2013 Subaru XV

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 26th, 2012, 10:22 am

thoughts?

Neal & Massy has the XV for the same price as the much larger Hyundai Santa Fe, but it's a few millimetres here and there smaller than the Tucson. The Subaru will more than likely maintain it's resale value as well.

in 2011 the XV used to be a jacked up Impreza, but they've changed the chassis and while it shares the Impreza's body panels and interior, it is a different vehicle having a wider track and shorter wheelbase. It sits almost 9" from the ground.

The transmission is Subaru Lineartronic (CVT) with fulltime AWD
the engine is non-turbo but is good on torque.

Comes standard with 7 airbags and factory backup camera with in-dash display

Re: 2013 Subaru XV

Postby bushwakka » April 26th, 2012, 11:13 am

good vehicle....but i not buying into it....jus cuz of who sellin it.....makes no sense getting a good vehicle like that and them ruining it with poor maintenance

this is cheaper than the legacy though i gather?

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2012, 11:16 am

4th pic with the interior looks sweet.

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2012, 11:17 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The transmission is Subaru Lineartronic (CVT) with fulltime AWD

dealbreaker for me
cvts annoy me

Postby sliderz1 » April 26th, 2012, 11:31 am

@315k......hmmmm

Postby MG Man » April 26th, 2012, 11:45 am

cinco wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The transmission is Subaru Lineartronic (CVT) with fulltime AWD

dealbreaker for me
cvts annoy me

just pretend u driving a pirogue...........it works for me......sometimes I grab the handbrake and pretend it's the tiller

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2012, 11:49 am

Damian Scott is the sales guy?

Postby AllTrac » April 26th, 2012, 11:49 am

interior is repetitive and boring IMO.

Postby gastly369 » April 26th, 2012, 11:55 am

cinco wrote:

dealbreaker for me
cvts annoy me

just pretend u driving a pirogue...........it works for me......sometimes I grab the handbrake and pretend it's the tiller

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2012, 11:55 am

Duane, serious boy??? Just put back the stock shocks on the evo, you will see how versatile vehicle it is.

Shane18

Postby Shane18 » April 26th, 2012, 12:11 pm

Test drove this last week for someone. Overall its not bad wrt handling and acceleration. Had a boosted forester before so felt like the little extra power was lacking, but still pulls ok, also has paddle shifters to simulate a conventional triptronic transmission if you want to use them. The other contenders were the Tiguan and RAV4 but I can't justify her paying $300+ for a basic RAV 4, whereas the XV may have a smaller engine but has loads of other features to compensate. The Tiguan is really descent but just concerned with resale value and after warranty parts prices.

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2012, 12:17 pm

cinco wrote:

dealbreaker for me
cvts annoy me

Postby tr1ad » April 26th, 2012, 12:22 pm

hmmm could be the upgrade i'm looking for

will make a pass in and have a chat with them

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » April 26th, 2012, 12:23 pm

kinda ugly...prefer the nissan xtrail!

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2012, 12:23 pm

i wonder how the upcoming CX5 will fare against it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 26th, 2012, 12:29 pm

Shane18 wrote:Test drove this last week for someone. Overall its not bad wrt handling and acceleration. Had a boosted forester before so felt like the little extra power was lacking, but still pulls ok, also has paddle shifters to simulate a conventional triptronic transmission if you want to use them. The other contenders were the Tiguan and RAV4 but I can't justify her paying $300+ for a basic RAV 4, whereas the XV may have a smaller engine but has loads of other features to compensate. The Tiguan is really descent but just concerned with resale value and after warranty parts prices.

but the Tiguan starts at $327+ all the way up to $403+

Postby Stephon. » April 26th, 2012, 12:32 pm

cinco wrote:i wonder how the upcoming CX5 will fare against it

Wondering the same thing, not much longer to wait to find out though.

link

Postby link » April 26th, 2012, 12:34 pm

wait 3 mths...RORO will probs flatline around 200k

Postby noshownogo » April 26th, 2012, 12:36 pm

I actually like the shaved quarter panel look of the Subaru XV, but CVT isn't for me.

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2012, 12:37 pm

i keep looking at it and i see the suzuki sx4 hatch more and more

Shane18

Postby Shane18 » April 26th, 2012, 12:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:but the Tiguan starts at $327+ all the way up to $403+

Nope, went in and got a quote for $311,000 on the road. That was the 180 hp model though.

link

Postby link » April 26th, 2012, 12:57 pm

noshownogo wrote:I actually like the shaved quarter panel look of the Subaru XV, but CVT isn't for me.

Nissan Skyline 350GT...8spd seq shift...CVT cud hold down 400hp
cvt works !!

Postby noshownogo » April 26th, 2012, 12:58 pm

http://www.caranddriver.com/reviews/201 ... ive-review

See Car and Driver review of the XV above

Postby noshownogo » April 26th, 2012, 1:02 pm

My displeasure for CVT has nothing to do with how much power it can handle. I just don't like the busy drive you get from it and the elastic feel of the tranny.

This review below seems to have the same CVT and engine combination we're getting in T&T. Performance seems weak:

http://www.automobilemag.com/reviews/dr ... rst_drive/

http://www.insideline.com/subaru/xv-cro ... drive.html

Postby RBphoto » April 26th, 2012, 1:21 pm

Looks like a tiida/ sx4/ (insert generic look here). Question, can it run on super gasoline? If iss another premium premadonna.... do not want!! I looking at something like this/ SX4/ Nissan prarie esque vehicle maby in the next few years.

Postby tr1ad » April 26th, 2012, 1:24 pm

yuh mean a pickney carryin vehicle

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 26th, 2012, 1:25 pm

OP needs to apply for powerseller status ............roflmao

2013 Subaru XV

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 26th, 2012, 2:36 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Looks like a tiida/ sx4/ (insert generic look here). Question, can it run on super gasoline? If iss another premium premadonna.... do not want!! I looking at something like this/ SX4/ Nissan prarie esque vehicle maby in the next few years.

you really old fashioned yes lol

Premium gas you complaining about?

What you using now? Regular?

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2012, 2:41 pm

Crossdrilled is a clown yes. "premium primadonna" Yuh need to get a ole cortina hoss. Cyabaraytah.

Postby RBphoto » April 26th, 2012, 3:15 pm

Yes.. a baby hauler :lol:

My bro in law bought a corrola which can use super just after I bought my tiida, which can only use premium. I am sure he saves over a thousand dollars more than me because of the price of super gasoline compared to my fuel costs. Heck, since my brother installed the UK spec SR20 in the SSS bluebird, and had it tuned for super, his fuel bill has been lower, and he does wring out that engine as it tuned for high end like a honda with big arse cat back exhaust, extractors, and free flowing intake.

D suzki and dem could use super not so?

I dunno if you recall CBH, but my dad had a cortina...:lol:.