Do you think the AG and Volney should resign?

Sivic Distributors

Do you think the AG and Volney should resign?

Postby Sivic Distributors » September 17th, 2012, 12:54 pm

Do you think AG Anand Ramlogan and Justice Minister Herbert Volney should resign over the recent controversies created by the passing into law of section 34 on Act?

If so, Sign the petition at the below link.

http://petitions.tigweb.org/resignation

Re: Do you think the AG and Volney should resign?

Postby rfari » September 17th, 2012, 10:34 pm

They should be exiled

Postby S_2NR » September 17th, 2012, 11:08 pm

rfari wrote:They should be exiled

Postby Hook » September 17th, 2012, 11:23 pm

Rudebwoyanand shoulda collect some hard hand since d "Granny Quila" grandcharge. I liked him better when he was a rough lawyer writing for the papers instead of making excuses for that airport problem he inherited.

Postby Habit7 » September 18th, 2012, 12:07 am

No, No, No,

Let us march against Rowley for him to resign! http://www.guardian.co.tt/ticker/unc-ca ... nst-rowley

Postby BrotherHood » September 18th, 2012, 12:35 am

Habit7 wrote:No, No, No,

Let us march against Rowley for him to resign! http://www.guardian.co.tt/ticker/unc-ca ... nst-rowley

Fack you.

This government voting themselves OUT right now.

rfari wrote:They should be exiled

x10

Postby Greypatch » September 18th, 2012, 9:21 am

In a first world country they would already be OUT the door.

But in this banana republic they may well get a pay raise.

Postby eliteauto » September 18th, 2012, 9:49 am

with what Anand has over Kamla it hard to eject him, but she's pissed as fack right now

Postby TRAE » September 18th, 2012, 10:01 am

Anand and Volney is 2 clowns yes... but i cyah say they hadda resign, they should ultimately see the road they're going and make that decision for themselves.

i doh really have a problem with that law saying that after 10 years of no trial yuh hadda go free, the US is 6mths to 1 yr.

And Rowley go hadda go down if the AG dem going down--- leadership pass he straight

Postby Greypatch » September 18th, 2012, 10:12 am

eliteauto wrote:with what Anand has over Kamla it hard to eject him, but she's pissed as fack right now

more NEW POLITICS ?

Postby Hook » September 18th, 2012, 10:55 am

nothing new about having files on ppl and using it as leverage meng

triniangie

Postby triniangie » September 18th, 2012, 12:06 pm

CCN TV6
Police have granted the PNM permission to hold its 1pm march. The march aims at calling for the resignation of Volney and a new AG.

omegadan

Postby omegadan » September 18th, 2012, 3:21 pm

They SHOULD, but it won't happen.

The idea that Volney thought it was appropriate to conduct business with someone who the State has a fraud case against, especially as Minister of Justice - paying to have a retreat at Ish Galbaransingh's resort - is a real insult to Trinis.

But we like it so.

Postby Habit7 » September 18th, 2012, 3:24 pm

Will Kamla pull the trigger?

Postby sMASH » September 18th, 2012, 3:31 pm

no, they should not.

reason being, too many persons in public and high office do too much crap and get away with doing it, with out any sort of reprimand or recompense for the damage done. in foreign countries, the mere associaton with the bad action is enough to generate backlash so their lives become hard, that is why resignation is enough there.
but in sweet tnt, even if u have a poor public rep, life goes on as normal so nothing effectively happens.

what i want, are that the people involved in crap, when it is detected or discovered, that they go under some sort of penalization, either prosecution or fines. if they do not think that what they did was wrong, at least they will know that we think it is wrong and they wuold pay their debt to the society they belong to.

heng dem high!!!

triniangie

Postby triniangie » September 18th, 2012, 3:34 pm

At President's House. Crowd chanting Kamla Must Go Right Now!

Via Sampson Nanton
MSJ Leader David Abdullah marches with MP Keith Rowley up Maraval Rd (via A. M. Marcelle)
via ENT! BREAKING NEWS

Postby Habit7 » September 18th, 2012, 3:40 pm

sMASH wrote:no, they should not.

reason being, too many persons in public and high office do too much crap and get away with doing it, with out any sort of reprimand or recompense for the damage done.

