Re: Happy 50th Independence Day!!!!

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2012, 6:27 am

Happy 50th Independence !!!!

ImageImageImageImage

c@ri$$@

Postby c@ri$$@ » August 31st, 2012, 7:00 am

Have a wonderful Independence weekend everybody!!!!!

Postby Stephon. » August 31st, 2012, 7:17 am

Lol

I got an email from carnival tv. I think they're streaming whatever is going on in town today

E-TECH

Postby E-TECH » August 31st, 2012, 8:17 am

HAPPY 50th ANNIVERSARY OF INDEPENDENCE

Image Image
Last edited by E-TECH on August 31st, 2012, 8:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 31st, 2012, 8:21 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Happy 50th Independence day folks!!

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2012, 8:21 am

❤♫❤♫❤.•*¨`*•..¸♥☼♥¸.•*¨`*•.♫❤
╔════════ ೋღ❤ღೋ ════════╗
* ♥нαρρу 50тн ιи∂єρєи∂єи¢є ♥ *❤♫❤❤
╚════════ ೋღ❤ღೋ ════════╝
❤♫❤♫❤.•*¨`*•..¸♥☼♥¸.•*¨`*•.♫❤

[intro]
Islands in the sun
Islands in the fun

[verse 1]
Welcome, welcome one and all to de land of fete
Trini to bone, trini to de bone
When it come to bacchanal, well they can't beat we yet
Look, sweet women parade abundantly
De brendren dey full ah energy
Some people say God is a Trini
Paradise and all convincing me
God gave us a spirit- firey
But nut’in in de world don’t bother we
But look a smart man gone wid we money
We still come out and mash up de party

[chorus]
(Sweet sweet T and T) Oh how I love up dis country
(Sweet sweet T and T) No place in dis world I'd rather be
(Sweet sweet T and T) Oh how I love up meh country
(Sweet sweet T and T) All dis sugar can't be good for me

[sub-chorus]
(Oh oh) From Toco to Caroni
(Oh oh) Maravel to Sans Souci
(Oh oh) From Scarborough to Coco Reef
(Oh oh) Profiling on Fredrick Street

[chorus]

[verse 2]
All these years I spent abroad in de cold, longing to be home
God I pray that some sweet day, I will no longer have to roam
De problems we have are plain to see
We prove we could stand de scrutiny
All and all, a true democracy
How we vote, is not how we party
There's no place like home some people say
Though some have to leave to make their way
But in their hearts I know their destiny
To come home and big up they country

[chorus]

[sub-chorus]
(Oh oh) From Couva to Signal Hill
(Oh oh) Arima to Charlotteville
(Oh oh) Matelot down to Port-A-Spain
(Oh oh) We playin' mas sun or rain

[chorus]

[bridge]
(rudder chant)
Look ah Trini gyal dey, she breaking away
Tobago gyal, oh what a bacchanal
De men gone wild, de wickedest style
De gyal look back, dey on de attack
De style just change, man re-arrange
De fete gone clear, cause nothing can compare to a Trini rising
Oh no no, nothing can compare to a Trini rising

[verse 3]
As crazy as we might seem to be
We still fight to be a family
Indian, African or a Chinee
Serian, French-Creole and Portugese
We vex with a spirit fiery
Some people say God is a Trini
Sweet women parade abundantly
Now de problem is plain to see

[chorus]

[sub-chorus]
(Oh oh) West Mooring to Locirot
(Oh oh) From Sando to Mayaro
(Oh oh) From Penal to Grand Riviére
(Oh oh) Sweetness in abundance everywhere

[chorus]

