Where are you on the global pay scale?

dineshb316

Where are you on the global pay scale?

Postby dineshb316 » March 30th, 2012, 10:49 am

Do you earn more or less than the world's average wage? Type in your monthly salary and we'll give you the answer.

The average wage, calculated by the International Labour Organization, is published here for the first time. It's a rough figure based on data from 72 countries, omitting some of the world's poorest nations. All figures are adjusted to reflect variations in the cost of living from one country to another, and as Ruth Alexander of BBC radio's More or Less programme underlines, it's all about wage earners, not the self-employed or people on benefits.

Only Jamaica made this list.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-17543356

Re: Where are you on the global pay scale?

Postby Stephon. » March 30th, 2012, 11:08 am

Thought the average would be higher, but Trinidad didn't even make it lol.

Postby ronsin1 » March 30th, 2012, 11:14 am

interesting

Postby SMc » March 30th, 2012, 12:53 pm

I higher than global but plenty lower than country I live in average...I officially poor.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 2nd, 2012, 9:45 am

Stephon. wrote:Thought the average would be higher, but Trinidad didn't even make it lol.

We have a lower cost of living and a relatively higher GDP.
You can't use dollar for dollar weights here.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 2nd, 2012, 9:50 am

SMc wrote:I higher than global but plenty lower than country I live in average...I officially poor.

You'd find that what people consider '(lower) upper class' in T&T is actually middle-class.

You can measure middle class by assets and the potential to purchase goods and services that for others might be a choice / opportunity cost e.g. number of vehicles, housing, education, travel and entertainment etc.

Lower-class has to make a choice between buying a new car/studing/vacation and getting a new house. In that case many of us are really lower class because of the investment it takes relative to our real buying power.

Postby crazybalhead » April 2nd, 2012, 9:53 am

I'm realising I am severely underpaid as a mod thanks to this thread. *emails HRDEPT@Trinituner.com for meeting to discuss.*

Postby wagonrunner » April 2nd, 2012, 9:58 am

crazybalhead wrote:I'm realising I am severely underpaid as a mod thanks to this thread. *emails HRDEPT@Trinituner.com for meeting to discuss.*

Autoresponse from postmaster@trinituner.com

STOP WASTING EFFING TIME EMAILING, AND MODERATE D FORUMS DAN.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 2nd, 2012, 10:08 am

Strauss wrote:
SMc wrote:I higher than global but plenty lower than country I live in average...I officially poor.

You'd find that what people consider '(lower) upper class' in T&T is actually middle-class.

You can measure middle class by assets and the potential to purchase goods and services that for others might be a choice / opportunity cost e.g. number of vehicles, housing, education, travel and entertainment etc.

Lower-class has to make a choice between buying a new car/studing/vacation and getting a new house. In that case many of us are really lower class because of the investment it takes relative to our real buying power.

Hmmm

I think the house part skews it. New car, studying (cuz ah GATE) and foreign vacations real doable but the house remains out of reach for many middle income earners.

Postby crazybalhead » April 2nd, 2012, 10:13 am

Yuh know why that is Dizzy? Because people want their cake and want to eat it too. Instead of looking at a reasonable car, most people forgo the the mortgage to put themselves in debt for a vehicle. So you end up having a decent car, and a $3000.00 a month loan payment, which could have gone towards a mortage. Also, a lot of people refuse to leave the security, and convenience of the town they grew up in, to find a more reasonable priced property that may have a longer commute.

So the cost of the house is not necessarily the limiting factor in all cases, it's a matter of priority.

Postby Stephon. » April 2nd, 2012, 10:17 am

Well you can't drive into work with a nice house you know!

Postby crazybalhead » April 2nd, 2012, 10:20 am

Stephon. wrote:Well you can't drive into work with a nice house you know!

Don't I know it! That's why I bought a swanky EG Hatchback civic.

Postby Habit7 » April 2nd, 2012, 10:25 am

crazybalhead wrote:... most people forgo the the mortgage to put themselves in debt for a vehicle. So you end up having a decent car, and a $3000.00 a month loan payment, which could have gone towards a mortage.

Compare paying $3000 a mth for car with at least starting $6-7000 a mth for home mortgage. With a $8-9000 salary men prefer to buy the car and wait for mommy and daddy to die.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 2nd, 2012, 10:33 am

crazybalhead wrote:Yuh know why that is Dizzy? Because people want their cake and want to eat it too. Instead of looking at a reasonable car, most people forgo the the mortgage to put themselves in debt for a vehicle. So you end up having a decent car, and a $3000.00 a month loan payment, which could have gone towards a mortage. Also, a lot of people refuse to leave the security, and convenience of the town they grew up in, to find a more reasonable priced property that may have a longer commute.

