anyne ever tried out the 35 mile talkies from radioshack?

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 29th, 2012, 7:04 pm

was wondering if it will work in lightly undulating terrain??
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on May 5th, 2012, 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Is a licence required to import a ham/walkie talkie etc?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 29th, 2012, 8:09 pm

I know in the US if your transmitting power is over 5W you will require a license. I not sure about our local laws on the subject through..

The GMRS / FRS bands are limited to 5W max and we use them all the time down here.. Some clubs even use CB..

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2012, 8:32 pm

d spike gave me some good advice on the matter some time back. that was his game, so he may be knowledgeable on the matter.

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2012, 8:32 pm

ent yuh cud buy a walkie talkie in kid stores? i use to have one as a child- but it's probably very low powered

Postby brams112 » April 29th, 2012, 8:39 pm

I believe you need to join a club to have a ham radio,plus some kind of registration,as for walkie talkie the will seize it.Police have scanners all over to intercept transmission,once i had some family from the states sneak in a pair for communication between two cars that were going on a trip,i had one in one of two cars,was trying to get on to the other car and a guy who said he was a police telling me to get off that channel in a hostile way,but base radios at home could be cool once you know what channel to be on to transmit.

Postby X2 » April 29th, 2012, 8:58 pm

For ham radio I am sure you need a license... it was so years ago.

Walkie talkies should be fine as long as you don't transmit on the emergency channel.... I use them all the time with no intervention from the popo.

Postby DVSTT » April 29th, 2012, 10:56 pm

Hey, sorry to hijack thread, just wanted to know if buying and bringing in something like this
http://www.amazon.com/United-Cutlery-UC ... 520&sr=8-2
is legal?

Postby X2 » April 29th, 2012, 11:04 pm

I don't believe you can bring that in...

Postby Team Loco » April 29th, 2012, 11:09 pm

Yes you need a licence, yes you need to check the authorities first, yes I am talking from first hand experience, becasue I was charged for not having paperwork in order. I ordered a pair of crappy used motorola two way radios for usd $10. When they got here they were seized because I didn't have permission to import it

Postby DVSTT » April 29th, 2012, 11:10 pm

Is there some sort of license for which you have to apply for in order to own a less lethal weapon?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 30th, 2012, 3:46 am

Team Loco wrote:Yes you need a licence, yes you need to check the authorities first, yes I am talking from first hand experience, becasue I was charged for not having paperwork in order. I ordered a pair of crappy used motorola two way radios for usd $10. When they got here they were seized because I didn't have permission to import it

I brought in two way radios through my skybox and didn't get any problems..

xtech

Postby xtech » April 30th, 2012, 7:47 am

i brought a box of Motorola radios from a auction at the airport in 2010 no mention of import legalities
an it was high end stuff too

Postby X2 » April 30th, 2012, 8:17 am

Walkie talkies selling in radio shack normal normal....

Postby Team Loco » April 30th, 2012, 8:47 am

Yup, it all boils down too the typical mood of the customs official. I evetually got my radios, had to go to telecommunications authority with the owners manual, show them the radio band, get a letter from them then go collect and pay $600 in storage fees. Needless to say when I got them the battery packs were missing. I got screwed

UK Premium Imports

Postby UK Premium Imports » May 2nd, 2012, 2:51 am

You can buy the walkie talkies in Margarita island, Sambil mall and they don't bother with it there. Got a motorola set there. For sale as well. lol

carmelo

Postby carmelo » May 2nd, 2012, 5:38 pm

to bring in ham radio you must have at least an operators license for CB or usb/ssb/vhf/uhf you should not have any problems as long as you dont transmit on the emergency frequencies. if you plan on transmitting above the 1kw you need to go the TATT and apply for a radio lic.

Re: anyne ever tried out the 35 mile talkies from radioshack

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 5th, 2012, 9:20 pm

umpedfd

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 6th, 2012, 10:53 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
Team Loco wrote:Yes you need a licence, yes you need to check the authorities first, yes I am talking from first hand experience, becasue I was charged for not having paperwork in order. I ordered a pair of crappy used motorola two way radios for usd $10. When they got here they were seized because I didn't have permission to import it

I brought in two way radios through my skybox and didn't get any problems..
same here

I brought in these multiple times and got no problem
I didnt' even realise there was an issue

Postby pioneer » May 7th, 2012, 5:58 am

third world country what you expect...remember present "customs officers" used to file paper at one point

they not very smart

Rx

Postby Rx » May 11th, 2012, 7:35 pm

never knew that there was an issue...