[end]
No no no no
Nah nah nah nah nah nah nah
Sweet T and T

´✫¸.•°*”˜˜”
..✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•.✫
☻/ღ˚ •。* ♥♥ ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。* °♥ ˚ • ★ *˚ .ღ 。
/▌*˛˚ ░ ░ٌٌٌ♥ĤĂРРŶ 50ŤĤ ĨŃĎĔРĔŃĎĔŃČĔ ˚ *
/ \ ˚. ★ *˛ ˚♥♥* ✰。˚ ˚ღ。* ˛˚ ♥♥ 。✰˚* ˚ ★ღ ˚ 。✰ •* ˚ ♥♥" ✰˚ ♥* ♥♥

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 31st, 2012, 9:01 am

:shock: :shock: :shock:

DENYSE PLUMMER NAH LEAVING LYRICS
They say meh country so stressfull, so tense
With race hate, young jail bait, too much violence
Girl pack up and go, this sweet Trinbago
I tell dem no way (no way)
How de people small-minded, macoscious and loud
Of bobol and scandal they boastful and proud

Yet somehow I see, all this foolery
As window dressing, dey still ah blessing

You see ah just eat ah curry-cue
Peas, rice and cascadoux
Two crab and callaloo
Meh neighbor just gimme
Nah leaving (nah leaving)
Meh navel string so deep and freedom doh come cheap

Where else in de world you know
Sweet Pan and Calypso
People just overflow two days in the street
Is here wey conceive me, is here ah go dead

I see a people creative who must overcome
Make magic from old steel, from rusty old drum
So why should I fear, some tears here and there
I tell dem no way (no way)
Comradery so special like natural instinct
Dey meet you by de river, is come take ah drink
Unspoken but kind, no silent bad mind
So forget New York and and de old talk

You see ah just drink some babash brew
Puncheon rum and Mountain Dew
Ah hot plate ah Pelau too
Meh macomere just bring me

Jump high then wine down low
And if you don't get on so, dey watch you silly

Mayaro, Maracas Bay (Nah Leaving)
Savannah wey children play (Nah Leaving)
De sorrel, de mauby bark (Nah Leaving)
De corn soup, de bake and shark (Nah Leaving)
De Oval, see Lara bat (Nah Leaving)
De picong, de tit-for-tat (Nah Leaving)
De ritual of Carnival (Nah Leaving)
De Soca Chutney Bachannal (Nah Leaving)

I wake up one morning and before I stretch
Is fry bake, my doubles, meh nostril done ketch
And there for my view, an ocean so blue
I going no where (no where)
Humming birds and black birds dat sing in de trees
Chaconia and spices dat pass in de breeze
Wild meat by de grap, agouti and lappe
In forrest grazing, it so amazing

You see ah just watch ah football match
Wey Trini and Yankee clash
So much fun, de balls dat lash
Meh head still dizzy

Milk and de honey flow
Vagrants does bend down low and drink from ah drain

Barb wire, roll wire, we living in jail
Somehow I know, Denyse will prevail
As folks will recall, our problems are small
I going no where (no where)
De heart of my people is of solid gold
Of Soca dey move you with rythym and soul
So who want to leave, because dey believe
Dat out dey easy, I say dey crazy

You see ah just eat ah curry-cue
Peas, rice and cascadoux
Two cab and callaloo
Meh neighbor just gimme

Sweet Pan and Calypso
People just overflow two days in the street

Mayaro, Maracas Bay (Nah Leaving)
Savannah wey children play (Nah Leaving)
De sorrel, de mauby bark (Nah Leaving)
De corn soup, de bake and shark (Nah Leaving)
De Oval, see Lara bat (Nah Leaving)
De picong, de tit-for-tat (Nah Leaving)
De ritual of Carnival (Nah Leaving)
De Soca Chutney Bachannal (Nah Leaving

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » August 31st, 2012, 9:08 am

Nice banner 8-)

demented

Postby demented » August 31st, 2012, 9:24 am

Happy 50th Independence to all of Trinidad & Tobago.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 31st, 2012, 10:09 am

anyone heading out to the savannah today....or tonight for the fireworks?.....

`psycho

Postby `psycho » August 31st, 2012, 10:15 am

Anyone know what time the fireworks starting?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 31st, 2012, 10:17 am

would love to go see it but that will be epic traffic.....whats the best vantage point without having to enter into all the traffic areas?

