Employment for Returning Expats

AbstractPoetic

Employment for Returning Expats

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 2:06 pm

How does a young professional with international experience break into the job market in Trinidad? Is it heavily dependent on who you know? I know there are quite a few returning expats with no work experience landing well-paying jobs simply because of who they are or who they know. Is this what one has to expect when actively search for employment?

And yes, you have correctly assumed this question is asked because of my own personal consideration to return home. I did post earlier about possible relocation to Australia but decided to scrap that idea given personal reasons.

I have come to realize my professional work experience does not fit into any of the more popular sectors on the island (Accounting, Marketing, Business Administration, Project Management, Engineering, Administrative Services, Occupational Health & Safety Procurement, Oil/Gas, etc.).

As for my experience it is heavily in corporate finance/bank lending/investment banking in the legal sector and depending on a possible new offer, will extend to the banking sector.

Anyway, I have already been advised and forewarned not to consider moving to Trinidad until I retire due to a variety of things:

1. Poor health sector
2. Horrible traffic/road conditions
3. Crime/Murder/Kidnapping
4. Undercompensation when employed
5. When there is no longer an oil/gas sector TT will be the next Haiti

...but what do you young professionals say (preferably those who have lived abroad like I have and returned)? What keeps you in Trinidad and Tobago? If you had the opportunity, would you bolt? Is Trinidad already in the dumps (or heading there?)

Re: Employment for Returning Expats

Postby nemisis » July 9th, 2012, 2:23 pm

love for your nation or familial ties are the only reason to return or stay IMHO. If you need to be convinced of otherwise best you buss out and try your luck or stay where you are and not risk change...

Postby crazybalhead » July 9th, 2012, 2:29 pm

We have:

Plus 24deg C weather all year round.
Too many holidays to count.
Some of the best doctors in the world, very good medical and dental care, especially if you have good insurance and a decent job.
A thriving economy, don't let people fool you and say otherwise
Affordable food
An abundance of goods and fuel
A decent enough water supply
A very good electricity supply
Manageable traffic
Spectacular natural beauty. ( I almost stopped the car just to look last week as the sun rose over the northern range)
Technologically literate society
Great education system
English speaking society

That's from MY experience and off the top of my head.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 2:29 pm

nemisis wrote:love for your nation or familial ties are the only reason to return or stay IMHO. If you need to be convinced of otherwise best you buss out and try your luck or stay where you are and not risk change...

Are you not a hard-working civilian of Trinidad and Tobago? You sound so negative. Perhaps I do not truly understand what folks go through but during my visits life seem quite sweet there...after-work limes, employer-sponsored fetes, a trillion paid public holidays, paid maternity leave up to one month (we do not have this in the USA), etc.

Postby Habit7 » July 9th, 2012, 2:30 pm

I have some single male friends with job openings along your qualifications. It looks a little something like this:

BTW, how are your child bearing capabilities?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 2:35 pm

crazybalhead wrote:We have:

Some of the best doctors in the world, very good medical and dental care, especially if you have good insurance and a decent job.
Affordable food
Manageable traffic
Spectacular natural beauty. ( I almost stopped the car just to look last week as the sun rose over the northern range)
Great education system
English speaking society

Ah, yes, CBH, this is what made me make the firm decision to return one day and permanently at that. I would like to add waking up to plush mountainsides, most of which is the back-drop to drives to and from POS. You can't see that anywhere else!

As for best doctors in the world, I heard that's only reserve to the likes of Westshore, St. Clair Medical etc. and if I were to get into an accident on the highway, the ambulance is taking the injured straight to a public facility. Is this true?

As for decent paying SALARIED jobs, those are hard to come by (I reference those paying 20k+TT/month). I eventually plan on being my own employer, but was hoping to work as an employee in TT before venturing on my own.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 9th, 2012, 2:36 pm

Goodluck with your move back to T&T.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 2:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:I have some single male friends with job openings along your qualifications. It looks a little something like this:

BTW, how are your child bearing capabilities?

I actually have intentions of being both wife and mother WHILST making a salary of my own, thank you much. No stay-at-home business. I love making my own and financially contributing to my household.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 2:40 pm

Conrad wrote:Goodluck with your move back to T&T.

I have a feeling this response is far from sincere, but thank you.

Postby Stephon. » July 9th, 2012, 2:40 pm

The first thing you're going to need when you're back is a car, so let me know when you're arriving so we could have a date to visit a southern sales showroom to check out the Mazda 6. It is the only vehicle in the country right now with a 2.0 engine for less than 300k. It has the best design in it's class, the best features in it's class, and it's a Mazda so it's automatically better than all of the other cars in the country.

Hit me with a pm when you're ready, I would see if I could organize a nice number plate for you.

I could see it now, AP with her Mazda 6, PCX 6. Speed, style, affordability, luxury!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 9th, 2012, 2:43 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Conrad wrote:Goodluck with your move back to T&T.

I have a feeling this response is far from sincere, but thank you.

Actually I think T&T could do well with a diverse professional population.

Postby crazybalhead » July 9th, 2012, 2:43 pm

All that you said is true. The accident part? Not necessarily. You can be taken to a facility of your choosing, just be prepared to pay, use your insurance, just like the US.

The job part? Also true, but nothing comes without sacrifice. You may have to make do with a decreased expectation of salary in the initial phase, with your long term goal in mind.

The only really difficult thing in TT to me is real estate prices, renting or purchasing. It is exorbitant and unrealistic, and people hold on to properties for years while on the market, with no apparent decrease in prices.

Postby stev » July 9th, 2012, 2:44 pm

Stephon. wrote:The first thing you're going to need when you're back is a car, so let me know when you're arriving so we could have a date to visit a southern sales showroom to check out the Mazda 6. It is the only vehicle in the country right now with a 2.0 engine for less than 300k. It has the best design in it's class, the best features in it's class, and it's a Mazda so it's automatically better than all of the other cars in the country.

