TATT enforces TSTT mobile upgrade

Postby redmanjp » April 14th, 2012, 1:29 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,158520.html

By Sasha Harrinanan Saturday, April 14 2012

TSTT has launched a major handset upgrade which requires customers whose mobile phones use the 1800 megahertz (MHz) radio frequency to trade in their handsets for ones that operate on TSTT’s other frequencies.

In a statement issued yesterday, the TSTT said this had become necessary because it was required to relinquish that radio frequency spectrum to the Telecommunications Authority (TATT).

“As a result (TSTT) will deactivate the component of its mobile network that uses this spectrum on May 31, 2012. This will impact...tens of thousands of customers...and the company is rolling out a multi-million dollar handset swap campaign to keep these valuable customers connected,” TSTT said.

The free handset exchange started yesterday, April 13, and will run until May 31, when TATT takes formal control of the 1800 MHz spectrum.

“Owing to the volume of customers likely to be affected,” TSTT explained, “more than 145 dealer locations have been authorised to facilitate the trade-ins and will be aware of those customers who are due to receive an upgrade.” Affected customers will be contacted directly by TSTT by text message and/or phone call and their identities will be verified when they go to trade-in their phones at TSTT dealers.

Beware though of waiting until the last minute, so to speak, to trade in your phone. TSTT yesterday warned customers they “may not have access to a free upgraded handset once the trade-in deadline is past.”

Anyone considering keeping their old phones won’t be able to make calls or send text messages after May 31 because the 1800 MHz frequency would no longer support mobile phone services.

Questioned about the seemingly sudden need for TSTT to relinquish one of its mobile phone frequencies, TATT’s chief executive officer (CEO), Cris Seecharan, told Newsday the handover was actually mandated since 2005.

“The International Telecommunications Union, ITU, has recommended that the Americas region use the 850/1900 MHz spectrum for mobile phone services. When TATT was established in 2004, TSTT was using 850/1800 MHz, so around 2005, we informed the company it would have to migrate from 1800MHz to 1900 MHz in order for us to have a level playing field for incoming telecom providers,” Seecharan explained. At that time, Digicel and Laqtel were preparing to enter the market, which Digicel alone did successfully as Laqtel did not get off the ground.

TATT’s CEO said TSTT was given at least five years to complete this significant migration of customers from one frequency to another. However when the deadline approached last year (2011), Seecharan said the company requested more time, which TATT agreed to.

“We also gave TSTT additional MHz in the 1900 MHz range to facilitate the transition, so I find it curious that the company’s press release fails to mention how long in coming this switch-over has really been.

“The important thing however, is that effective May 31, 2012 all mobile phone service providers will operate on the same dual band frequency — 850/1900 MHz,” Seecharan said.

TSTT officials declined to say how many customers are affected and how much the handset trade in will cost.

Re: TATT enforces TSTT mobile upgrade

Postby De Dragon » April 14th, 2012, 2:35 am

Interesting.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 14th, 2012, 5:24 am

i am sure it will be a set of blu phones they gonna upgrade ppl too....lol...

Postby pioneer » April 14th, 2012, 5:33 am

LOL@ guntas who go in demanding to be "upgraded" to an iphone/blackberry etc

BUH³ I PAY MY MORNEY

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 14th, 2012, 6:00 am

But this not affecting people who handsets already 1900 enabled; bbs; / iphones etc

meetoo phones ftw?

Postby Hook » April 14th, 2012, 6:08 am

noob questions here:
How can one tell if one's handset is part of the recall?

Or is is that all phones sold after 2005 are 850-1900mhz enabled?

*paging Piasso*

Postby S_2NR » April 14th, 2012, 6:28 am

Hook wrote:noob questions here:

*paging Piasso*

Whats the make and model of ur phone?

Postby redmanjp » April 14th, 2012, 9:28 am

I have ah old phone that only on the 900/1800 Mhz frequency (Motorola C139). So if TSTT getting rid of 1800 then they would only have 850/1900? which means d phone wont work anymore but I didn't gt any txt yet :(

Rx

Postby Rx » April 14th, 2012, 9:32 am

interesting

Postby rfari » April 14th, 2012, 9:35 am

*paging Piasso*

You'll be able to get the operating frequency on www.gsmarena.com.

manager

Postby manager » April 14th, 2012, 9:36 am

Hmm is this upgrade 3G???

