Your car battery pole protection

Postby RBphoto » June 6th, 2012, 4:39 pm

Well, I just looking around for a little dielectric grease, and the little red and green washers that you ut on the batttery pole... can't find any... everywhere, from motorist to peaks... "we aint cary that for a long time". People doh use them thing again? Am I that old? Going to check Mathuras tomorrow... but anyone know where to get this stuff? I know some people will say to use vaselene, but I am not too sure how effective that is.

Re: Your car battery pole protection

Postby X_Factor » June 6th, 2012, 4:57 pm

those red n green stuff works excellent!!!

http://www.amazon.com/Coleman-989-Anti- ... 157&sr=1-5

skybox about 5 one time!

Postby RBphoto » June 6th, 2012, 5:34 pm

Call me ignant, but why are some red and some green?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 6th, 2012, 5:41 pm

Why don't you just spray a little WD-40 on it? No corrosion at all with that method.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » June 6th, 2012, 5:54 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Call me ignant, but why are some red and some green?

so ppl eh go mix up the neg n positive poles bebeh...

Postby MG Man » June 6th, 2012, 6:47 pm

some eh ripe yet

Postby tr1ad » June 6th, 2012, 6:53 pm

yuh pole affi tun up?

Postby black start » June 6th, 2012, 11:33 pm

geometron wrote:

how you guh call the man a bebeh bro?

you aint know duane name UML official Chuna bebeh? :|

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 7th, 2012, 7:16 pm

check A.M Marketing on cipero street sando

Postby Sky » June 7th, 2012, 7:24 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Why don't you just spray a little WD-40 on it? No corrosion at all with that method.

I just spray the fk out of it with white lithium spray and wipe around them.
I'll either take it off when I'm removing the battery or it collects too much dust.

Postby RBphoto » June 8th, 2012, 10:45 am

Decided to do a little mor research into this.

Found this product:
http://www.sanchem.com/aSpecialE.html?g ... NAodf2n7nA
No-OxId

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 8th, 2012, 10:51 am

crossdrilled wrote:Well, I just looking around for a little dielectric grease, and the little red and green washers that you ut on the batttery pole... can't find any... everywhere, from motorist to peaks... "we aint cary that for a long time". People doh use them thing again? Am I that old? Going to check Mathuras tomorrow... but anyone know where to get this stuff? I know some people will say to use vaselene, but I am not too sure how effective that is.

Thought it was just me .... but since more and more ppl switching to maintenance free this no longer required. Looking for some myself for now .... but it's maintenance free when this battery done.

Postby RBphoto » June 8th, 2012, 11:03 am

What maintainance free has to do with protecting the poles? They could still get corroded.... but I have noticed that my MF battery terminal does not get corroded much. Guess because the acid is all sealed up and less likely to leak?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 8th, 2012, 11:26 am

crossdrilled wrote:What maintainance free has to do with protecting the poles? They could still get corroded.... but I have noticed that my MF battery terminal does not get corroded much. Guess because the acid is all sealed up and less likely to leak?

Exactly ... the MF battery in my other vehicle never has this problem.

PS ... if you find this item please post up where you bought it from and price. Really need to get a set

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 8th, 2012, 12:32 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:check A.M Marketing on cipero street sando

did anyone make a call?

Postby RBphoto » June 8th, 2012, 12:34 pm

No breddaman, going to check tomorrow.

Postby MG Man » June 8th, 2012, 12:37 pm

crossdrilled wrote:What maintainance free has to do with protecting the poles? They could still get corroded.... but I have noticed that my MF battery terminal does not get corroded much. Guess because the acid is all sealed up and less likely to leak?

the acid leaks up and out of the battery and finds its way to the terminals? :shock:

Postby RBphoto » June 8th, 2012, 12:54 pm

No, I theorize that the acidic fumes from the battery vents corrode the poles in an open type cell.

Postby UML » June 8th, 2012, 12:56 pm

lost soul wrote:
geometron wrote:

how you guh call the man a bebeh bro?

you aint know duane name UML official Chuna bebeh? :|

i see u still toting :lol: :lol:

highly unlikely seeing that duane epitomizes the term and it was actually used to describe a moderator :|

i think u in a good position to claim the title...congrats :bday:

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 8th, 2012, 1:35 pm

faulty battery/terminals/ i never have any corrosion probs and i dont use anything....

Postby MG Man » June 8th, 2012, 1:37 pm

crossdrilled wrote:No, I theorize that the acidic fumes from the battery vents corrode the poles in an open type cell.

hmm..........never used an MF battery and never had any issues with the 'regular' batteries causing corrosion, even on the euro which has the battery inside an enclosed compartment

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 8th, 2012, 1:39 pm

or maybe alternator over-charging

Postby RBphoto » June 8th, 2012, 1:48 pm

Had a lot of problems on my SSS Bluebird. Terminals always used to corrode. On My tiida, had the some corrosion with normal open cells. The AC delco worked till it died for two years without having any terminal issues. The green light thing is crap. It does not tell you when your battery is going to die!!

Postby wagonrunner » June 8th, 2012, 6:42 pm

non MF. no corrosion. :|

Polydor

Postby Polydor » June 8th, 2012, 7:13 pm

do some reading on dissimilar metals :!:

it should answer your questions.

regards.

Postby cinco » June 8th, 2012, 10:12 pm

crossdrilled wrote:No, I theorize that the acidic fumes from the battery vents corrode the poles in an open type cell.

hmm..........never used an MF battery and never had any issues with the 'regular' batteries causing corrosion, even on the euro which has the battery inside an enclosed compartment

umm fella
ent u supposed to use a mf battery in those enclosures? especially a gel batt instead of a normal sealed mf?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 8th, 2012, 11:06 pm

WD40 works well for me so far..

Rx

Postby Rx » June 9th, 2012, 7:29 pm

wd40 or vaseline works well

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 9th, 2012, 8:36 pm

Polydor wrote:do some reading on dissimilar metals :!:

it should answer your questions.

regards.

this

TK!

Postby TK! » June 10th, 2012, 9:32 am

i bought my dielectric grease online. if you're looking for a local supplier, you might have better luck getting it at a marine supply store such as peake's.