Postby Country_Bookie » August 31st, 2012, 11:07 am

I'm sure most of us have never said this since primary school:

I solemnly pledge to dedicate my life
To the service of God
And to my country.

I will honour my parents,
My teachers, my leaders and my elders,
And those in authority

I will be clean and honest in all my thoughts,
My words and my deeds.

I will strive, in everything I do
To work together with my fellowmen
Of every creed and race
For the greater happiness of all
And the honour and glory
Of my country.

Postby rfari » August 31st, 2012, 11:09 am

Country_Bookie wrote:I'm sure most of us have never said this since primary school:

I solemnly pledge to dedicate my life
To the service of God
And to my country.

I will honour my parents,
My teachers, my leaders and my elders,
And those in authority

I will be clean and honest in all my thoughts,
My words and my deeds.

I will strive, in everything I do
To work together with my fellowmen
Of every creed and race
For the greater happiness of all
And the honour and glory
Of my country.

Is it still recited in schools?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2012, 11:45 am

^ yes it is, mostly in primary schools though

who remembers this?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2012, 11:55 am

Mighty Sniper - Portrait of Trinidad

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2012, 12:05 pm

UNITY

Despite politics and those who profit from drawing social and racial lines in our diverse population, we as a people have managed to be, for the most part, disciplined, tolerant and productive harmoniously over the decades.
We are Trinbagonians.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 31st, 2012, 2:46 pm

very proud moment , to all trinis everywhere - Happy 50th Anniversary !

Postby toyolink » August 31st, 2012, 2:53 pm

I thank the op for the wishes expressed in this thread and wish to return the compliments.
Today, however has been accompanied by a sense of disappointment since in 1962 when we achieved independent status I as a boy saw this a the dawn of a new day when Trinidad and Tobago will become a place of oneness and everybody will become like one big family.
Yes, as a boy some 50 years ago this day was surrounded by pure real patriotism which you could just feel energising the air.
People were at all kinds of national events really being a family and singing,eating and just beaming with pride.As a child there was no greater feeling of positive expectation for the future.
The following year we were hit by Flora in Tobago where I lived at that time and the way the whole country responded was absolutely fantastic as I remember.
Today,with the passage of time and the prevalence of things that demonstrate our fragmentation and propensity to violence towards each other and a serious lack of 'country before self' disposition,I struggle to be joyous.
I resolve nonetheless,to continue to do all in my limited power to remain true to my country and my fellow country men in keeping with my belief that Trinidad and Tobago is the land of my birth and heritage and will defend my rights as provided for under our constitution.
Today will not be celebratory for me but will be all about a renewal of purpose and resolve.
My country and it's peoples have the capacity to be the greatest on planet earth!

sensiman

Postby sensiman » August 31st, 2012, 4:16 pm

Happy 50th motherland!

Showing some national pride here in Nova Scotia!

And yes, these are legal here
303664_10151014002841577_1874519524_n.jpg

Postby sliderz1 » August 31st, 2012, 4:24 pm

^nice

50 strong!

Happy Independence!!!!!!!!!!!! happy to witness this event

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » August 31st, 2012, 5:26 pm

Happy 50th Independence Day T&T!! Maybe God watch over our beautiful islands and bless everybody on them!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 31st, 2012, 5:33 pm

`psycho wrote:Anyone know what time the fireworks starting?

X2?

Hearing that it might be in the Oval this time (doubt that).

Postby K74T » August 31st, 2012, 5:40 pm

Happy 50th Independence :)

Postby Habit7 » August 31st, 2012, 7:47 pm

We big on in Miami, FL with trini reporter Neki Mohan!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 31st, 2012, 8:16 pm

Postby RASC » August 31st, 2012, 8:36 pm

Happy Independence to all the TRUE Trinbagonians out there! 50 more years in the making!