Car Thieves...

blackdragon

Car Thieves...

Postby blackdragon » April 26th, 2012, 11:22 am

Hi Guys,

There have been all sorts of attempts to try and outsmart people of thier vehicle. But this is new....to me atleast.
Since I advertised my vehicle a particular person calls or emails from different numbers and addresses saying they want to purchase....without seeing or nego. They are asking for my banking information saying they will send me the money and an agent to pick up the car with no talks of transfer or what insurance rates are and again have not even seen, test drive or bothered on doing a vehicle search. NOBODY buys a vehicle that easy. So beware people thieves are becoming even more cunning....

ruffnek

Re: Car Thieves...

Postby ruffnek » April 26th, 2012, 11:43 am

yea, thats normal...i get use to it already...
guy named MIKEL MORGAN and some others. want to send money pay pal, and you have to depoisit in western unoin and all kninda things...

just ignore...this topic has been discussed several times...

this thread just might get locked also

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » April 26th, 2012, 11:51 am

Ah doh understand...
Y will Mods want 2 block such a thread...
After all you're just enlightening the Public
of the cons we have out there...

blackdragon

Postby blackdragon » April 26th, 2012, 12:00 pm

aye ruff....dats true....same name of mikel morgan from the email.....so it cant be a coincidence....and it is a rip off....i hope they keep the thread going to make others aware...thanks

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » April 26th, 2012, 12:17 pm

After advertising my car for sale last year november, i got this via e-mail:

Mikel Morgan wrote:
Is the car still for sale?

I replied:
Yes it is.

Mikel Morgan wrote:
Thanks for the response,am ready to buy the car and pay by paypal and
including PayPal surcharges since i am interested in the immediate
purchase for my Father.he just moved to the United Kingdom,where this
is needed and i will be making use of a shipping company to have this
picked up from you and have it delivered to him .Further arrangements
will be made with you in regards to the pick up once i have paid
you,advice soon i am an oceanographer and due to the nature of my
work, phone calls making and visiting of website are restricted but i
squeezed out time to check this advert and send you an E-mail regarding
it.

I would appreciate if you email me with more pictures (if available)
too since i won't be be able to see this in person,what's the PayPal
email to send funds to in order for me to pay you ASAP,And if you dont
have a paypal account, it is very easy to set up, go to www.paypal.com
and get it set up.

I will need this following details so i can proceed with the payment right away

Are you the first owner:
Your PayPal e-Mail Address:
full name:
What is your reason for selling it?
Address:
Last Price

I'm sorry, just want to be sure about the sale before i proceed

Due Regard

I replied :
Pal, try your scheme on someone else....OK.

blackdragon

Postby blackdragon » April 26th, 2012, 12:26 pm

wtf....this guy gets around....its the SAMEEEE info he sent me.....geez...conartist...

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » April 26th, 2012, 12:32 pm

So yuh c (as I suggested) y this thread cya stop...!!!
We buyin' Range Rovers from d UK, but he want we
lil putt-putt dem up there...come nah man

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » April 26th, 2012, 1:19 pm

This Mike Morgan thinks he is one smart dude..
What he does is, he looks for a vehicle and tells seller that he can pay the full price but he is offshore, or in the Uk or someplace...
He actually does send the payment through paypal, and that same day sends an agent to collect the vehicle and transfer immediately.
Paypal indicates that the payment has been made..
But the catch is u can only redeem the monies 30 days after it is deposited... in which time he stops payment to paypal saying that he is not satisfied with product bought...
Paypal does as he instructs as this is their policy and u the seller end up with no vehicle and no money... and police cant do anything cuz u made a reciept and transferred already..

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » April 26th, 2012, 1:20 pm

This Mike Morgan thinks he is one smart dude.
Last edited by hyperdude on April 26th, 2012, 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » April 26th, 2012, 1:22 pm

Toy Surf wrote:Ah doh understand...
Y will Mods want 2 block such a thread...
After all you're just enlightening the Public
of the cons we have out there...

Because it was posted already

bullet

Postby bullet » April 26th, 2012, 1:28 pm

Things like this need to be re-posted over and over in my book

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » April 26th, 2012, 1:36 pm

Well even if it was posted already, Mods
need to use their descretion if they wish
2 block...after all it's sharing ideas and
encouraging sales, is what keeps it goin'...

So hyperdude, daiz d kinda trick he up to
huh!
Doh fret with him, d longest rope has an end.

blackdragon

Postby blackdragon » April 26th, 2012, 2:08 pm

yeah hyper thanks for the info....hope more people read this and pass the word around...

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » April 26th, 2012, 2:20 pm

he claims that his money is in "treasure state bank" after he send me his account info to send the money to.... i contacted the genuine treasure state bank and sent all his info....

thought this probably slowed him down, but fraud will never stop

natureboy

Postby natureboy » April 26th, 2012, 4:26 pm

i told mr morgan that he had to come personally to pay for the vehicle, never heard from him again lol

rajbiss

Postby rajbiss » April 26th, 2012, 5:29 pm

Hey,,,,thanks for the info,,,,, I'm new to tuner,,,, so I would not have known about this guy from before.... PS..is Sheron's auto just as bad??

