WTK : Best place to buy materials for house wiring...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 6th, 2012, 10:05 pm

Guys looking to wire a house...

Where can I get the cheapest prices on materials...

Thanks....

WTK : Best place to but electrical items for house wiring...

Postby rfari » July 6th, 2012, 10:08 pm

Modern electrical in macoya. Small electrical stores buy material from them

Re: WTK : Best place to but electrical items for house wirin

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 6th, 2012, 10:10 pm

rfari wrote:Modern electrical in macoya. Small electrical stores buy material from them

u by chance have a number for them rfari?.......where are they from the centre of excellence....?

Postby rfari » July 6th, 2012, 10:19 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
rfari wrote:Modern electrical in macoya. Small electrical stores buy material from them

u by chance have a number for them rfari?.......where are they from the centre of excellence....?

From centre of excellence, head south and cross the CRH highway, pass the entrance to the namdevco wholesaler place. Modern electrical is on the right side. 18686636949
There's a branch located in el dorado as well but at times you may still have to make a trip to the main outlet in macoya

Postby rfari » July 6th, 2012, 10:28 pm

And doh fraid to ask for ur discount. Depending on how much is ur total and if u pump with ur electrician you can get a nice cutback

blitz83

Re: WTK : Best place to buy materials for house wiring...

Postby blitz83 » July 6th, 2012, 10:29 pm

Only if you want to wait all day and the materials are inferior.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 6th, 2012, 10:29 pm

rfari wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:

From centre of excellence, head south and cross the CRH highway, pass the entrance to the namdevco wholesaler place. Modern electrical is on the right side. 18686636949
There's a branch located in el dorado as well but at times you may still have to make a trip to the main outlet in macoya

will check them out this weekend...thanks bro...

Postby rfari » July 6th, 2012, 10:35 pm

blitz83 wrote:Only if you want to wait all day and the materials are inferior.

Only if u buy cheap stuff. :wink:
They are the dealers for cutler-hammer,ge, siemens etc. High grade stuff if ur in the industry.
Waiting all day is over-exaggerating. The place is popular because of the prices so u can expect that.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » July 6th, 2012, 10:40 pm

rfari wrote:

They are the dealers for cutler-hammer,ge, siemens etc. High grade stuff if ur in the industry.
Waiting all day is over-exaggerating. The place is popular because of the prices so u can expect that.

Let the noobs speak! They know nothing about quality products, they look at certain items then judge. :roll:

Gonna miss trinidad :(

Postby rfari » July 6th, 2012, 10:50 pm

Lucian-2nr wrote:
rfari wrote:

Let the noobs speak! They know nothing about quality products, they look at certain items then judge. :roll:

:D
I was to ask u. Did u contact dwight from prudecon wrt to ur stuff?

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2012, 10:51 pm

Eh? You bought cheap stuff I suppose, and that waiting all day is BS. Modern Electrical is one of the best

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » July 6th, 2012, 11:06 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Eh? You bought cheap stuff I suppose, and that waiting all day is BS. Modern Electrical is one of the best

So you have to ask for the better material? Basic list for a house and many of the switches and receptacles I had to change out.

Postby rfari » July 6th, 2012, 11:15 pm

blitz83 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

So you have to ask for the better material? Basic list for a house and many of the switches and receptacles I had to change out.

You srs or you just making joke?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 6th, 2012, 11:25 pm

ill still check them......so blitz where u recommend?

Postby Gladiator » July 6th, 2012, 11:35 pm

eliteauto wrote:

They are well known for inferior material.... most of what they sell are not genuine products.

OP make sure to buy cables stamped with the BS6004 standard. These cables would have been manufactured to this standard which is the only standard allowed in Trinidad. All other cables come through the back door and may not be manufactured to international standards.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » July 6th, 2012, 11:37 pm

rfari wrote:
Lucian-2nr wrote:
rfari wrote:

:D
I was to ask u. Did u contact dwight from prudecon wrt to ur stuff?

Didn't get a chance actually but was able to get it done with two projects (thin film tech. and biodiesel)

Postby rfari » July 7th, 2012, 9:03 am

Gladiator wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

They are well known for inferior material.... most of what they sell are not genuine products.

OP make sure to buy cables stamped with the BS6004 standard. These cables would have been manufactured to this standard which is the only standard allowed in Trinidad. All other cables come through the back door and may not be manufactured to international standards.

Interesting. Examples?

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » July 7th, 2012, 9:24 am

Gladiator wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

This guy knows what he is talking about. My electrician was telling me exactly what he said. The cable they have come in a cardboard box, from Costa Rica. From the information I gathered, all cables imported in this country must have BASEC or the BS Standards.
The inspector that came to inspect the job was skeptical about the wiring as well. He was telling that the 1.5 SS that you run the conduit, the one I purchased from Modern was out of spec and in fact looked like a 1.0 mm cable.

I was not aware of all this before I purchased. Glad to share the info!

Postby rfari » July 7th, 2012, 9:45 am

blitz83 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

This guy knows what he is talking about. My electrician was telling me exactly what he said. The cable they have come in a cardboard box, from Costa Rica. From the information I gathered, all cables imported in this country must have BASEC or the BS Standards.
The inspector that came to inspect the job was skeptical about the wiring as well. He was telling that the 1.5 SS that you run the conduit, the one I purchased from Modern was out of spec and in fact looked like a 1.0 mm cable.

i recall that all the cable i bought from there were either ul listed or british standard (bs). right now i'm looking at the last roll of 2.5mm i bought from modern with the print "Electrical Industries Trinidad BS6004 300/500 Volts 2.5mmsq ECC 18/06/2009" so i'm even more confused. :roll: never encountered any imported 'suspect' cables :?

