DOMA & The Minister calls off the wreckers

Postby Greypatch » June 21st, 2012, 9:04 am

We all complain about the lack of law enforcement.

But when the Mayor and the POS city corporation does so..DOMA and the Minister stops it.

What message are we sending to the public. ?? :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Wrecker put on hold
Ease-up in downtown PoS
By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jun 20, 2012 at 11:52 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jun 20, 2012 at 11:52 PM ECT

Wrecking of vehicles in downtown Port of Spain will be put on hold temporarily, says Works and Infrastructure Minister Jack Warner.

"I can give you no guarantees that the wrecker will not be working forever...what I can tell you, in Port of Spain proper, we have decided not to enforce the wrecker as yet," said Warner.

He said this decision was taken at the request from the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association (DOMA).

Warner urged motorists to follow the parking rules but warned that if the parking problem becomes problematic, the wrecker will got back in effect.

Warner said parking in the city cannot be stopped when people do not have places to park their vehicles.

He disclosed that parking sites will be put in place at the Queen's Park Savannah, the Hasely Crawford Stadium and in Barataria, in the vicinity of Maritime Plaza, where a park and ride system will be established.

Warner was speaking at the launch of a new traffic plan for West Port of Spain at Adam Smith Square, Port of Spain yesterday.

Part of the new plan will see Ariapita Avenue, Woodbrook being converted to allow one-way traffic going west, while Tragarete Road would be used for one-way traffic heading east.

Warner said he felt "very optimistic" that the plan will be successful adding that an education campaign about the traffic changes will take place before the plan comes into effect on July 16.

He said in order for the plan to be successful, it must be enforced by law enforcement officers.

He noted that there were some 184 traffic wardens and another 1,200 are expected to come on stream.

Warner said, however, the traffic wardens alone cannot ensure the plan is implemented and noted that there was need to bring back traffic police on motorcycles.

Warner said the police agreed to give motorists, who unwillingly do not observe the new traffic plan, a moratorium for a short period until they get familiar with the new routes.

What about enforcing the law with regard to ILLEGAL PARKING ??

Re: DOMA & The Minister calls off the wreckers

Postby eliteauto » June 21st, 2012, 9:11 am

Salvatori Bldg was supposed to be used for parking but instead went to vendors with no plans for parking in sight

kual

Postby kual » June 21st, 2012, 9:14 am

If Port of Spain had a proper Transport system most people would feel comfortable to leave their vehicles and travel but the system is not organised at all therefore we have congestion in Port of Spain. We do not even have Safe Car Parks in Trinidad.

Postby dougla_boy » June 21st, 2012, 9:16 am

bwdmc is dis??? so cuz DOMA want it the wrecking to stop, he gone to Jack to make sure it does????? das BS meng!!!! politics in trinidad is a mess!!!!!

Postby SR » June 21st, 2012, 9:16 am

salvotori location should be converted to a daily parking lot only
chain link fence and dedicated entrance and exit for vehicles
$10/hr
no reserve parking

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 21st, 2012, 9:17 am

But I just saw the Red 5 seconds wrecker carrying ah car to the wrecking lot on Robert Street there...

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2012, 9:23 am

This country cant deal with crime because if any gov't enforce more than 50% of the laws....

the people will storm the castle, grab the nobles, and burn them at the stake.

Postby Greypatch » June 21st, 2012, 9:33 am

Pay to park and walk a bit...

DOMA pockets are hurting so they encouraging illegal parking.

BANANA REPUBLIC

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 21st, 2012, 10:20 am

I want to agree with the law enforcement but the wreckers really over do it..

Postby cinco » June 21st, 2012, 10:27 am

uncle sam wrote:I want to agree with the law enforcement but the wreckers really over do it..

how they overdo it?
by upholding the law?
you are one of them who does bawl i just stop fuh a second bhai doh wreck meh?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 21st, 2012, 10:42 am

cinco wrote:
uncle sam wrote:I want to agree with the law enforcement but the wreckers really over do it..

how they overdo it?
by upholding the law?

steupsss..

yuh really think I think talking about upholding d law?

Postby cinco » June 21st, 2012, 10:44 am

pray tell explain how they over do it

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 21st, 2012, 11:00 am

they wrecking anything, anywhere, anytime.. I see it all the time.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » June 21st, 2012, 11:03 am

SR wrote:salvotori location should be converted to a daily parking lot only
chain link fence and dedicated entrance and exit for vehicles
$10/hr
no reserve parking

rethink....

these ppl that come up with traffic plans apparently know not that its actually derived from some sort of scientific thinking , not just about the roads and whatnot but whats around them. turning the salvatori location into a carpark could work if its a multi-story plan with as u say dedicated entrances et.. however you do notice that a major contributor to congestion coming out of POS daily is the pedestrians crossing haphazardly at almost every road and then with no apparent logic and order at city gate?

why must pedestrians cross one of the major arteries out of the city to get to the transport hub?... that area should be caged and devoid of all possible pedestrian traffic - and we know they can build walkovers with escalators - so why not? then dem blasted taxi drivers dat does block de road by henry street and lower by HDC.. we have everything available here to make it work ,, but , like always people dont follow the procedures and law,, and the enforcers dont enforce.... properly that is

Postby tr1ad » June 21st, 2012, 11:27 am

uncle sam wrote:they wrecking anything, anywhere, anytime.. I see it all the time.

so illegal parking has only specific hours?
wrecking 24/7 is the best way to remind the folks that its a no no

worried bout the fine? worried about damage to vehicle? well park properly
otherwise

FACK YOU AN HUSH YUH KANT

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 21st, 2012, 11:28 am

cinco wrote:

how they overdo it?
by upholding the law?

