Any TT Expats in Australia?

AbstractPoetic

Any TT Expats in Australia?

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 4th, 2012, 12:10 pm

I recall there was one member on 2UNER who is/was working in Australia but I'm not sure if he is still around. I'm considering relocating there for a job opportunity and would love to hear from fellow Trinbagonians who have experienced working and living Down Under. I'm also looking at New Zealand but I'm not sure if anyone on here is familiar with living and working there.

:)

Re: Any TT Expats in Australia?

Postby crazybalhead » April 4th, 2012, 12:15 pm

There is a tuner who was living there, Bulletproof. He hasn't been on Tuner in a long time.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 4th, 2012, 12:22 pm

crazybalhead wrote:There is a tuner who was living there, Bulletproof. He hasn't been on Tuner in a long time.

Yes, that's who I was referencing! Aww man, I hope he returns. I have so many questions.

Thanks CBH!

Postby crazybalhead » April 4th, 2012, 12:23 pm

He's in Houston this week.

Postby dougla_boy » April 4th, 2012, 12:27 pm

i would not live in Australia for fear of this

http://blog.hotelclub.com/the-10-most-d ... australia/

and most importantly and definitely this.....urghhhhh

Postby dougla_boy » April 4th, 2012, 12:33 pm

but good luck in ur endeavors......

Postby sharkman121 » April 4th, 2012, 1:00 pm

nice AP good luck, id jump at any chance i get to go to "down under"

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 4th, 2012, 1:07 pm

sharkman121 wrote:nice AP good luck, id jump at any chance i get to go to "down under"

The place is just awesome. I hear its paradise on earth. There, New Zealand and Tasmania. Cleaner air, freshest water and seafood, not to mention the Great Barrier Reef. Still have a lot to consider though. It's a VERY big move for me should I decide to leave all I've known for the unknown.

Thanks for the well wishes.

dougla_boy wrote:but good luck in ur endeavors......

Thanks hun.

crazybalhead wrote:He's in Houston this week.

Houston isn't NYC. :lol: :lol:

I'll shoot him a PM and hope he responds. I still have some time before I firmly decide. :)

Postby sharkman121 » April 4th, 2012, 1:54 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:The place is just awesome. I hear its paradise on earth. There, New Zealand and Tasmania. Cleaner air, freshest water and seafood, not to mention the Great Barrier Reef.

This is 95% of the reason i wanna go there, ima reef fish and scuba diving enthusiast...

send me a ticket when/if u settle down :lol:

Postby janfar » April 5th, 2012, 2:15 am

I have a cousin that lives in Melbourne... sadly he is not a tuner... but if you want i could link u up with his contact info on FB...

Postby De Dragon » April 5th, 2012, 5:02 am

janfar wrote:I have a cousin that lives in Melbourne... sadly he is not a tuner... but if you want i could link u up with his contact info on FB...

Yuh real fack up janfar! Shookin AP on yuh cuz........... :|

Postby AllTrac » April 5th, 2012, 5:30 am

well look how i have a place to stay in Australia now.

Thanks AP :)

professor

Postby professor » April 5th, 2012, 8:09 am

While on the way to the Great Barrier Reef, if you are passing through / near Townsville, contact me, I would like you to put a clout on a half brother of mine.Don't worry, I would pay your bail.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 5th, 2012, 12:54 pm

So I found a Caribbean organisation based in Australia. Yay! They're known as The CaribOz Family and they appear to have a number of events/social gatherings year round. I'm elated to know they exist and further, that Caribbean peoples are represented in that part of the world.

Here's their FB profile and website if anyone is interested:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Carib ... 4315278647

http://www.cariboz.com/Default.htm

@janfar, I will PM you. :)

@Alltrac, can I accept the offer first before you pack your bags? :lol: :lol: I have to find a flat first. :)

@professor, sure thing. The pleasure will all be mine. :lol:

@sharkman, you and the fiancee should consider visiting for your honeymoon. :D I assume that would require you to find your way to Los Angeles or SanFran, CA somehow, as most direct flights to Australia (13 hour flight, mind you :() only fly direct from the West Coast, and that's outside your travels from TT to the West Coast. :(

Postby MG Man » April 5th, 2012, 12:58 pm

almost everything in australia can kill u........from ants to irakangi

Dutty_S

Postby Dutty_S » April 5th, 2012, 3:30 pm

^^ kfc already doin that in trinidad

op, you'll love it there, congrats on the move...but note...paying taxes down there is a real beyotch...but im sure you have considered this amongst other thing before the move.