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2012, 9:58 am

I have a pile of unused stuff collected from over the years
outlet boxes and outlets
pm me if you want to check what I have

Postby Gladiator » July 7th, 2012, 11:37 am

rfari wrote:
blitz83 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

i recall that all the cable i bought from there were either ul listed or british standard (bs). right now i'm looking at the last roll of 2.5mm i bought from modern with the print "Electrical Industries Trinidad BS6004 300/500 Volts 2.5mmsq ECC 18/06/2009" so i'm even more confused. :roll: never encountered any imported 'suspect' cables :?

First you have to understand the politics.... currently there is a cable/electrical war ongoing in Trinidad between the two orgs you mentioned there...

The one that manufacturer's cables is looking to form a monopoly in T&T and trying to force everyone to sell their cables. Luckily their operations are sound and they do regular testing and are UKAS accredited. They also have political links and play dirty by testing the competitors cables and if found to be defected reports the findings to the authorities barring the sale of the product.

The other big gun mentioned, has a company in China spitting out loads of inferior stuff and they are able to sell at low prices but the quality is suspect. They recently printed an add in the paper claiming to change the cable standard and on the add quoting every standard known to man and using UKAS logos like it free..... I expect to see a lawsuit coming soon.

In the meantime you safe with BS and BASEC cables from either org. Beware of breakers (use your experience and best judgement here).

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » July 7th, 2012, 12:37 pm

Nice post man! I have heard of the same said Company sending samples of fittings, which are imitated in China. Also copying and using UL standards.
I also saw the ad in the paper, but NO mention if it is approved by the Electrical Inspectorate as well as TTBS.

The breaker issue-
GE breakers are clearly copied. From what I heard a rep from GE (USA) came to inspect these breakers, however the breakers could not be found.

Cheap price does not clearly mean better materials.

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2012, 12:45 pm

don't feel the local stuff is any good either eh

I had to buy the heavy armored cable to rewire a house from meter to panel
within a year the insulation on the wires started cracking up
I had to hire a guy to wrap and silicone it over
he had to do it in a somewhat illegal manner as it was the section which is crimped to the mains
and it was an emergency.

needless to say I later found out that it was a common problem and even the great bureau of standards knew about it and did not enforce or make the company pay to fix these problems which could cause serious fire etc.

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » July 7th, 2012, 12:50 pm

pugboy wrote:don't feel the local stuff is any good either eh

I had to buy the heavy armored cable to rewire a house from meter to panel
within a year the insulation on the wires started cracking up
I had to hire a guy to wrap and silicone it over
he had to do it in a somewhat illegal manner as it was the section which is crimped to the mains
and it was an emergency.

needless to say I later found out that it was a common problem and even the great bureau of standards knew about it and did not enforce or make the company pay to fix these problems which could cause serious fire etc.

What type of cable did you buy- PVC or XLPE??

XLPE would crack up when exposed to sunlight. Therefore it is not used at point of entrance, unless a boot kit is used to shield the cable.

You probably did specify PVC and was given XLPE.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 7th, 2012, 1:16 pm

If you're Central and South, Boodoo's Electrical.

Similar prices to Modern for everything. Same brands. Much less hassle.

673-2375 for the Central branch.

Postby rfari » July 7th, 2012, 1:26 pm

Gladiator wrote:
rfari wrote:
blitz83 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
eliteauto wrote:[quote="blitz83"]Only if you want to wait all day and the materials are inferior.

First you have to understand the politics.... currently there is a cable/electrical war ongoing in Trinidad between the two orgs you mentioned there...

The one that manufacturer's cables is looking to form a monopoly in T&T and trying to force everyone to sell their cables. Luckily their operations are sound and they do regular testing and are UKAS accredited. They also have political links and play dirty by testing the competitors cables and if found to be defected reports the findings to the authorities barring the sale of the product.

The other big gun mentioned, has a company in China spitting out loads of inferior stuff and they are able to sell at low prices but the quality is suspect. They recently printed an add in the paper claiming to change the cable standard and on the add quoting every standard known to man and using UKAS logos like it free..... I expect to see a lawsuit coming soon.

In the meantime you safe with BS and BASEC cables from either org. Beware of breakers (use your experience and best judgement here).[/quote]
Call the names of the companies you talking about. I'm confused

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 7th, 2012, 5:56 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:If you're Central and South, Boodoo's Electrical.

Similar prices to Modern for everything. Same brands. Much less hassle.

673-2375 for the Central branch.

now seeing this...will have to check them monday......where r they located..?...where in central....?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 7th, 2012, 9:21 pm

Chase Village, opposite Chase Village Auto Supplies aka Billy's

JWT

Postby JWT » July 7th, 2012, 11:00 pm

correct Boodoo's has great prices and quality items.
i rewired for A/C units and i received great quality items

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 8th, 2012, 6:55 am

R&Z electrical on the cipero road in san fernando on the left just before the lights to go to san fernando hill..

Bought all my stuff for the house there with no problems.all high qulity fittings. best part was all unused items they bought it back from me