So the cost of the house is not necessarily the limiting factor in all cases, it's a matter of priority.

But commute is a big thing dan. It eh easy giving up, upwards of 4 hours ah day to traffic

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 2nd, 2012, 10:35 am

Habit7 wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:... most people forgo the the mortgage to put themselves in debt for a vehicle. So you end up having a decent car, and a $3000.00 a month loan payment, which could have gone towards a mortage.

Compare paying $3000 a mth for car with at least starting $6-7000 a mth for home mortgage. With a $8-9000 salary men prefer to buy the car and wait for mommy and daddy to die.

Plenty not even making that

Postby Stephon. » April 2nd, 2012, 10:39 am

Wow, but even for the people not making that amount, can't they save in their own terms and take out a mortgage when they're able to make the payments?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 2nd, 2012, 10:42 am

crazybalhead wrote:Yuh know why that is Dizzy? Because people want their cake and want to eat it too. Instead of looking at a reasonable car, most people forgo the the mortgage to put themselves in debt for a vehicle. So you end up having a decent car, and a $3000.00 a month loan payment, which could have gone towards a mortage. Also, a lot of people refuse to leave the security, and convenience of the town they grew up in, to find a more reasonable priced property that may have a longer commute.

A MIDDLE-CLASS is supposed to be able to afford 2 cars and housing, plus education at the same time.

If you don't have all three, you are making a choice based on your personal priority. It might appear that you are living it up, but your finances say differently.

Postby crazybalhead » April 2nd, 2012, 10:50 am

Strauss wrote:

A MIDDLE-CLASS is supposed to be able to afford 2 cars and housing, plus education at the same time.

If you don't have all three, you are making a choice based on your personal priority. It might appear that you are living it up, but your finances say differently.

What kind of cars?

Postby Dizzy28 » April 2nd, 2012, 10:51 am

Stephon. wrote:Wow, but even for the people not making that amount, can't they save in their own terms and take out a mortgage when they're able to make the payments?

Go to Home Mortgage Bank website on their mortgage calculator and enter different salaries and see what they prequalify for.

Eg....to borrow 800,000 for purchase of a 1mil house requires a salary of $17,741.40. That's pretty much more than the average for Trinidad.

Postby wagonrunner » April 2nd, 2012, 11:33 am

was not aware 1mil house was the avg.
Is that the "standard"?

Postby crazybalhead » April 2nd, 2012, 11:36 am

Stephon. wrote:Wow, but even for the people not making that amount, can't they save in their own terms and take out a mortgage when they're able to make the payments?

Go to Home Mortgage Bank website on their mortgage calculator and enter different salaries and see what they prequalify for.

Eg....to borrow 800,000 for purchase of a 1mil house requires a salary of $17,741.40. That's pretty much more than the average for Trinidad.

On a combined income? And if you cant afford it, why look at such a high priced property?

Many, many properties are in this range, but why not look for something a little cheaper???

Postby crazybalhead » April 2nd, 2012, 11:37 am

Postby crazybalhead » April 2nd, 2012, 11:38 am

Unless yuh wah live in West Moorings on Couver and The bay money.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 2nd, 2012, 11:41 am

crazybalhead wrote:http://thecaribbeanrealtor.com/realtor_property_detail.php?pid=MjE0NzUxMjczNg==&rid=&id=&uid=MzU=&type=s&img=1&t=9#pos

Couver.

epic robbery for houses in this country yes

Postby wagonrunner » April 2nd, 2012, 11:43 am

crazybalhead wrote:Unless yuh wah live in West Moorings on Couver and The bay money.

He probably cyah shott in other areas.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 2nd, 2012, 11:47 am

crazybalhead wrote:http://thecaribbeanrealtor.com/realtor_property_detail.php?pid=MjE0NzUxMjczNg==&rid=&id=&uid=MzU=&type=s&img=1&t=9#pos

Couver.

Them price is cyash only!!

Postby MG Man » April 2nd, 2012, 11:52 am

wagonrunner wrote:was not aware 1mil house was the avg.
Is that the "standard"?

like u eh know orr? Most people nowadays too ashamed to buy cheap land and take their time and build.........nah.......run down big mortgage, or cry that they cannot afford a house
Their are affordable ways to own a house but we want the lifestyle NOW

Postby Habit7 » April 2nd, 2012, 11:56 am

Couver.

for men from Fyzabad and Siparia, Couva might be the bee's knees, but for men from the East West Corridor living Couva might be as good as sending them to live Grenada

Postby foss » April 2nd, 2012, 11:59 am

broke.

Postby MG Man » April 2nd, 2012, 12:02 pm

foss wrote:broke.

single?