Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

roadhog

Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Postby roadhog » December 14th, 2011, 3:08 pm

Please refrain from personal complaints. If you are having issues, contact Digicel directly.

___

http://www.caribjournal.com/2011/09/01/digicel-group-ceo-colm-delves-on-4g-a-dynamic-haiti-and-caribbean-integration/

Re: looks like digicel going 4g

Postby Trini Hookah » December 14th, 2011, 3:15 pm

September 1st, 2011.

Postby Habit7 » December 14th, 2011, 3:16 pm

No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 14th, 2011, 3:26 pm

Ready for Digicel 4G.

TSTT ent doing $h!t and we all know it. They have the money, resources and expertise to go 4g tomorrow if they wanted but they're gonna try to squeeze the population with that crappy EDGE network to keep cost down.

Is like PNM opening a soup kitchen to feed homeless people.......go figure.

Postby tr1ad » December 14th, 2011, 3:35 pm

Habit7 wrote:No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.

THIS!

Postby Trini Hookah » December 14th, 2011, 3:41 pm

toyota2nr wrote:Ready for Digicel 4G.

TSTT ent doing $h!t and we all know it. They have the money, resources and expertise to go 4g tomorrow if they wanted but they're gonna try to squeeze the population with that crappy EDGE network to keep cost down.

Is like PNM opening a soup kitchen to feed homeless people.......go figure.

You need new references that don't include PNM.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 14th, 2011, 3:44 pm

imagine how much money bmobile does make from fone cards ALONE

why d rass we still running edge and WAP?

Devourment

Postby Devourment » December 14th, 2011, 3:53 pm

Lord rel dumbasses here.

Firstly, the "4G" Digicel is doing in Trinidad is NOT WiMAX Thank God.....it's HSPA+ which is really 3.9G, but what makes it so exiting is that all modern GSM Smartphones that support 3G will not be able to surf the web at broadband speeds.

TSTT's executive told TATT up to late 2010 that T&T's population is not ready for that and no one uses their phone for data.

With respect to TSTT's 4G plans, well, they're there already. TSTT has had 4G internet since late 2009 in the form of crappy ass WiMAX.

As for any LTE plans by either network, I have not heard anything.
Last edited by Devourment on December 14th, 2011, 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » December 14th, 2011, 4:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.

What do you mean?

Postby stev » December 14th, 2011, 10:02 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:imagine how much money bmobile does make from fone cards ALONE

why d rass we still running edge and WAP?

trinis still goin and pay to use it...plus there is no 3G or 4G competition at d moment.

Postby S_2NR » December 14th, 2011, 10:09 pm

there is no demand for it from the general public.
the average joe in trinidad just care about bbm.

thats a fact.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 14th, 2011, 11:24 pm

S_2NR wrote:there is no demand for it from the general public.

thats a fact.

correct

Postby Cjruckus » December 14th, 2011, 11:26 pm

jsm1985 wrote:

What do you mean?

tstt can bring it when they are ready to answer digicel

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 14th, 2011, 11:29 pm

tstt have 4g just they choose not to release it to the public...the reason being, they dont know wat to price it at...LMAO

Postby Cjruckus » December 14th, 2011, 11:42 pm

thought TSTT couldnt do it because of Wimax or some sheit? it was posted in a tstt thread months ago.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » December 14th, 2011, 11:51 pm

ryan99tt wrote:tstt have 4g just they choose not to release it to the public...the reason being, they dont know wat to price it at...LMAO

Really? I guess digicel will give them an idea on how to price it then :D

Devourment

Postby Devourment » December 15th, 2011, 12:09 am

ryan99tt wrote:tstt have 4g just they choose not to release it to the public...the reason being, they dont know wat to price it at...LMAO

yea cuz that really makes sense :roll: :roll:

brickman

Postby brickman » December 15th, 2011, 12:19 am

thats a fact.

This is the issue right here,very simple if you've actually spoken to the tstt bigwigs.Do we have to have this broken record conversation every week in a new post?

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » December 15th, 2011, 3:38 am

TSTT is nowhere near ready for 4G

Devourment

Postby Devourment » December 15th, 2011, 7:06 am

brickman wrote:

thats a fact.

This is the issue right here,very simple if you've actually spoken to the tstt bigwigs.Do we have to have this broken record conversation every week in a new post?

I guess this is why Digicel has over 30K customers on a 3G waitlist and TSTT is struggling to get even half that figure after 2 years with their WiMAX Network. 3G Data Demand was underestimated in every single country in the world, even in thirder world places like Africa. The nature of data demand is that if EDGE is the only option, no one uses it cuz its slow as molasses. If faster data speeds were acheived via 3G then demand and use would skyrocket.

pablo_tt wrote:TSTT is nowhere near ready for 4G

Again, this is just semantics, but I assume you mean LTE by 4G as TSTT already has had 4G for 2 years now in the form of WiMAX.

From what I understand it doesn't take much effort to convert a WiMAX network to LTE (do a google search), however the as far as my friends in TATT are concerned (they are always the first to know) TSTT has no immediate plans to do this.

Postby Greypatch » December 15th, 2011, 9:09 am

if this ture that is totally facked up

govt should suspend their license

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 15th, 2011, 9:13 am

Still not real 4G

I'll say it again.
Not even "4G" phones support 4G.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 15th, 2011, 9:15 am

Devourment wrote:Again, this is just semantics, but I assume you mean LTE by 4G as TSTT already has had 4G for 2 years now in the form of WiMAX.

Is this real 4G?

i.e. near 100M bit/s moving and 1Gbit/s stationary transfer speeds? Plus the rest of things that go along with calling your network 4G ?

Edit: I'm questioning because 4G is "LTE Advanced", not simply LTE (which is still 3G).

Postby TRAE » December 15th, 2011, 9:21 am

it go say 4G but yuh speed go be 128k

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » December 15th, 2011, 9:23 am

Tell dem flip it nah, flip it nah man.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » December 15th, 2011, 9:25 am

where flipper when we need him...

Postby stev » December 15th, 2011, 2:13 pm

Soundwave wrote:where flipper when we need him...

hahahhaa

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 15th, 2011, 2:23 pm

ok fellas what verizon is the us runs? i know its lte but all phones dat support their lte cah work gsm areas so is it a different system they using overall and if yes....why no someone come here with ittt...that sheit is fast yo

Postby pioneer » December 15th, 2011, 6:57 pm

digicel can go to mars for all i care

sh1tty company, sh1tty policies, sh1tty customer service.

bmobile ftw

Postby ismithx » December 15th, 2011, 7:06 pm

bmobile ftl... even though i'm on it... signal is bad sometimes, say NOTHING of their EDGE data.....