Transgender March today

gundelero

Transgender March today

Postby gundelero » May 11th, 2012, 9:50 am

SEVEN groups have come together to stage a march today to highlight the rights of this country's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) community.
The march will take place along Wrightson Road starting at the head office of the Equal Opportunity Commission and ending at the entrance of the Parliament at the International Waterfront.
The march is aimed at highlighting the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia (IDAHO).
IDAHO is the anniversary of the World Health Organisation's May 17, 1990 declassification of homosexuality as a mental illness.
The local commemoration of the IDAHO takes place today to coincide with the sitting of the Lower House.
Last year the Coalition Advocating for Inclusion of Sexual Orientation (CAISO) commemorated IDAHO locally by itself with a march through Port of Spain including visits to government offices. This year the Family Planning Association of Trinidad and Tobago, Free Pride Foundation, Friends for Life, MSM (Men who have sex with men) No Political Agenda, the Silver Lining Foundation and the Women's Caucus of Trinidad and Tobago have joined with CAISO to stage today's march.
"This year the groups are focused on equal opportunity legislation stalled in Parliament that would modernise the 12-year-old Equal Opportunity Act, a landmark anti-discrimination statue that expands the Constitution's promise of equality and access to justice," head of CAISO Colin Robinson stated yesterday.
"The groups message is to 'Add All Three' to include in the law's protection discrimination based on someone's HIV status, their age and their sexual orientation.
"They will deliver the message to the five Equal Opportunity commissioners at their office at one end of Wrightson Road and then to members of the House of Representatives who meet that afternoon at the Inter- national Waterfront Plaza at one end," Robinson stated.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Tra ... 68105.html

de fugg is this shyt?!?!?!?!?!
:shock: :x

Re: Transgender March today

Postby gastly369 » May 11th, 2012, 9:52 am

thank god it raining...

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 11th, 2012, 9:55 am

ohhhhh,that's why tuner slow today.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » May 11th, 2012, 9:55 am

Hope drive-by's are also arranged at given time of march... :snipersmile: :2gunfire:

Postby cinco » May 11th, 2012, 9:56 am

i tort was bout this yes

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » May 11th, 2012, 9:57 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:ohhhhh,that's why tuner slow today.

No Stephanie today ! :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2012, 10:01 am

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=373499&hilit=gay+march

It happened last year, they hope this year they have the "winds of change" on their backs as Obama flip-flopped recent on his stance on same-sex marriage and Rambachan saying that the Gov't considering their official stance.

Postby ismithx » May 11th, 2012, 10:02 am

and how exactly do we care about this???

Postby TRAE » May 11th, 2012, 10:02 am

stueps.... what i concerned about is the government stance on this

GOVERNMENT is currently looking into the issue of gay and lesbian marriages and a decision will be made public at some point, said Foreign Affairs and Communications Minister Suruj Rambachan.
"It is a matter being discussed by the Government at the moment and I'm sure that sooner or later you will be provided by a policy decision on such matters," he said.
He was speaking yesterday at the post-Cabinet media briefing held at the Office of the Prime Minister, St Clair. His statements were in response to a question about this Government's policy on same-sex marriage in light of the recent announcement by US President Barack Obama that he was in support of it, the first sitting president to do so. Same-sex marriage is legal in some US states but is not legal in Trinidad and Tobago.
Colin Robinson of the Coalition Advocating for Inclusion of Sexual Orientation (CAISO) said yesterday that his group applauded Obama's statement that the gay and lesbian community should be allowed to marry like everyone else.
IDAHO is celebrated by more than 50 countries around the world and it is the date which marks the declassification of homosexuality as a mental illness by the World Health Organisation (WHO).
In an interview with the Express yesterday, Robinson said, "I applaud President Obama for what he said because he framed it in a context of equality and what's fascinating to me even though marriage is not on CAISO's advocacy agenda is appears that the leaders in our hemisphere and especially Jamaican Prime Minister, Portia Simpson-Miller are taking locally appropriate leadership steps on equality and citizenship and for gay and lesbian people."
He said that he hoped Obama would not pay a political price for his stance, adding that Obama's statement made political sense and, "we are hoping that our Prime Minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar takes locally appropriate steps as well."
"On Friday, we will ask the Prime Minister to take a leadership action on this issue as the gay and lesbian community are not covered by the Equal Opportunity Act. In fact we are written out of it because sexual orientation is totally not covered."
Robinson added, "We are a secular state. We are not Iran. We are not under Sharia law."
He added that over the years opinions and traditions have changed.
"At one time, we never used to play soca during Lent but now it is all over the place right through the year," said Robinson.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 11th, 2012, 10:06 am

chasemewhatever is going to have sore feet today..

