Top Gear's Jeremy Clarkson Is The BBC's Biggest Earner

plex

Top Gear's Jeremy Clarkson Is The BBC's Biggest Earner

Postby plex » July 18th, 2012, 2:31 pm

If you believe that cynicism and snark can’t be turned into a lucrative career, perhaps you’ll want to rethink that position after we disclose Jeremy Clarkson’s approximate 2011 income from the BBC.

As reported in The Telegraph, Clarkson took home some 500,000 pounds ($781,150) in salary as the host of Top Gear, plus an additional 350,000 pounds ($546,805) in miscellaneous licensing fees.

His real income, however, came from royalties derived from Top Gear, which netted the irritable Englishman an estimated 2.7 million pounds ($4,218,210). Adding that up, Clarkson took home roughly $5,546,165 before taxes, which isn’t too shabby for hosting a show about cars that airs around 13 new episodes per year.

We’re not saying that Clarkson isn’t worth it, since his quick wit ensures a steady stream of profit for the BBC (and continued employment for dozens of BBC attorneys and PR staff). He’s also the most recognizable man in Britain (and, we’d argue in any part of the world that gets cable TV), so that alone is worth both money and ratings.

Still, we’re plenty cynical and sarcastic ourselves, and none of the High Gear Media staff would look worse on camera than Mr. Clarkson (conversely, none of us would look better, either). A quick show of hands illustrates that any one of us would be willing to give his job a try, for far less than $5.5 million.

We can’t guarantee the same kind of ratings that Clarkson pulls in, but we can pronounce “aluminum” and “Camaro” correctly, and would certainly cost the BBC less in legal expenses each year. If you want to speak with us, Top Gear producers, we’re easily found.

Motorauthority

Re: Top Gear's Jeremy Clarkson Is The BBC's Biggest Earner

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2012, 2:56 pm

stupid wanker

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » July 18th, 2012, 3:21 pm

licence fee going to good use

Centric

Postby Centric » July 18th, 2012, 3:32 pm

Damn that bloke is rich! Does he hold the record for driving the most cars in the world yet?

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » July 18th, 2012, 4:42 pm

dats expected...he is loved in the UK and worldwide....sure anyone can do JC job but no one can do it like him also that sounds like it was written by some american and if it was, they better stay silent because they have a top gear also and it suckssssssss compared to UK top gear.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 18th, 2012, 5:09 pm

Jezza is raking it in!
good for him

Postby shogun » July 18th, 2012, 5:13 pm

"but we can pronounce “aluminum” and “Camaro” correctly" lol.

Postby M_2NR » July 18th, 2012, 8:19 pm

POWEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
Mas boy getting real large up yes. TG is never the same without that guy. RIP buddy.

Postby gastly369 » July 18th, 2012, 8:52 pm

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2012, 10:33 pm

once he doesnt run them bankrupt and close the show... im good

ztune

Postby ztune » July 18th, 2012, 10:37 pm

something something like a badger....

Postby Monk BANzai » July 18th, 2012, 11:38 pm

MG Man wrote:stupid wanker

wonder how much this wanker makes?

Postby janfar » July 19th, 2012, 2:25 am

So he is probably one of the richest show hosts...

... in the Wooorllddd!!!

Postby MG Man » July 19th, 2012, 6:54 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
MG Man wrote:stupid wanker

wonder how much this wanker makes?

response of a typical wanker :P
Le Tiff has le driving skills......need not more, he does

Postby sMASH » July 21st, 2012, 6:30 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: janfar, u come reallll hard deh, hosss. :lol: :lol: :lol:

i hated that show a few years ago, cause i saw a half hour version of it on channel 6 before sign on.
i found a stream which showed the episodes in entirety and sequence, and boy was it different. all the weird things came in context. they really have a killer mix. as much as jc is the star of the show, i'm more of a capt. slow myself.

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » July 21st, 2012, 6:43 pm

I wouldn't be surprised if he bought a Veyron. Good for jezza.

instead of 'powerrrr', it's now 'moneyyyyyy'

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » July 21st, 2012, 7:47 pm

Damn, good for him.

rksam

Postby rksam » July 23rd, 2012, 2:56 pm

Best car show...

Postby crazybalhead » July 23rd, 2012, 3:21 pm

A man living close to him tell meh he's ah muffler bearing yes.

Postby teems1 » July 23rd, 2012, 4:58 pm

Some say, he earns more money per episode than Charlie Sheen, and that his favourite flavour of pie is banana meringue, all we know is, he's called the Jezza.

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » July 23rd, 2012, 9:04 pm

boy this guy around cars since big bird was ah dove, not surprised at bit....actually this should be been discovered earlier....totally worth it man J

Postby sMASH » July 24th, 2012, 4:43 am

crazybalhead wrote:A man living close to him tell meh he's ah muffler bearing yes.
the only reason that it may not be evident, is that he doesn't focus on you. i bet, if u got to speak to him one on one, no charity publicity thing, u'ld get ur fair share. and then u'd be like ' ey, jeremy clarkson sheit me up,' :D :D :D