Looks like an impending Digicel vs Bmobile 3G war is brewing, can't wait!

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 14th, 2012, 10:02 am

manager wrote:Hmm is this upgrade 3G???

Obviously

Why else would you have to change your phone. The article is just a cover.

Postby S_2NR » April 14th, 2012, 10:07 am

manager wrote:Hmm is this upgrade 3G???

Is still 2012 dan. When 10G come out that will happen.

Postby Hook » April 14th, 2012, 10:54 am

6G...because automotive troll is automotive

Anyway, I found the user manual for the phone and it's 900-1800mhz AND 850-1900mhz compliant.
Replaced le me2 a mth ago so I was concerned nuh. Tnx for the info tho.

Postby skylinechild » April 14th, 2012, 3:21 pm

they NOW informing the public of this.....:lol:....

Postby redmanjp » April 14th, 2012, 3:42 pm

^fuh real... go be long lines in bmobile stores next few weeks

Postby skylinechild » April 14th, 2012, 4:29 pm

^^actually redman i knew about this since last yr march / april......got it in an email i didn't think it was important that i say anything.....and the REAL reason why they giving up the frequency is ............* internet connection cuts out.....

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 14th, 2012, 7:08 pm

skylinechild wrote:^^actually redman i knew about this since last yr march / april......got it in an email i didn't think it was important that i say anything.....and the REAL reason why they giving up the frequency is ............* internet connection cuts out.....

explain this "internet connection cuts out" more

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 14th, 2012, 7:10 pm

they givin blackberry?

Postby bushwakka » April 14th, 2012, 7:12 pm

*paging Piasso*

i see ur noob question and i raise you an answer

simply do a google search for the specs of ur phone, e.g. my phone is the curve 9300

returned search result http://worldwide.blackberry.com/blackbe ... ations.jsp

under Wireless Networks, it says
* Tri-band UMTS networks: (800/850)/1900/2100 MHz or 900/1700/2100 MHz (check with your service provider for network availability)
* Quad-band GSM™/GPRS/EDGE networks:
850/900/1800/1900MHz

Hence, since my phone includes the 1900 Mhz band...i'm safe

Postby skylinechild » April 14th, 2012, 7:58 pm

* wonders what frequency these operate on......

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 14th, 2012, 7:59 pm

just switch to digicell, for the past few MONTHS tstts service has been TERRRIBLE, calls dropping, call FAIL, network problems, over and over.

Its disgusting to TRY and have a conversation with a cell phone on bmobile.

Just SWITCH, DIGICELL is better

Postby S_2NR » April 15th, 2012, 2:00 am

Never had probs with bmobile. Then again I always have full service.

manager

Postby manager » April 15th, 2012, 8:42 am

Full service doesn't mean your're immune to those problems. You're just very lucky you use your phone in areas where bmobile works well.

I routinely get 2 to 3 dropped calls, called fails, network busy and unusable data service almost everyday.

Also, a while ago I spoke to a tech at TSTT and he said if your phone is 900/1800/1900 and the 1800 band is shut off, you'll experience very poor service since TSTT only has the 1900 band on some sites. Don't know if that's true.

Postby Stephon. » April 15th, 2012, 10:44 am

They still have non tri/quad band phones in circulation? :?

Postby S_2NR » April 15th, 2012, 10:47 am

I just hope my phone is compatible with the 3G band TSTT decides to use when they launch 3G

Postby bushwakka » April 15th, 2012, 12:32 pm

skylinechild wrote:* wonders what frequency these operate on......

the vibrations on the string between the can that reproduce the voice lie in the khz range

Postby skylinechild » April 15th, 2012, 1:58 pm

^^^ cool....i didnt know that actually.... thanks !!!!

bushwakka the science guy...!!!!

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » April 15th, 2012, 3:59 pm

ent anyone with a phone costing more dan $1000 have quad band?..so alot of ppl eh go kno de difference..only dem blu-men might suffer..

Postby ismithx » April 15th, 2012, 4:19 pm

emmmm most blu phones are quad band too last time i checked