zorced

Postby zorced » April 5th, 2012, 3:51 pm

i not rollin like that yet, but i know two ppl who had a good stay there & 1 is a 2nr. See inbox ;)

mindful of the creatures, its still a helluva place

zorced

Postby zorced » April 5th, 2012, 4:01 pm

life saving info there. blue ringed octopus :| stone fish :wtf:

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 5th, 2012, 4:07 pm

zorced wrote:

life saving info there. blue ringed octopus :|

Meh the spiders not that bad, I used to brush my teeth and look up and see 3-4 red backs chilling normal normal.

Snakes? Spent a week or so in the outback hiking and only saw some in a jar at a bar we stopped by.

Cant say for the octopus but had some awesome squid in this place off main.

Postby pugboy » April 5th, 2012, 7:44 pm

seafood and beef cheaper than chicken there

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 6th, 2012, 1:30 am

Sweet! I guess I have a place to stay when I go to Australia in September.

*insert perverted down under joke with AP*

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 6th, 2012, 2:19 am

my wife's sister lives in Perth....she does state that she feels so isolated at times....we're not extremely enthusiastic to visit her because dais a $100k easy easy right there and more so ....
MG Man wrote:almost everything in australia can kill u........from ants to irakangi

THIS!!!!!!
I would be so paranoid to step anywhere.....(though if is to dead then dead)

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 6th, 2012, 2:25 am

^^ It aint that bad man, just as we think everywhere is snakes etc they think we spend all day on a beach drinking coconuts

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 6th, 2012, 3:10 am

yeah true.....I'll be going in a few years time....wanna make a spin back India and then head off to aus.....

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 6th, 2012, 3:22 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:yeah true.....I'll be going in a few years time....wanna make a spin back India and then head off to aus.....

Do eet!!

My advise, dont take a direct flight if you get one out of india, indians tend not to wear deodorant and travel rather rancid. 8hrs + in a closed space with them and you either develop new heights of tolerance or start giving out speed sticks.

And if you going auzzy, take a few weeks, rent a golf gti with the flappy paddle gearbox and say hello great ocean road and Mt Keira Road :wink:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 6th, 2012, 3:49 am

good advice there man......I was thinking of a direct flight......hmmmmm....will contemplate that accordingly.

Postby janfar » April 6th, 2012, 9:41 am

for sure... buss up that flight... i just had a 10 min taxi ride with a indian... i now have a stomach ache from the smell...

Shane18

Postby Shane18 » April 6th, 2012, 10:12 am

Hey AP, my wife and I migrated to Perth three months ago and the could honestly tell you the worst part about it is the distance back home to family. The city is clean, very easy to get around, extremely efficient and full of different nationalities. The cost of living and taxes are a bit high, but salaries normally compensate for it.

Where in Oz are you looking at? The experience is a lot different depending on your location from what a lot of locals have been telling me. We're back in Trini for a few weeks for a wedding and flew Perth - Singapore - JFK - Trini, because we prefer to use Singapore Airlines. Perth to Sydney is a 5 hour flight so your route will depend on where you are, the number of connections you want, total traveling time and price.

If you have any questions please feel free ask here or PM me.

Postby AllTrac » April 6th, 2012, 10:31 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:my wife's sister lives in Perth....she does state that she feels so isolated at times....we're not extremely enthusiastic to visit her because dais a $100k easy easy right there

vega break down that cost for me nah

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 6th, 2012, 10:47 am

AllTrac wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:my wife's sister lives in Perth....she does state that she feels so isolated at times....we're not extremely enthusiastic to visit her because dais a $100k easy easy right there

vega break down that cost for me nah

POS- LGW Via BA- 665GBP= 1,055.91 USD

LHR- SIN (12hrs) Via Singapore Airlines- GBP 1,262.39 = 2,004.46 USD

SIN-MEL (8hrs) VIa singapore Airlines- SGD 1,136.80 = 901.93 USD

Total= $3962.30 x 6.39 = $25319.09 TTD.

Thats just flights based on a quick search of ticket prices now, factor in a taxi ride from LGW to LHR, food, room if you are staying a night over etc.

My guess, vega original estimate was with his india partition added in for 2 people.