Lower requirements to be a police officer

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » July 7th, 2012, 8:29 pm

I heard on the CNC3 news tonight that Jack is thinking about lowering the level of qualifications required for persons to be eligible to enter the police force.

I do not see this as a good thing. Any views?

Re: Lower requirements to be a police officer

Postby brams112 » July 7th, 2012, 8:42 pm

wasn't the qualification once ur not flat footed?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 7th, 2012, 9:09 pm

some of those hard working officers does cant write and read properly right now....wth ...

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » July 7th, 2012, 9:22 pm

Just this week I saw one with a mouth FULL of gold teeth

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 7th, 2012, 9:37 pm

nice.......bess they close all educational institutes down

Postby eliteauto » July 7th, 2012, 10:01 pm

saxman642 wrote:Just this week I saw one with a mouth FULL of gold teeth

and?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 7th, 2012, 10:03 pm

If the entry requirements are lowered, but the training program is beefed up to fill those gaps, I don't see a problem.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » July 7th, 2012, 10:10 pm

silent_riot wrote:If the entry requirements are lowered, but the training program is beefed up to fill those gaps, I don't see a problem.

once dey cud read and write a good report it should be good an yea make d training harder for dey arse

Postby S_2NR » July 7th, 2012, 10:15 pm

great. more idiots with power.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 7th, 2012, 10:48 pm

oh well wen I getting meh ticket,they wud write meh name wrong and I wud jes get off easy.more music in meh car now.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » July 7th, 2012, 11:05 pm

they might ask me for a pen to write the ticket now

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 7th, 2012, 11:28 pm

maybe they would ask us to write our own tickets lololol

Postby gastly369 » July 7th, 2012, 11:34 pm

i can see it now.....

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 7th, 2012, 11:39 pm

LOL forget school

I haz cxc, I are police man

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » July 7th, 2012, 11:46 pm

the requirements are presently five cxc o levels.....
any lower, tom dick harry and all dem officers family coming in the service to do what?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 7th, 2012, 11:51 pm

Monster 101 wrote:the requirements are presently five cxc o levels.....
any lower, tom dick harry and all dem officers family coming in the service to do what?

to make this country a safer place

chasemeifyoucan

Postby chasemeifyoucan » July 8th, 2012, 12:02 am

eliteauto wrote:

and?

and officers of the law should present themselves in a manner that is respectful to the society and people they serve. Wearing a mouth full of gold teeth while on duty is not appropriate. Capice?

Postby rollingstock » July 8th, 2012, 1:15 am

chasemeifyoucan wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

and?

and officers of the law should present themselves in a manner that is respectful to the society and people they serve. Wearing a mouth full of gold teeth while on duty is not appropriate. Capice?

What de phoq I does really be reading here?
So gold teeth is disrespectful to society?

If it's the officer that works on St. Vincent street, he is one of the most dedicated honest officers you can find in the service. That's why i recommended him to act as a Corporal.

wrt to the lowering of qualifications, they have to be forkin crazy, there is already an influx of dotish illiterate fools already, the quality of some files that meet me read like a pre school child's short story.

Postby BrotherHood » July 8th, 2012, 1:33 am

rollingstock wrote:What de phoq I does really be reading here?
So gold teeth is disrespectful to society?

If it's the officer that works on St. Vincent street, he is one of the most dedicated honest officers you can find in the service. That's why i recommended him to act as a Corporal.

Come na man RS.
What about protocol? You are a police officer. Have some sort of decorum and carry yourself in a manner that you are an exempler to the citizens you serve. Respect your post and the office you hold as a police officer. I don't think that an officer of the law who you recommend to act at a higher post should sport a mouthful of goldteeth.
Last edited by BrotherHood on July 8th, 2012, 1:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » July 8th, 2012, 1:39 am

^De hell? It ain't against any rule, and i fail to see the disrespect.