IF you know how some of the wreckers operate ILLEGALLY around woodbrook you will understand.

Postby cinco » June 21st, 2012, 11:32 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
cinco wrote:

how they overdo it?
by upholding the law?

IF you know how some of the wreckers operate ILLEGALLY around woodbrook you will understand.

wouldnt know
i wont patronise an institution where i risk my car being wrecked

Postby SR » June 21st, 2012, 12:29 pm

new model hilux was now colected by a white unmarked wrecker with ah occifer ridin shotgun

hilux park like a meow so it was well deserving

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 21st, 2012, 12:48 pm

tr1ad wrote:
uncle sam wrote:they wrecking anything, anywhere, anytime.. I see it all the time.

so illegal parking has only specific hours?
wrecking 24/7 is the best way to remind the folks that its a no no

worried bout the fine? worried about damage to vehicle? well park properly
otherwise

FACK YOU AN HUSH YUH KANT

you shut yuh kant... for you ignorance.. clearly you you don't know that these wreckers taking vehicles whether they are parked legally or not. I will not condone people trying to use "by the book" statements to justify real life situations..

Check my location.. I see this EVERYDAY! shm

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 21st, 2012, 1:26 pm

LOL

This place is a fakking joke yes..

kual

Postby kual » June 21st, 2012, 3:42 pm

Tuner the only place where you could ketch kicks whole day. yes. alyuh gud.

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2012, 3:56 pm

uncle sam wrote:Check my location.. I see this EVERYDAY! shm

Well the solution is with the $800,000 they make a month, to buy their own wrecking units and remove the opportunity to run a scheme.The fact is when ppl park in front of hydrants and gates, or by corners or deliberately in No Parking zones they should be wrecked.

Some night ago on TV6 news Ask Anslem segment they asked the police what constitutes a legal wrecking and the police corrected the perception that the police needs to go door to door asking first before they wreck. All they need to do, is see if anyone in proximity the car (like 6ft) is the driver and they can wreck the car.

When ppl have no money and travel, they will take a brisk walk from City Gate to Park St. But when they could finally afford a car, they find it far to walk 2 blocks. Wreck dem!

Postby X2 » June 21st, 2012, 3:58 pm

I have witnessed wreckers towing legally parked vehicles. They especially used to prey on side streets with legally parked vehicles. Yes, they also towing meows, but the wrecking thing is out of hand... just so they can make money... not kosher.

Police can't enforce the law, so they must now drag and damage people's cars ? That is not right.

Postby 16 cycles » June 21st, 2012, 4:07 pm

they ever wreck the illegally parked cars on Richmond street?

everyday cars are parked on both sides of the street....

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2012, 4:14 pm

they should not stop wrecking,
however they need to revamp the parking rules on many of the streets
a lot of the one way streets can take parking on both sides
also the mayor put up no parking signs in front of wendys when they had the drive thru
the drive thru is no more so people should be allowed to park there like everywhere else on ariapita
that is a favorite place for the wrecker to take unsuspecting people

also there is blatant bobol,
every night you can see a white porsche cayenne parked on the corner by Levels
seems like they are afraid to wreck it.

wrecking making $800k/month
that is big business, that not stopping permanently anytime soon

Postby Stephon. » June 21st, 2012, 4:21 pm

Backward much?

Postby 1UZFE » June 21st, 2012, 4:44 pm

De red now pass on victoria av...

Postby SR » June 21st, 2012, 7:22 pm

pugboy wrote:they should not stop wrecking,
however they need to revamp the parking rules on many of the streets
a lot of the one way streets can take parking on both sides
also the mayor put up no parking signs in front of wendys when they had the drive thru
the drive thru is no more so people should be allowed to park there like everywhere else on ariapita
that is a favorite place for the wrecker to take unsuspecting people

also there is blatant bobol,
every night you can see a white porsche cayenne parked on the corner by Levels
seems like they are afraid to wreck it.
wrecking making $800k/month
that is big business, that not stopping permanently anytime soon

no one care to comment on this

x2 ....ripebreadfruit...

Postby shogun » June 21st, 2012, 7:27 pm

DOMA has spoken...live with it.

noobie

Postby noobie » June 21st, 2012, 7:46 pm

Warner said parking in the city cannot be stopped when people do not have places to park their vehicles.

Finally someone with some common sense.