WTK: Who converts Japanese car stereo GPS to English?

Postby Habit7 » April 20th, 2012, 6:18 pm

I don't know if this is a repost, but any info would be greatly appreciated.

trinihub

Re: WTK: Who converts Japanese car stereo GPS to English?

Postby trinihub » April 20th, 2012, 6:34 pm

I would also like to know this ...I also see a slot for a pc card in my system.

Postby black start » April 20th, 2012, 8:08 pm

i vaguely remembered this being aske already but can't find a link. anybody with a link??

Postby nervewrecker » April 20th, 2012, 8:17 pm

I think there was a thread in the ICE forum, I feeling too lazy to search.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 20th, 2012, 9:30 pm

Ours has a mini USB to download music onto the hard drive, but no mem card slot :(

That and a map of trinidad to be purchased, but thing is how would it put installed? :|

Postby Habit7 » April 21st, 2012, 9:01 am

bump :!:

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 21st, 2012, 9:24 am

I dont think anyone does it (AFAIK) because of the cost/effort associated with it would deem it best for one to just buy a new sat/nav unit.

Postby pioneer » April 21st, 2012, 9:30 am

OP wouldn't it be easier to learn japanese?

Postby Habit7 » April 21st, 2012, 9:49 am

Yeah, I did some reading around and it seems like its hopeless :(

I'll go break the bad news to mother.

Postby nervewrecker » April 21st, 2012, 11:13 am

hard luck dey man, looks on the bright side though - plenty of the aftermarket units have nice features.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 21st, 2012, 1:35 pm

i am sure somebody in the bamboo can do this

Postby foss » April 21st, 2012, 1:52 pm

moms car stereo was programmed to Japanese radio. We converted it to English... but it was a pain in the ass to remember the stations. Especially if you lost the paper with the stations channels. :|

We just recently changed her unit.

trinihub

Postby trinihub » April 21st, 2012, 1:59 pm

^ummm.....it's not that we talkin bout.

Postby foss » April 21st, 2012, 2:00 pm

meh....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2012, 2:54 pm

i know some aftermarket decks have a feature to allow users to change d language but suppose if d deck was made with japanese language alone i doubt u cud change that ?

most ppl toss whatever comes in those f\u & put in a good brand name aftermarket deck that has exactly d features they want ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2012, 3:20 pm

foss wrote:moms car stereo was programmed to Japanese radio. We converted it to English... but it was a pain in the ass to remember the stations. Especially if you lost the paper with the stations channels. :|

We just recently changed her unit.

this was exactly d case too with decks that came in f\u vehicles that family members & my self too bought

used d band-expander thingy & if d paper lost well is like u lost too ... :lol: ... & u will have to go thru ur deck & write it back down

too much drama fiddling & d vehicles usually comes with rel basic shiddy decks so after a short while u get fed up of it & install a good aftermarket deck & done

when i bought my current roro car d d\din deck in it wasnt working , ppl who sold me d car said any good technician go tune it in for u but like they didnt know (or maybe knew) d deck had a anti-theft feature that needed d original cd made for it to unlock it ... whoever had d vehicle b4 probably removed d batt so all d deck settings was lost ... a few technicians i talked to & when i google it ppl said its a lost cause without d original cd so that was only good for using as a door stop :(

drove around listening to my cellphone rest down in d center console for d time being :oops: & then i installed a aftermarket deck ... :lol:

Postby Habit7 » April 21st, 2012, 5:41 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:i am sure somebody in the bamboo can do this

Yeah I guy in the bamboo called Rohan adjusts the radio tuner to pick up trini radio.

The DVD, CD, SD card works well. I have no hope for the gps but the tv just needs a tv tuner. Still can't find out how to turn on the back up camera. Hopefull one day I will take up a vaps and go Benihana and ask one their Japanese cooks for help.

This is why I buy euro where these things come standard and in 7 languages.

Postby nervewrecker » April 21st, 2012, 6:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:one day I will take up a vaps and go Benihana and ask one their Japanese cooks for help.

Postby pete » April 21st, 2012, 6:54 pm

[cs]Fielder we have came with a double din, touchscreen deck with two slots, one for "map cd" and one for normal cds. I didn't know but for a few months all it could do was play cds, not even radio. Then one day I was in the car and realised it couldn't work, found a map cd online and downloaded it. When I put it in all the features of the deck were unlocked, including a tv tuner, felt like a boss.[/cs]

Unfortunately it's all in Japanese and all the research I've done online it can't be changed. Sorry if I couldn't actually be of any actual help. :lol:

Postby foss » April 21st, 2012, 9:24 pm

pete wrote:[cs]Fielder we have came with a double din, touchscreen deck with two slots, one for "map cd" and one for normal cds. I didn't know but for a few months all it could do was play cds, not even radio. Then one day I was in the car and realised it couldn't work, found a map cd online and downloaded it. When I put it in all the features of the deck were unlocked, including a tv tuner, felt like a boss.[/cs]

pups

Postby pups » October 14th, 2013, 10:27 pm

bumpppp any new info

Postby Habit7 » October 14th, 2013, 10:49 pm

Check a guy lower down from the burger guys outside Grand Bazaar. He has a sign hanging on his gate. He might look as if you wouldn't trust him to fix a calculator but he was able to get a wide enough bandwidth of stations (with Japanese radio you cant get all our stations) especially after the more modern electrician I went to prior, botched the job and broke some pins in the sockets.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 14th, 2013, 11:00 pm

Habit7 wrote:Check a guy lower down from the burger guys outside Grand Bazaar. He has a sign hanging on his gate. He might look as if you wouldn't trust him to fix a calculator but he was able to get a wide enough bandwidth of stations (with Japanese radio you cant get all our stations) especially after the more modern electrician I went to prior, botched the job and broke some pins in the sockets.

How much it cost?

Postby Habit7 » October 14th, 2013, 11:27 pm

$200-400 I cant remember

Postby javishm » October 15th, 2013, 12:03 am

wanna do this catching my arse to change the time on the wingroad deck...such a pain

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 15th, 2013, 12:23 am

throw it away and buy this:

Pioneer AppRadio 3
http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-Compatibl ... B00D7BG59E

works with your smartphone, has Waze on the deck so no GPS maps of T&T needed and has a ton of other features. It is also considerably cheaper than a similar double DIN touchscreen deck with navigation, even from Pioneer.

Postby cinco » October 15th, 2013, 12:35 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Check a guy lower down from the burger guys outside Grand Bazaar. He has a sign hanging on his gate. He might look as if you wouldn't trust him to fix a calculator but he was able to get a wide enough bandwidth of stations (with Japanese radio you cant get all our stations) especially after the more modern electrician I went to prior, botched the job and broke some pins in the sockets.

How much it cost?

Ent dais rishi dat everybody does run away from?

Postby pete » October 15th, 2013, 9:35 am

Duane, you the agent for that radio in Trinidad?

Postby Sky » October 15th, 2013, 2:26 pm

Duane becoming a real whore these days jed!!!

I just learned how to get around mine, despite the Japanese. It had an HDD and pro duo slot.
The deal breaker was the lack of a usb drive. The HDD wasn't in any format known to even linux, and the stick, like something was missing, because it would go all the way in, ready to fall inside.

Postby pioneer » October 15th, 2013, 6:15 pm

Alpine>all

Bow to your car stereo overlords