Would you rather an officer who would abuse you when you enter a station, request a bribe, bungle an investigation or do nothing at all or a dedicated, capable and efficient officer with gold teeth?

I judge everyone by their merit and not by their looks. It looks weird to me he having a full grill but i try not to judge people that way.

Postby BrotherHood » July 8th, 2012, 1:48 am

You're quite right. It isn't against any rule and of course, anyone would prefer the capable and efficient gold teeth bearing officer. I try not to judge people by looks either but what I am trying to get at is that the post he holds, their is a level of protocol that should follow.

Postby rollingstock » July 8th, 2012, 1:58 am

Protocol?????

All I know is that since making him a supervisor, none of his subordinates abuse sick leave, there is NO absenteeism, files are submitted in a timely manner, with few minor mistakes if any and civilians have actually written to commend him on his attitude and manners. Albeit a lot have commented on being taken aback by the 'grill' but most if not all soon overlook that after interacting with him.

Postby BrotherHood » July 8th, 2012, 2:05 am

I think dealling with this officer face to face may change what I perceive. You talk highly of him. Good job of him though.

Postby rollingstock » July 8th, 2012, 2:08 am

Me eh say de man perfect eh, but compared to what we have to measure him against, he's a friggin saint.

Postby wagonrunner » July 8th, 2012, 2:10 am

lol, a good bredrin in CID had a rough accident awhile back, and his dental right side is now gold. He didn't take the job because he couldn't be anyhting else. He chose to carry on a family heritage, and some braying about appropriate? fack allyuh yes.

Postby Morpheus » July 8th, 2012, 2:41 am

Came nah man fellas. ANYONE will do a double-take if the see an officer with a mouth full of golteef. That's not what we "normally" see. That's normally seen on the "thugs" and folks that are sitting on the corner playing cards at 10am. Dunno how some of us can't put ourselves in other's shoes.

If the officer wears the teef out of necessity, due to accident or something, I see no problem really. Better gold than pink, red, orange, green....you get the point.

BTW LOL @ original purpose of thread. SMH. Really don't know where/if to start on that nah...

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 8th, 2012, 6:43 am

I really don't see a problem here as long as training is available to bring them up to some sort of competent level.
Don't confuse knowledge with intelligence!
Some of the most knowledgeable but least intelligent people I know are doctors,engineers and lawyers who graduated top or close to the top of their departments.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 8th, 2012, 8:45 am

Skanky wrote:I really don't see a problem here as long as training is available to bring them up to some sort of competent level.
Some of the most knowledgeable but least intelligent people I know are doctors,engineers and lawyers who graduated top or close to the top of their departments.

A lot of officers can't even read and write properly, and they allegedly have 5 Os already, lowering requirements means scraping even further below the barrel. T&T is full of people with tertiary qualifications, why not make the service attractive to them instead, that way we have a more intelligent service which might lead to a better quality of officer

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 8th, 2012, 9:06 am

They should also evaluate for some months, new officers who REALLY WANT and LOVE that kinda field/work. Not just become a police to say "IM A POLICE". Thats the only way you going to get a proper working force, most of the ones who want to be an officer, does or did not have the qualifications, but they would of loved to be doing that work, some for fun.

Don't be surprised if you see some SERIOUS officers just doing their job now and rel people getting dealt with.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 8th, 2012, 9:15 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Skanky wrote:I really don't see a problem here as long as training is available to bring them up to some sort of competent level.

A lot of officers can't even read and write properly, and they allegedly have 5 Os already, lowering requirements means scraping even further below the barrel. T&T is full of people with tertiary qualifications, why not make the service attractive to them instead, that way we have a more intelligent service which might lead to a better quality of officer

Being from the cream of the crop in school does not necessarily mean you're intelligent, it means you're knowledgeable.Knowledge can be taught,intelligence can't.Intelligence is something either you have it or you don't.
I'd much rather our police service full of people who are not the brightest bulbs out there but know how to use their intelligence to get the job done rather than the other way around.