Hit me with a pm when you're ready, I would see if I could organize a nice number plate for you.

I could see it now, AP with her Mazda 6, PCX 6. Speed, style, affordability, luxury!

have you considered working in southern sales?

Postby dougla_boy » July 9th, 2012, 2:45 pm

Stephon. wrote:The first thing you're going to need when you're back is a car, so let me know when you're arriving so we could have a date to visit a southern sales showroom to check out the Mazda 6. It is the only vehicle in the country right now with a 2.0 engine for less than 300k. It has the best design in it's class, the best features in it's class, and it's a Mazda so it's automatically better than all of the other cars in the country.

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

u eh have no powerseller status big man......doh be on dat

Postby crazybalhead » July 9th, 2012, 2:45 pm

What's the HP and TQ on that 2.0 litre engine Stephon?

Postby Habit7 » July 9th, 2012, 2:46 pm

Well...

Your potential employers are receiving competitive applicants of Asian and Latin American background. They are willing to full-time in the position and not part-time as you are suggesting. Also rather than allowances, they are willing to use the company's car, phone, house and credit card to reduce then need for larger salary pay outs.

You are driving a a hard bargain, they might not be so willing to bend...

Postby Stephon. » July 9th, 2012, 2:47 pm

EDIT: @CBH

MZR 2.0 4-cylinder 16 valve DOHC engine
HP : 145 @ 6500 RPM
Last edited by Stephon. on July 9th, 2012, 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » July 9th, 2012, 2:48 pm

crazybalhead wrote:We have:

Affordable food
Manageable traffic
Great education system
English speaking society

Dont let the PNM know what you juss wrote
Last edited by zoom rader on July 9th, 2012, 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » July 9th, 2012, 2:50 pm

What does the PNM have to do with my statement?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 2:50 pm

Actually, I plan on buying an SUV where car parts are easily accessible. I was told Mazda parts are not easy to find and would have to be shipped in ($$$$$).

CBH, I *hopefully* plan to own by the time I arrive. :)

Postby zoom rader » July 9th, 2012, 2:51 pm

Did you or your family buy shares in southern sales?

Postby stev » July 9th, 2012, 2:53 pm

Job hunting in trinidad sucks depending on what field u in. :( normal wait time for an interview is like 2 - 3 months.

should start looking before u move. caribbeanjobs.com ftw

edit: also express, newsday and guardian classifieds online
Last edited by stev on July 9th, 2012, 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » July 9th, 2012, 2:54 pm

crazybalhead wrote:What does the PNM have to do with my statement?

You wrote too many positives things about trinidad. Now if I had written that then the other mod would say I was paid to write that.

Postby Stephon. » July 9th, 2012, 2:54 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Actually, I plan on buying an SUV where car parts are easily accessible. I was told Mazda parts are not easy to find and would have to be shipped in ($$$$$).

Actually, the Mazda parts dept stocks all of the Mazda parts that you would need. And you're in luck baby girl because you can get a Mazda CX-5 for 430k ALL WHEEL DRIVE!
Making a call now to reserve your PCX 5 for your CX-5
Congrats on your future purchase xoxo

Postby Habit7 » July 9th, 2012, 2:55 pm

Stephon. wrote:EDIT: @CBH

MZR 2.0 4-cylinder 16 valve DOHC engine
HP : 145 @ 6500 RPM

Skoda Octavia

1.8 TSI petrol engine
158 hp 184 lb/ft torque
7 speed DSG transmission

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 2:55 pm

Anyway, would love to hear more on how young professional expats such as myself navigated the tides of the local job market!

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2012, 2:57 pm

It might be wiser costwise to bring back a car on the returning resident racket.....

Postby pete » July 9th, 2012, 2:59 pm

Stephon. wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Actually, the Mazda parts dept stocks all of the Mazda parts that you would need. And you're in luck baby girl because you can get a Mazda CX-5 for 430k ALL WHEEL DRIVE!
Making a call now to reserve your PCX 5 for your CX-5
Congrats on your future purchase xoxo

Why they not stocking axles for a PBW Mazda 3s?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 2:59 pm

pugboy wrote:It might be wiser costwise to bring back a car on the returning resident racket.....

Left-hand drive, though?

Do you know if one can get used Japanese vehicles shipped in from Asia?

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » July 9th, 2012, 3:09 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:How does a young professional with international experience break into the job market in Trinidad? Is it heavily dependent on who you know? I know there are quite a few returning expats with no work experience landing well-paying jobs simply because of who they are or who they know. Is this what one has to expect when actively search for employment?

And yes, you have correctly assumed this question is asked because of my own personal consideration to return home. I did post earlier about possible relocation to Australia but decided to scrap that idea given personal reasons.

I have come to realize my professional work experience does not fit into any of the more popular sectors on the island (Accounting, Marketing, Business Administration, Project Management, Engineering, Administrative Services, Occupational Health & Safety Procurement, Oil/Gas, etc.).

As for my experience it is heavily in corporate finance/bank lending/investment banking in the legal sector and depending on a possible new offer, will extend to the banking sector.

Anyway, I have already been advised and forewarned not to consider moving to Trinidad until I retire due to a variety of things:

1. Poor health sector
2. Horrible traffic/road conditions
3. Crime/Murder/Kidnapping
4. Undercompensation when employed
5. When there is no longer an oil/gas sector TT will be the next Haiti
6. Increased number of homosexuals

...but what do you young professionals say (preferably those who have lived abroad like I have and returned)? What keeps you in Trinidad and Tobago? If you had the opportunity, would you bolt? Is Trinidad already in the dumps (or heading there?)