Child dies after drinking beer
By Cecily Asson Tuesday, April 10 2012
The death of two and half-year-old Aliyah Johnson on Easter Sunday is now engaging the attention of police officers of the Southern Homicide Division.
According to reports, little Aliyah complained about abdominal pains shortly after she was seen being fed a bottle of beer by a close relative. She later died at hospital.
Aliyah lived in a ten by ten galvanise room with her mother Candace Johnson, 20, and stepfather Ramdhanie Ramjohn, 23, downstairs the home of Ramjohn’s parents at Maria David Trace, San Francique, Penal. The only furniture in the room is a wooden bunk which she shared with them to sleep and a wooden table.
Candace and Aliyah moved into live with Ramjohn in his downstairs apartment on Ash Wednesday Newsday was told.
A police report stated that Aliyah had complained of abdominal pains and was later rushed to the Siparia District Health Facility by an EHS ambulance where she later died.
Police said her body appeared to have marks of violence. An autopsy is expected to be performed today at the Forensic Science Centre, St James.
A man and a woman have since been detained and up to late yesterday were assisting police with their enquiries.
Yesterday an emotional Ramjohn Hosein, 67, said he was sorry he and his family could not have done more to save Aliyah who he said he only got to know when she moved in with her mother at his home.
He said, “I told police everything. She was such a nice child and her death has made me angry and has damaged my heart.”
With tears in his eyes Hosein recalled what he saw when he visited his son’s apartment earlier in the day.
He said he openly expressed his concern when he saw Aliyah drinking beer.
Hosein added, “Yesterday (Sunday) before all this happen I went downstairs and I see her (a relative) drinking a beer. She was giving the child Stag to drink. I tell the police everything. I called it to her attention, she just ignore me and light up a du Maurier (cigarette).”
He asked, “Why give a child so small Stag to drink. Parents have to be like parents you can’t be drinking and giving the child the same thing and the child does done hardly eat.”
Hosein said he left them and went to take a rest and awoke at about 5.05 pm and joined his wife Dassia Ramjohn, 67, and daughter Sharmatee who were sitting under the shed in front the house.
He continued, “We were talking when they called out to Sharmatee telling her to come and see what happen to the child.”
Hosein said they all went downstairs and saw Aliyah “breathing funny”.“She was not looking good at all and we brought her outside. We called the ambulance and she was rushed to hospital where she died. That is still a shock to me. Up to now I can’t sleep.”
He said his family has been hurt and embarrassed by the child’s death.
“First time police have to be up and down my property. I feeling shame because we are law-abiding citizens.”
He said although Aliyah only recently came into their lives, they felt close to her.
He went on to say, “We will miss her — she was a beautiful child. She was not my grandchild but the family accepted her as one of our own and we showed her love anytime we managed to see her.”
They said they were prevented from doing more for her.
“She was kept away from us most of the time. She was a lonely child and would sometimes be home alone for hours and we couldn’t say anything.”
Ramjohn’s sister Sharmatee told Newsday that Candace had begged her to take Aliyah to live with her
“Her mother had asked me to legally adopt her, Sharmatee Ramjohn told Newsday yesterday.
“I couldn’t do it because I already have eight children of my own and I couldn’t afford to take care of another one.
“The most we did was give her food and clothes but she needed more care. We are really sorry we didn’t take her.”
Yesterday when Newsday visited the family, officers of the Southern Homicide Bureau were conducting further inquiries.
Bareback wrote:Hold on, hold on; de mudder is 20, de chyle is 2 1/2, dey livin in a galvanize apartment under he parents house where he sister also livin wit she 8 chirren (no mention of husband), de chyle now come to live wit dem 40 days ago, an dey feedin de chyle stag!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Buh wha de bombo-mudders so an so does really be goin on wit my south Indo Trini????????
And in other news, hardware stores are recording record sales of lanate (a.k.a. indian tonic) for some inexplicable reason.....................................
Damien wrote:Bareback wrote:Hold on, hold on; de mudder is 20, de chyle is 2 1/2, dey livin in a galvanize apartment under he parents house where he sister also livin wit she 8 chirren (no mention of husband), de chyle now come to live wit dem 40 days ago, an dey feedin de chyle stag!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Buh wha de bombo-mudders so an so does really be goin on wit my south Indo Trini????????