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » April 26th, 2012, 5:46 pm

Rajbliss i personally never did any business with Sheron and them,however i have heard many a stories,but the best way to know is to go and ask about a vehicle for yourself,if the paperwork is in order,the chassis not cut and join and you can get it transferred,agree to a price then you good to go,but the man changes his mind on his prices fast the price tends to go up when he sees you serious...but it is just my opinion...ps try not to call any names on tuner you dont want to find yourself in any problems if you know what i mean...

blacklancer

Postby blacklancer » April 26th, 2012, 6:43 pm

Toy Surf wrote:Well even if it was posted already, Mods
need to use their descretion if they wish
2 block...after all it's sharing ideas and
encouraging sales, is what keeps it goin'...

So hyperdude, daiz d kinda trick he up to
huh!
Doh fret with him, d longest rope has an end.

Seems that tuners is not the place for this after all. should check out the ole talk forum and see what some of them have to say about tuner members, one in particular who likes to bring in people mother in he comments.

cracker

Postby cracker » April 26th, 2012, 8:22 pm

dat mr morgan scam sounding like one of them nigerian scams, you know the one you get in you e-mail about some idiot telling you that he father is some great king who died an he inherited a huge pile of money so he want you to help him take it out in return he will give you 20% an all that crap. ah sure some of you must be get that kinda e mail already

blackdragon

Postby blackdragon » April 27th, 2012, 7:21 am

yes cracker i get mails like dat all d time.....always some sad story and promises.....dem feel we trinis is dunce.....dey eh kno we smarter than that...

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 27th, 2012, 8:18 am

cracker wrote:dat mr morgan scam sounding like one of them nigerian scams, you know the one you get in you e-mail about some idiot telling you that he father is some great king who died an he inherited a huge pile of money so he want you to help him take it out in return he will give you 20% an all that crap. ah sure some of you must be get that kinda e mail already

These are called advanced fee scams as they request that you send shipping fees to clear the money, then they ask for more money then more money until you are bled dry!!

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 27th, 2012, 8:25 am

from http://www.guardian.co.uk/money/2011/oc ... nd-account

'PayPal' fraudster rigged my account so I lost £935
I received emails and paid the money to my buyer ... but it turns out to be a scam

Comments (4)

Margaret Dibben
The Observer, Wednesday 26 October 2011
Article history
We advertised our caravan for sale for £10,495. A buyer emailed saying he was working on an oil rig in the North Sea and wanted to pay via PayPal. We set up an account. Within days, PayPal emailed to say the buyer had transferred £11,530 to us, including extra money for transportation fees. He could not arrange this from the rig, so he and PayPal wanted us to send £935 via Western Union, plus Western Union's £100 fee, to someone in Malaysia. When I queried this, I was informed by PayPal that it had approved this money and we were 100% safe in sending the fees and would get the money back. We sent it, and PayPal confirmed it was all OK.

Next day, PayPal told us the buyer had added another £1,670 for insurance, which we had to send. This time I refused and told them I did not have that sort of money. PayPal emailed again confirming that, once I had paid, I'd receive back the full £13,200. I decided not to risk it. The buyer begged me to help him as he would lose his money but I refused. When I mentioned the buyer might get help from his family, the emails stopped but someone started telephoning. I said I was going to involve the police and have heard nothing since.

I asked PayPal to return my £935 but it says it cannot split the payment as it has received the additional £1,670. I sent the money only because PayPal assured me it was safe. ER, Rugby

PayPal would never ask customers to use Western Union; it is a rival organisation. There are more clues throughout your letter showing that this is a scam – being asked to pay fees upfront and, when you agreed, being asked for more, involving Western Union (which charges £48, not £100, to send £935 to Malaysia), and spurious excuses. The emails said "service@paypal.com" followed by a website email address which reveals that "PayPal'" was just typed in. These emails, which reassured you, came from the fraudster, including the one refusing a refund. The genuine PayPal transferred the money you requested, but is not involved in the fraud. It cannot compensate you.

You can email Margaret Dibben at your.problems@observer.co.uk or write to Margaret Dibben, Your Problems, The Observer, Kings Place, 90 York Way, London N1 9GU and include a telephone number. Do not enclose SAEs or original documents.

blackdragon

Postby blackdragon » April 27th, 2012, 9:07 am

Damnnnn.....!!!!!!!!

Postby 1UZFE » April 27th, 2012, 9:13 am

dammm.... con men rhel at work...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 27th, 2012, 9:20 am

1UZFE wrote:dammm.... con men rhel at work...

yeah they does stick up reallll call cards on yur car too...!!!

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » April 27th, 2012, 9:44 am

Oh gard oui skidz...yuh not ez!!!

Postby 1UZFE » April 27th, 2012, 9:44 am

i get one yesterday in POS from Sherron.. Thought he was goin to take it easy for a while since his place was bun down.

Postby eliteauto » April 27th, 2012, 10:09 am

blackdragon wrote:Hi Guys,

There have been all sorts of attempts to try and outsmart people of thier vehicle. But this is new....to me atleast.
Since I advertised my vehicle a particular person calls or emails from different numbers and addresses saying they want to purchase....without seeing or nego. They are asking for my banking information saying they will send me the money and an agent to pick up the car with no talks of transfer or what insurance rates are and again have not even seen, test drive or bothered on doing a vehicle search. NOBODY buys a vehicle that easy. So beware people thieves are becoming even more cunning....

from hands-on information, this is a trend used by money launderers to wash drug/fraud money, there are persons with warehouses of cars bought blindly solely to deflect attention from their bank accounts

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2012, 10:29 am

Did any of you report it to PayPal?
PayPal doesnt just issue a refund without question just so - especially over and over again.

douglaking

Postby douglaking » November 2nd, 2012, 9:03 am

Wow I almost get take this morning but I remembered this thread.

Bump for a very informative thread