They should not be fired because others have gotten away with it before?

Are you giving for or against?

Or are you putting party before country?

Postby Country_Bookie » September 18th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Why only them? All MPs and Senators who supported the bill should resign.
Time to clean house.

Postby eliteauto » September 18th, 2012, 4:02 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Why only them? All MPs and Senators who supported the bill should resign.
Time to clean house.

have you read the bill? Is the issue here the bill or the proclamation of a section of the Act for a particular purpose?

Postby BrotherHood » September 18th, 2012, 4:19 pm

Habit7 wrote:

reason being, too many persons in public and high office do too much crap and get away with doing it, with out any sort of reprimand or recompense for the damage done.

Read the rest of the man post na. You quote and edit what you wanted to reply to.

Postby eliteauto » September 18th, 2012, 4:25 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Read the rest of the man post na. You quote and edit what you wanted to reply to.

but the rest of the post makes him contradictory, they should not resign because other ppl did crap and get away but we should prosecute them and fine them, which is it? He makes no sense IMO because some offences or acts may not be illegal but are immoral. In a developed country they would be long gone

Postby De Dragon » September 18th, 2012, 5:44 pm

I'm never quite sure who's more delusional, those calling for people to resign, or those who actually believe that they will.

Sivic Distributors

Postby Sivic Distributors » September 18th, 2012, 7:42 pm

Can't believe some people here defending these criminals.... sigh...

Postby sMASH » September 18th, 2012, 9:07 pm

in many systems, when the higher ups don't want u there no more, but they don't want to big commotion, they ask u to tender your resignation. take the jack warner/ben haman case, those guys submitted their resignations or what not, to PREVENT investigation into the matter.

the rationale being, from time past, that if the person under question leaves, they forfeit their post, and the organization leaves the matter UNINVESTIGATED.

what i am saying is, that they should be held accountable and suffer some sort of punishment. in trinidad vacating office does not have the harsh backlash as in other countries, a few perks are lost but not much. life just gets simpler for those guys in this country.

in other country, the stigma for the reason of leaving office has their personal lives in turmoil, their financial lives suffer unless they have a lot of reserve money, their lively hood sees presshah cause no body want to do business with them.
in this country nothing much.
so for them to resign is not even a slap in the wrist, but a virtual slap in the wrist.

what i want is that they go up in front of an ethics committee, explain their actions, be seen as using their privilege of office to seek conflicting interests (like thiefcheira) and spend some time in jail.

why i say jail, why i say be so harsh?
they are too intelligent, too long in the system, in seriously high positions in the nation, with serious resources of the people and have too much example to be seen as to misbehave like that in office.

just like when a father punishing the older sibling more than the younger one... they too big and know better to do that.... same ting, they too big to be misbehaving like that..

JAIL THEM.

forceful resignation is too easy on them.

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2012, 9:07 pm

Sivic Distributors wrote:Can't believe some people here defending these criminals.... sigh...

are you really surprised? really? Our populace and governance has not matured yet.

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2012, 9:20 pm

the real issue is that in this country nobody is every held guilty for these clear cases of bobol
resignation doesn't prove guilt of bobol
jack warner resigned from fifa to avoid that guilt proven

if what prakash says about the document that was debated is different than what max proclaimed then some kind of audit needs to be done to uncover that fraud and somebody found guilty
and make a jail for treason

Postby S_2NR » September 18th, 2012, 9:25 pm

Sivic Distributors wrote:Can't believe some people here defending these criminals.... sigh...

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » September 18th, 2012, 9:46 pm

if anand had a brain he would have allowed ish & steve to be extradited,let uncle sam deal with that issue,volney never had any credability ,seeing the way he handled the brad boyce muder/manslaughter case,but then all lawyers are facking crooks who write laws with loopholes.

Postby sMASH » September 18th, 2012, 10:09 pm

hoss, pull yuh head out yuh as.... sand. ag don't want nutten to happen to ish and co. the man doing every ting and more to protect them

Postby pioneer » September 18th, 2012, 10:10 pm

Today was a historical day for T&T and our democracy.

Today should send this government a loud message, too bad they know nothing of good governance.