Buddies of mine using these all the time in offroading.........

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 11th, 2012, 10:30 pm

we use them all the time in our club when we go off-roading.
Never had trouble with the authorities.

Passed through a couple roadblocks with the radios sitting on my dashboard, they didn't even bat an eyelash.

Bought them through my skybox, no problems to bring them in at all

Tip: don't buy the ones in Radioshack, they're WAAYYY overpriced!
Check www.amazon.com for good deals!

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2012, 9:17 pm

my radios got seized by customs through skybox. got the certification today. a person at tatt was saying that they're still deliberating whether or not to keep the certification because we don't get stuff operating outside of the range.

http://www.amazon.com/Uniden-GMR-4040-2CKHS-Charging-Carabiners/dp/B007B5ZHTG/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1337821788&sr=1-10

tatt said that the certification is for a specific model of radio, intended to verify that that specific radio is within allowable specs.

well that is how it supposed to operate, technically, they just supposed to see that the certification is there and release it, as tatt explained that the certification is model specific and not customer specific or item specific.

DemiCelph

Postby DemiCelph » June 24th, 2013, 6:45 pm

carmelo wrote:to bring in ham radio you must have at least an operators license for CB or usb/ssb/vhf/uhf you should not have any problems as long as you dont transmit on the emergency frequencies. if you plan on transmitting above the 1kw you need to go the TATT and apply for a radio lic.

you my friend typed up a load of crap, congrats your idiot license has just been renewed for another year, CB and Ham radios are NOT the same, cb stands for Citizen Band, Ham Radio is Ameteur Radio in which you need to sit an exam, to obtain a license, where there are different classes of licenses, CB radio uses a set of bands which the FCC in the states declared free use to any citizen with some restrictions but does not require a license,
as for USB (upper side band) LSB (lower side band) these can be used on CB as well as HAM radio, there are just different modes of operation, VHF and UHF are bands, which only the HAMS use,
CB radio have NO emergency frequencies..... (atleast in Trinidad)
1 kilowatt of power you say? LOL, aye guy, CB radio uses just 4 watts of power,
Ham Radios use 100 watts of power, both from the factory, however,
additional power amps can be used for HAMS ONLY, in which 1500 watts is the legal limit :wink:
do some more reading before you pass on half baked info to other people that dont have the knowledge,

walkie talkies that you can buy on amazon, radio shack, or some electronics store ($50-100us) is legal for use and can be brought in the country through a skybox as these are intended for the general public,
the higher end walkie talkies (the more expensive ones) will require a Hams Licence

and yes, they will seize a scanner from the average citizen, and they will question you as to why you want to listen to the police, prisons, fire and etc

HAM operators are able to own a scanner,
and lastly, licensed ham operators can bring in any equipment and pay no customs duty ...but only S&H

k thanks

Postby rollingstock » June 24th, 2013, 6:56 pm

^ So you bumped a year old thread to post your diatribe yet quoting applicable laws in teh US that doesn't apply to T&T?

Postby brams112 » June 24th, 2013, 7:43 pm

Maybe he now get his base radio in order.This reminds me to power up mines with the faithfull K40 to see if I could still pick up the states,or vene.

Postby pioneer » June 24th, 2013, 7:49 pm

Radioshack still selling two-way radios, saw some motorolas and the prices don't look too bad

Why not avoid the hassle and purchase there?

Postby janfar » June 25th, 2013, 4:47 am

I bought a pair from ebay and when i went to collect it from customs the man say i need a license for it. I told him its a toy, "wah big man goin and use a yellow radio eh... dai for meh chirren". He bought that cash...

Postby Ted_v2 » June 25th, 2013, 7:10 am

pioneer wrote:Radioshack still selling two-way radios, saw some motorolas and the prices don't look too bad

Why not avoid the hassle and purchase there?

this :!:

Postby pioneer » June 25th, 2013, 8:51 am

Matter of fact they have many not some, almost an entire wall at trincity branch

neoise

Postby neoise » June 25th, 2013, 8:58 am

Tested these radios in POS and effectively communicated from Wrightson rd by John D to the other set by Trotters. Not bad, still have to try a line of sight test to see if the 35 miles claim is true though.