And in other news, hardware stores are recording record sales of lanate (a.k.a. indian tonic) for some inexplicable reason.....................................
how you dotish so
rip aliyah
crossdrilled wrote:Thank god I am not Indian.
AllTrac wrote:"ten by ten galvanise room"
reporting gone to de dogs yes...
pioneer wrote:chile better off dead
come on people...selective breeding please
thanks
mannh01 wrote:We need to wake up and resume hanging...until this happens, nobody would be punished and crimes will be escallating....implement the islamic shariah, rape and you get stoned in public, steal and you walk around with one hand becsuse the other will get chopped off...
sMASH wrote:ent allyuh want a 'free' society to live in... well, deal.
Horror stories of abuse
By Susan Mohammed susan.mohammed@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Apr 10, 2012 at 10:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Apr 10, 2012 at 10:51 PM ECT
A FRIEND of the mother of Aaliyah Johnson said yesterday he saw the child being held by her neck by a 27-year-old Siparia man.
The family friend, who spoke on the condition of anonymity, said he witnessed the man holding the child by her neck as he attempted to place her on top of a water tank.
The man and a 19-year-old close female relative of Aaliyah have been in police custody since Sunday when Aaliyah was pronounced dead at the Siparia District Health Facility.
The child, who would have turned three years old in July, was brought to the medical facility unresponsive and bleeding from her private parts. She was brought to the facility by her mother and stepfather.
Medical practitioners who examined her told police there were signs of sexual and physical abuse about the child's body.
Jalisa Johnson, Aaliyah's aunt, said a nurse told her the child's private parts were injured. "Her mouth was burst. She had marks all over her skin," Johnson said.
The male and female suspects have been questioned by detectives of the Homicide Division (South).
Last night they were being detained at the Siparia Police Station.
Police are waiting for an autopsy before determining whether charges would be laid against them.
The autopsy was postponed yesterday because pathologist Dr Valery Alexandrov told police there were several other autopsies to be performed.
Police said Dr Alexandrov said he wanted to do a thorough examination of the child's body, and would begin at 10 a.m today.
Aaliyah and the close female relative moved in with the male suspect at Maria David Trace, Siparia, on February 20 (Carnival Monday).
The family friend told the Express that on March 26 around 12.30 pm he went to visit them at their new home when he witnessed the child being abused.
The man said he visited for half an hour because he felt uncomfortable. He said: "There were a lot of drunk people. The guy (male suspect) was drunk. His brother was drunk and rolling on the ground. I saw the guy pick up the child just like that and put her on top of a water tank in front of the house. The tank was high and he hold her by her neck and waist. She was frightened. I don't know if she was choking because of how she was screaming. And he did not seem to care less that she was screaming."
The friend said he drew it to the attention of the female relative, who called out to the suspect, and the child was taken off the tank and put on the ground.
The friend said he also heard the suspect calling the child names, using obscene language.
"I got upset because I am a friend of the family for a long time. Aaliyah is a little baby and they should not be making children cry like that," he told the Express.
The Express learned that the male suspect had been abusive to Aaliyah's close female relative, and she was preparing to leave his home with Aaliyah on Sunday.
Aaliyah's uncle, Matthew Johnson, said on Saturday around 7 p.m, the close female relative called him to take her and Aaliyah away from the home.
"She was crying and she said the man beat her. She said come for her tomorrow (Sunday)," Matthew Johnson said.
The next day he said he and the family friend went to pick them up, but the close female relative said she was not finished packing.
"She wanted to leave. But the man was standing close by watching. I think she was frightened to leave. But my mind told me that something was going to happen," he said.
Johnson said Aaliyah ran to him and hugged him. "She said 'uncle, I want to come by you'. But she (the relative) had changed her mind. The child was crying. I felt really bad. I was waving bye-bye and she kept coming behind me and waving", he said.
He said he called the female relative's cellphone several times that afternoon, but go no answer.
Victor Garcia, the father of Aaliyah's mother, said he believed the child was abused before Sunday.
Garcia, of Marigold Drive, Siparia, said last week the child's mother and the man visited him, but did not bring Aaliyah.
"I have a feeling that it (abuse)was going on before. When they came to see me, I know she always had the child. She said the child remained home. I asked why you did not bring her. She said she was not feeling well. From that time that I heard the child was not feeling well, I thought like she was going through these things," he said.
Stephon. wrote:Maybe she is better off dead after all. How depressing, I don't get how people could treat innocent children like that.