Oleander

Postby Oleander » May 11th, 2012, 10:11 am

Annihilation of the human race one gay at a time.

Postby hydroep » May 11th, 2012, 10:13 am

GOVERNMENT is currently looking into the issue of gay and lesbian marriages and a decision will be made public at some point, said Foreign Affairs and Communications Minister Suruj Rambachan.

Politicians continue pussyfooting around this issue.

Perhaps this might be a good one for a referendum... :idea:

Postby sharkman121 » May 11th, 2012, 10:18 am

NBPAT (non bodi price affecting thread)

on second thought, if the gays band together, they could significantly alter and affect the price of bodi.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » May 11th, 2012, 10:20 am

uncle sam wrote:chasemewhatever is going to have sore feet today..

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2012, 10:23 am

hydroep wrote:

Legally we can't have a referenda on any issue. Its not in our constitution.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 11th, 2012, 10:25 am

cinco wrote:i tort was bout this yes

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » May 11th, 2012, 10:40 am

sharkman121 wrote:NBPAT (non bodi price affecting thread)

on second thought, if the gays band together, they could significantly alter and affect the price of bodi.

I'd expect it to be more Baigan affiliated than anything else.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 11th, 2012, 10:43 am

bloody hell!!!!

but they go get through faster than me getting my fkn arrears...steups!!!!

Postby hydroep » May 11th, 2012, 10:45 am

hydroep wrote:

Yet we have prominent legal minds calling for referendums on various issues:

*Prakash Ramdhar - CCJ.

*Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj - Death Penalty.

That's interesting.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2012, 10:48 am

hydroep wrote:

*Prakash Ramdhar - CCJ.

That's interesting.

The sheep are easily fooled.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 11th, 2012, 10:48 am

Sorry, trinidad only has room for Heterosexuals, all others feel free to run into the ocean and drown your bullin gay self...........................

Postby UML » May 11th, 2012, 10:49 am

i think this more related to Obama's statements......rather than parliament...today is only the 11th

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » May 11th, 2012, 10:57 am

So what if people are gay? Does it affect your lifestyle? Will it turn you turn, are your afraid a man go rape u?

Are you afriad your children want to be gay? LOL as if people choose to be gay.

Postby cinco » May 11th, 2012, 10:59 am

Azzuri wrote:So what if people are gay? Does it affect your lifestyle? Will it turn you turn, are your afraid a man go rape u?

Postby UML » May 11th, 2012, 11:02 am

Azzuri wrote:So what if people are gay? Does it affect your lifestyle? Will it turn you turn, are your afraid a man go rape u?

what about those who claim to be gay....then straight....then gay...then straight again...then get married and have kids :?

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2012, 11:03 am

I am afraid more gay men like this one will abuse more children

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » May 11th, 2012, 11:03 am

UML wrote:

what about those who claim to be gay....then straight....then gay...then straight again...then get married and have kids :?

uhm are you retarded?

These people are bisexual like myself.

Postby hydroep » May 11th, 2012, 11:05 am

hydroep wrote:

*Prakash Ramdhar - CCJ.

That's interesting.

The sheep are easily fooled.

Perhaps.

But it's more likely that they're referring to the holding of a facultative referendum. While it isn't enshrined in the constitution (and thus non-binding), it's still a more accurate gauge of public opinion than having non at all.

Postby crazybalhead » May 11th, 2012, 11:06 am

I heading out in a few minutes to join in.

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » May 11th, 2012, 11:07 am

Habit7 wrote:Image

I am afraid more gay men like this one will abuse more children

yup one gay child predator vs the 1000s of straight child predators.....strong logic