, 2012, 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 2nd, 2012, 5:01 pm

A172 wrote:you would recommend water meth injection for say, d15, ga/qg15, 1nzfe etc etc??

I dont think he was referring to grandma who driver her sentra/wingroad/corolla to and from hilo.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 2nd, 2012, 5:05 pm

Cooling Mist Methanol Stage 2 Installed. No care.

Postby r3iXmann » October 2nd, 2012, 5:12 pm

X2 wrote:Alot of lips smacking about people who wasting money on premium... it's like ppl think super gas is actually anywhere near the octane needed for modern cars. 92RON is not acceptable for MANY new cars... even my sub 10:1 compression, my lancer cannot run on super without pinging badly... on super, timing must be pulled enough to avoid pinging, but it then starts to consume gas at a ridiculous rate and experiences significant power loss... not worth running super.

so...how come in Jamaica and a few other caribbean countries where their gas is not higher than 91 (their premium) AND they have the same cars as we do, they have no issues?

Lance

Postby Lance » October 2nd, 2012, 5:15 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Cooling Mist Methanol Stage 2 Installed. No care.

What's your impressions on the kit thus far?

Hoping to have one installed soon

Postby Monk BANzai » October 2nd, 2012, 5:22 pm

Lance wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Cooling Mist Methanol Stage 2 Installed. No care.

What's your impressions on the kit thus far?

Hoping to have one installed soon

well boi that issa discussion within itself..as everyone/mechanic has their versions of where to install this that and the other. Initially the purpose of the install was for high boost runs and the occasional "blast" during the day ( the Legacy's TMIC suffers from ALOT of heat soak due to its location) But since Kamala gone and do she thing...we're going to have to retune for a more practical fuel saving application.

Direct answer to your ques: Its ok for now. After all, if i dont like it...theres always Ebay.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 2nd, 2012, 5:25 pm

if it means anything...im looking at the Sno Performance kit....

Lance

Postby Lance » October 2nd, 2012, 5:32 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:if it means anything...im looking at the Sno Performance kit....

Check PM

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » October 2nd, 2012, 5:33 pm

my SR20ve pings like a beatch on super.. premium ftw always!
but my gas bill is gonna be wayyyy to much now..
so im really studying what to do..
i dont want to sacrifice performance too much but
lets put it this way.. i average 2 tanks a week..

super...approximately $120 a tank.. thats $240 a week = $960 a month
premium.. approximately $280 a tank now... thats $560 a week = $$2240 a month
WTFF...
i can buy 8 octane boosters at 100.00 each and run it with super... still saves money. as compared to premium..

i even studying to throw a coke bottle of some c16 in d tank and see what happens

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 2nd, 2012, 5:41 pm

dread_2002 wrote:What are the best ways to boost octane from 92-95 ? Example: Octane Boosters or maybe adding some c16

buy premium.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » October 2nd, 2012, 6:20 pm

X2 wrote: 92RON is not acceptable for MANY new cars... even my sub 10:1 compression, my lancer cannot run on super without pinging badly... on super, timing must be pulled enough to avoid pinging, but it then starts to consume gas at a ridiculous rate and experiences significant power loss... not worth running super.

THANK YOU!!! Some friggin' sense for once...

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » October 2nd, 2012, 6:22 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
X2 wrote:Alot of lips smacking about people who wasting money on premium... it's like ppl think super gas is actually anywhere near the octane needed for modern cars. 92RON is not acceptable for MANY new cars... even my sub 10:1 compression, my lancer cannot run on super without pinging badly... on super, timing must be pulled enough to avoid pinging, but it then starts to consume gas at a ridiculous rate and experiences significant power loss... not worth running super.

so...how come in Jamaica and a few other caribbean countries where their gas is not higher than 91 (their premium) AND they have the same cars as we do, they have no issues?

They use the AKI to describe the octane level.. That's why. Our Premium is only 90.